Two vegan sushi

in Plant Power (Vegan)last year (edited)

Less then 17 years ago, I had never eaten sushi, let alone think about it. If I heard the word, I just imagined raw fish. I never really looked into it or had a desire to know anything about it.

At the time my daughter was a teen, and mentioned that her and her friend went to a great sushi restaurant. She told me they eat sushi quite a bit and they love it. She told me I should try it. I told her I don't want to eat raw fish. She assured me it was delicious.

At some point I discovered that sushi doesn't have to include raw fish. Sushi is about the rice that's seasoned with a sweetened vinegar, although it's commonly eaten with seafood. Often it's topped with caviar. When I ate seafood I couldn't stomach caviar. It's supposed to be a rich person's food. Well they can have it all.

These days sushi is almost like crazy art where anything goes. I've heard of the wackiest fillings. Vegan sushi is becoming more and more popular, even with non vegans.

Today I present my not too crazy rolls.

3.jpg

The Rice

2 cups sushi rice
2 cups water
3 tablespoons sake (optional)
1 piece of kombu (optional)
3 tablespoons seasoned vinegar

I rinse the rice by adding to a pot, then adding water, pouring out water making sure you don't spill the rice in the sink. I rinse it until it's clear.

I added sake rice wine, which is not a common thing to do, but I was given a huge bottle of it, and I can't stand the taste of it. I don't really understand how people drink it. Nevertheless, I'm more than happy to cook with it. You really can't taste it after it cooks with the rice. I may add more next time.

The kombu seaweed, is also not a common thing to add, and I'll be honest, I don't know if I can tell the difference. I keep adding it anyway. I have heard that sometimes it's done so I thought, why not. More is more in this case.

Add the water and bring to a boil. Turn on low and cook until the water is absorbed. I don't have a rice cooker so I do it in a pot.

DSC_3786.jpg

When the rice is cool add the sushi seasoning. I used a store bought sushi vinegar, but you could take 3 tablespoons of rice vinegar, 2 tablespoons of sugar and a tablespoon of salt, boil it and add this to the rice instead of buying the seasoned rice vinegar.

I then put it in a shallow pan to cool faster.

DSC_3872.jpg

Fried eggplant for filling #1

1 medium eggplant
1 cup rice flour (or wheat flour)
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon salt or to taste
Oil for frying

DSC_3818.jpg
Peel and slice eggplant into strips.

DSC_3830.jpg

Make the flour spice mixture. I just randomly chose rice four to keep it gluten free but it was just a spur of the moment thought. I may have chosen regular flour another time, or even tempura batter if I had some.

DSC_3842.jpg
In a large bowl toss the eggplant strips with the flour. I didn't use a slurry which I do sometimes for breading items to be fried. I didn't bother this time.

DSC_3846.jpg

I didn't deep fry but there was a significant amount of oil in the pan. I wanted to get some crispiness.

DSC_3856.jpg

I didn't have a plan for the additional filling items so I grabbed what was in the kitchen. I did purchase the pickled daikon to add a little sweet and sour to the roll.

The eggplant roll filling

3 cups fried eggplant strips
1 cup red onion thinly sliced
1 cup roasted red peppers thinly sliced (I used from a jar)
1/2 cup pickled daikon radish
1 cup cashew cream (2 cups soaked cashews, juice of a lemon, salt to taste, water for blending.)

DSC_3910.jpg

The spicy tofu for the second filling

1 block tofu (I used medium firm)
1 litre vegetable broth
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 tablespoon dried or fresh parsley
1 teaspoon black pepper
Juice of a lemon
1 cup vegan mayonnaise
2 tablespoons chili sauce or spicy sauce (I used sriracha)
Salt to taste

DSC_3792.jpg

Cover the tofu in a pot and boil. Simmer for 30 minutes then remove from the liquid and cool. The liquid can still be used another time for soup broth.

DSC_3806.jpg

I also added some dried parsley flakes at the end which is not pictured here.

DSC_3886.jpg

The tofu was kind of like a crab filling substitute, or tuna. I sometimes just put the veggies in without it, but I was splurging on some extra fun this time.

The tofu filling additions

2 cups crumbled cooked and seasoned tofu
2 cup red pepper
1 cup green onion
1 cup thinly sliced English cucumber
1 small avocado
2 cups thinly sliced carrots

DSC_3901.jpg

Using nori seaweed is the most common sushi roll, but there are other wrappers that can be used, such as soy or rice wrappers.

