Vegan ramen - Hive top chef 🍜🍜🍜

DSC_1761.jpg

This week on Hive top chef the theme is Ramen.

This is something that I have quite a bit, but I've only had the kind that comes in the package. The noodles are the crinkly dried ones and the package comes with seasoning with plenty of MSG. I stopped having this a while back except for the odd time.

I have never had a ramen soup made fresh until now. This vegan version strays from a traditional. The traditional ramen would vary so much depending on who makes it, where it's made, and personal preferences. It would most likely be made with pork, beef or chicken. It would often be topped with an egg. Making a vegan ramen would mean having to pack as much flavor in as possible since the fat from the meat will be absent.

No matter what, it is basically a noodle soup with toppings. This is popular in Japan and apparently originating in China.

The noodles that are often used are wheat noodles and they too could vary. A popular ramen noodle is a low hydration alkaline noodle that is made to have a bit of a chew. Not like regular pasta, but a little elastic like.

I didn't follow any particular popular style of broth. I took items from researching and put together my own with ingredients available.

One thing I like to do is make a basic vegetable broth to have for different dishes. This time for the ramen broth, I added a whole lot more.

DSC_1493.jpg

Ramen broth
2 Portobello mushrooms
30g Dried shitake
2 Small Potato
10 Peppercorns
4 Bay leaf
1 bunch Parsley
1 Onion
1 bulb Garlic
1 Shallot
1 Apple
2 Carrot
2 stalks Celery
1 Leek
2 Tomatoes
1/4 Cup tomato paste
1 habanero pepper (optional)

I didn't weigh most of these items because I think with broth it doesn't matter all that much with so many ingredients. That's just my opinion. A professional chef may strongly disagree.

DSC_1510.jpg

I decided to add tomato for an extra element of flavor. In the end it did not dominate. I also added an apple. My ex coworker said that her mother would put an apple in her Vietnamese broth for pho, to give it some sweetness. It really didn't stand out at the end but I'm going to do it again for an Asian broth.

I fried the tomatoes and tomato paste in a pot with hot oil then added onion, garlic, and shallot.

DSC_1522.jpg

After a few minutes I loaded the pot with the other ingredients.

DSC_1526.jpg

I cooked the items without the water, for at least half hour on simmer with the lid on. I usually add the water right away but this time I wanted to braise everything to maximize the flavors.

After around half an hour I added the water and simmered for over an hour. In fact it was a good hour and a half.

DSC_1543.jpg

Strain everything out and discard. I kept the dried shitake to add back into the soup later.

DSC_1577.jpg

For the noodles I decided to give it a shot and make it myself. This was my first try at it. I found that it is not like making pasta noodles.

This dough is often made with what is called kansui. I can't get that anywhere. The substitute is baking soda that has been baked in the oven.

The flour used is bread flour which is high in gluten. I found a bread flour that turned out to look different then I'm used to. For this reason I think the water to flour ratio was off. I added more water then what is called for. It was still very tough to knead together.

DSC_1555.jpg

For the baking soda it has to bake on 250F for an hour. I really don't understand chemistry but the effect of this in the noodles makes it elastic like or more chewy then regular pasta.

Ramen noodles
400 grams bread flour
5 grams wheat gluten
5 grams salt
5 grams baked baking soda
200 grams water

It's suppose to be 35 percent hydration but I added more because of how tough it was.

DSC_1565.jpg

After the baking soda is baked, put the extra away and add the 6 grams to the water along with the salt mixing well.

DSC_1572.jpg

Make sure the water is added bit by bit and evenly distributed. Mix it around as you drizzle the water. You should end up with a crumble like mixture.

DSC_1573.jpg

Put it on the mat or counter, and do your best to bring it together. I added more water before this. It was very tough. It is already more tough to bring together then regular pasta dough.

Wrap it and let it sit for an hour.

DSC_1582.jpg

It wasn't easy but I managed to roll it flat. I did it in several pieces. I didn't know what I was getting into when I started.

DSC_1603.jpg

Starting with the largest setting on my pasta machine, I made it thinner. changed to a smaller setting and it was thinnest.

DSC_1620.jpg

I put in through the spaghetti setting and managed to get a decent noodle. I wouldn't do this again soon. It's good physical therapy but after you need emotional therapy. My advice on making this type of noodle is...don't make it. Get it from the store.

DSC_1615.jpg

I finally got to the final part which is the toppings. I would use what I had in the fridge.

I used 150 grams of fresh oyster mushrooms. Two cups of chopped broccoli, a carrot and 350 grams of tofu. You could use whatever you want in my opinion.

Untitled-1.jpg

I chopped the broccoli stems into matchsticks along with the carrots. The tofu was coated with cornstarch and pan fried in shallow oil with salt and pepper.

DSC_1651.jpg

I pan fried the mushrooms with the minced shallot.

DSC_1654.jpg

The carrots and broccoli stems were blanched in boiling water for a few minutes then I added the broccoli florets for a minute just to heat through.

DSC_1656.jpg

The soup was put back in the pot and brought to a boiled. I added an extra tablespoon of miso paste and an extra tablespoon of soy sauce.

For an added topping I quickly made a chili oil. This was not a proper chili oil which often has warm spices. I wanted it to be basic.

I grabbed the leftover fresh chili that I had in my fridge and a few dried chilies. I added a few cloves of garlic. The next time I make this I'll add way more chilies including chili powder. I didn't get the colour I wanted or the heat level. For many people it would be spicy enough.

DSC_1591.jpg

In a small pot I put a cup of neutral oil and added the chili and garlic on medium low heat. This should be done with more time to infuse the chilies into the oil but I rushed it.

DSC_1596.jpg

It was poured over the dried chilies and sat for a bit.

DSC_1599.jpg

When I tasted it I didn't get much heat so I gave it a blend slightly. It was better then.

DSC_1766.jpg

The noodles were cooked for around three minutes. I added them first to the bowl. The broth was poured over the noodles and the toppings added.

DSC_1783.jpg

The chili oil was drizzled over the soup with a few chili pieces in it.

DSC_1792.jpg

I'm looking forward to making another batch. To me it's comfort food. The only thing is, I'll probably just buy the noodles.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except for the ones of me, taken by my other half.

Sort: Β 

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you for your support.

I'm interested in making ramen noodles like yours. It looks so easy! Its that true? :D
thank you for creating something really interesting!

Broth is always easy, but this style of noodle is not worth it. Making the noodles was not fun. I probably won't do it again. Noodles are cheap to buy so I'll just buy them next time.

I would want my noodles much, much shorter if they're going to be added to soup. Long noodles are messy-enough to eat as they are, without soup being added to the fray! πŸ˜‚ LOL! For a blast of extra flavor, maybe you could add a generous spoonful of powdered veggie bouillon? ✨

Seriously the broth didn't need the bouillon. It was full flavoured but the noodles didn't really stay so long which for me was not ideal. I like to fight with my noodles haha. Childish I guess.πŸ˜‚

This must be very tasty, especially with the addition of mushrooms and spices in the broth, I'm sure the aroma will be very distinctive and appetizing.

I have to admit it was a tasty broth and I will do it again soon because it's all gone. Thank you so much.

Hi, i loved your recipe it looks sooo delicious. Good luck with the contest.πŸ‘πŸ’“πŸ˜Š

Thank you so much but I won't need luck since I am alone. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜Šβ€οΈ

You are a very beautiful woman. I love this arrangement you are making. Fascinating. I think this is a good recipe that I can try one day. Have a nice day.

You are so kind with your words. The recipe will be easy for you since you are an excellent cook. Thank you very much.

I really enjoyed the ramen noodles and the addition of complete seasoning so I wanted to try thank you very much for sharing with us I liked it

I really appreciate your kind comment. Ramen is very popular here these days but mostly packaged. Thank you for stopping by.

Thank you very much I just took a look and wanted to try



Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor. . @creativecuisine


Thank you for your support.

Good recipe friend, thanks for being part of this wonderful culinary world.

Wow! These noodles must cost a lot of money, like a gold morocotta per kilo, at the least πŸ˜‚ I think every time we are faced with an ingredient that behaves differently from what we know, we run the risk of working much harder than expected. I think your noodles look perfect and surely tasted great, so perhaps you'll make them again some day. The ramen looks beautiful and I definitely want to eat it all right now, as we're having a cool morning today in this sunny coast where I live. Although I've eaten it less than a dozen times in my entire life, I do love ramen; just like you, I avoid MSG--as much as possible.

I'm taking notes, @carolynstahl. Thank you for a master class, my friend. Bon appetit πŸœπŸ’šπŸŒΏ

Honestly I have never made the noodles before but the flour I used was harder than I wanted. It turned out good, but there is no point in doing it again. I can buy them for the same price or less for the cost of the flour. I just wanted to see if I could do it but it's was quite a pain. I have only had packaged ramen which is different then restaurant ramen in Japan I'm sure haha. The broth was really full though.

Thank you so much my friend. Hugs.

Yes making the broth is easy but the noodles were not fun to make and I won't do it again. I will buy them next time. Thank you for your kind and generous comment.

Β last yearΒ Β Reveal Comment