DSC_3925.jpg

Spread the rice with your clean hands. Bring it as close to the outside as possible so the ends are not empty when you roll them.

DSC_3930.jpg

I started with the eggplant roll. I put a line of eggplant across the middle first.

DSC_3933.jpg

After randomly adding the other items in a line across, I dabbled on some cashew cream. I could have used vegan mayo or nothing but I had some leftover cashew cream. I decided to use it. Often sushi from a restaurant or take out, has some kind of cream or mayonnaise in it.

DSC_3938.jpg

I started using a plastic sheet on the rolling mat, but at the end I removed it. It was getting on my nerves. It's done to keep the mat clean but they wash easily.

Roll the mat up and tuck as tightly as possible. Peel back the mat then move the roll down towards the middle. Continue rolling upwards. I just do this because it works for me, but I'm not a pro.

DSC_3939.jpg

Place the tofu items the same way across the middle and roll.

DSC_3943.jpg

Originally I was going to put avocado inside the roll but I changed my mind.

DSC_3945.jpg

I placed the avocado on the outside and rolled with plastic. If you use the mat you'll get the lines of the mat on the avocado. It looks nicer if it's smooth.

Cut the rolls in half then half again and then half again. If you want bigger pieces you can cut it to your liking.

DSC_3946.jpg

On a whim I took the remainder of roasted red peppers around 2 cups, that I had leftover in the jar, added them to a blender with a cup of vegan mayo, a tablespoon of sriracha, 1/2 teaspoon onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1 tablespoon agave nectar.

This was just a little bonus sauce for the spicy tofu.

4.jpg

I also had the basic pickled ginger and soy dipping sauce to serve.

6.jpg

I had some black sesame seeds to sprinkle on top. I often use toasted white sesame seeds but I couldn't find them. Visually it's nicer with the black ones.

10.jpg

For the eggplant rolls, I whipped up a quick wasabi and vegan mayo. Wasabi is something personal. I like the pain to a certain extent but sometimes it's too much. This way it can be adjusted to your liking.

1.jpg

I am not the best user of chopsticks and never really use them if I can use a fork or spoon. In the case of sushi, I find that it is almost necessary. I would just use my hands if I didn't have chopsticks but this way you don't dip your fingers in the soy sauce.

5.jpg

If you like to buy sushi and have never made it, I suggest you try. It is much easier then you think. Once you've cooked the rice, you can grab whatever you have in your fridge and put it inside. After rolling a couple of times, you'll get the feel of it and make them tighter. If you want the rice on the outside, just put a plastic on top and flip it over. Put the filling on the nori sheet then roll.

8.jpg

Thanks for dropping by.

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Hello @carolynstahl happy new year, these rolls look spectacular, I would like to try them hehehehe.

Oh thank you!!!! Happy New Year to you too!!!!😊

I like sushi, but I'm not going to that much trouble since it will just be me eating it, alone. Your rolls look quite good! Bravo! 😃

Hmmm, dear KittyGirl... don't you forget about yourself and that eating with the eyes is very important for the overall flavor, that is why "the putting together" and the looks are most important! #justSaying 😁

I only like sushi once in a while. It costs a fortune here so I make enough for two. I don't blame you though haha. Thank you so much.😊

It looks delicious. I have to try it

Yes it's very versatile. Please try. Thank you.


~~~ embed:1612103416288886787 twitter metadata:MTQ2MDgxODc4MDk4MDk3MzU3MHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDYwODE4NzgwOTgwOTczNTcwL3N0YXR1cy8xNjEyMTAzNDE2Mjg4ODg2Nzg3fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1612292879950688257 twitter metadata:MTI2ODQ4NTcwMTY0MjgxMzQ0MHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMjY4NDg1NzAxNjQyODEzNDQwL3N0YXR1cy8xNjEyMjkyODc5OTUwNjg4MjU3fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tere.alv, @hivehotbot, @edwing357, @anggreklestari ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for your support!

I intend to order sushi after seeing your recipe, its very appetizing post :D

Oh good!!! Bon Appetit! Thank you.😊

wow this is really delicious, I have never tried to make it, thank you very much for sharing, maybe I will try to make it

It's easy once you cook the rice properly. I'm sure you would make great sushi. Thank you.

Your sushi looks really good and delicious! Sreyyuu just asked me to make sushi but I do not have enough ingredients for make it. I wish I could have some of your plate 🤤

Oh wow. All you need is the rice and seaweed right? After that you can put anything inside. I would love to have your sushi my friend.😊

When I ate seafood I couldn't stomach caviar. It's supposed to be a rich person's food. Well they can have it all.


Exactly... much agreed. And on your most colourful/beautiful post, thanks for making me prepare some sushi tonight. 😁

Oh awesome. I wish you would post your sushi. Thank you!😊

Cabbage Soup it was... but i gonna take the next Sushi Night. Soon enough for sure! 😌

Great work! The thought of raw fish doesn't appeal to me either!

Oh good I'm not alone haha. Thank you!

Looks great, and probably tastes even better, I must try it in my kitchen.Regards🙌

Thank you I hope you do. It's fun.😊

Wawoo great recipe . This is will very useful me and other food lovers.

That's great to hear! Thank you so much.

@tipu curate :)

Thank you very much!

I remember this sushi from one of my co-workers before. This one is her favorite. I helped her when she prepared sushi in our workplace. Your sushi has lots of fillings. For sure this is very delicious. Love it!

Oh cool. I make it different every time which is what I like about it. Thank you so much!

Hello dear friend @carolynstahl good day
This is a good option to try sushi for those of us who don't like raw fish.
I loved this recipe, I appreciate that you share, the dish is exquisite
I hope you have a beautiful Sunday

How kind of you to say my friend. Thank you very much and also a good Sunday to you.😊

Greetings @carolynstahl, I ate sushi only once and I did not like it, these versions you present look delicious, my favorite is the eggplant, I love this vegetable for its versatility and delicious flavor.

Happy and blessed day!

I can certainly understand how someone would not like it. I grew up without any distinct food culture so I learned to like a larger variety of tastes than some people. It's so popular here that you can just get some in the grocery store ready made or go down the street to a restaurant.

But I do understand, because I don't like to eat it often. It's one of those once every 6 months cravings haha.

Thank you and a wonderful day to you too!

it looks really delicious, i do have eaten the two tipe of sushis, the vegan and the normal one and they are delicous in both ways!

Yes when I used to eat seafood I used to like the one with tuna or salmon but I also loved the others all the same. Sushi is so versatile these days. One of my faves is mango avocado.
Thanks for dropping by!

Mango avocado is def good combination!! you should try to make a POKE, that's my favoride dish right now!

my gf does it with rice, avocado, mango and shrimp and for the sausage she mix soy salt with mayonnaise

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you for your support!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 9500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you!

Your sushi looks pretty good, this is a healthy Way to enjoy Sushi at home. Sushi have been my favorite for a long time since my first ever try, now I struggle want to make it at home, so sad that I lose the roller,it hard to think about making sushi without it.

I've made it without the roller. You have to take a little more time but it works really. Thank you so much!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain And you have been rewarded with the following badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you!

You're welcome @carolynstahl. That's an awesome achievement! 🎉

BTW, we need your help. May we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Thank you.

Sweet Jesus! Would you teach me to cook that way!?

Looks amazing!

You are too kind! I will lend you my teacher. It's the internet. It's just having cravings and not wanting to order out haha. Thank you.

Haha! I use her already! Mine doesn't look like yours! I understand those cravings.

And thank you for giving away your secret. :)

You are one brilliant chef Carolyn, your vegan sushi looks amazing! You really should enter Masterchef if you have it in Canada?
Have a fabulous week and enjoy the downtime ❤️

I am the farthest thing from that. I would never dream of entering Masterchef if I could. I can't think fast plus they are not vegan friendly. Anyway I could say the same for you. I'll take it as a huge compliment though. Thank you!

What a pity! I never thought of that, perhaps you could revolutionize Master Chef, they should include Vegan challenges, would add another dimension to the contest and grow their viewership!
I'm sure you have to think fast when working in a restaurant!
Me? Not at that level, but I also take that as a huge compliment coming from you!

Nom nom nom!!! We don't each vegan sushi much here because some of the ingredients are hard to find. It is always a treat though when we can make it happen. You went all out on this one, absolutely beautiful, and what I wouldn't do for some avocadoes right now.

If I lived where you lived I wouldn't miss sushi. I would be eating things made from those things that you can get over there. I appreciate your comment though, Thanks!