Creamy lemon and garlic asparagus

Creamy Lemon & Garlic Asparagus

Spring means fresh, tender tipped asparagus. Not sure how many people agree with me, but I guarantee after trying this 10 minute recipe, you’re going to associate the season with this undeniably delicious treat.

I do asparagus in a variety of ways, sautéed in margarine and garlic, in vegan cheese sauce and simply steamed, then dressed with vinaigrette or vegan mayo. However, when I’m feeling particularly keen for the flavors of lemon and garlic I make this light, creamy, tangy, garlicky sauce, and it perks me up no end.

This seriously takes no time at all to do.

Ingredients

_ 1 bunch of fresh new asparagus
_ 3 tablespoons of margarine
_ 3 tablespoons of flour
_ ½ tin coconut cream
_ 5 tablespoons of lemon juice
_ 2 to 3 cloves of garlic
_ ½ teaspoon of garlic powder
_ ½ teaspoon of chili flakes
_ salt and freshly ground black pepper
_ 1 tablespoon of sesame seeds
_ 1 spring onion finely sliced for sprinkling on top

Method

Cut hard ends off the asparagus. Finely dice the garlic

Sauce

Melt the margarine in a saucepan. Add the garlic and sauté for 1 minute. Remove from heat. Add flour and blend into margarine until smooth. Add lemon juice, chili flakes, garlic powder, salt and pepper, blend until smooth. Add ¼ of the coconut cream, blend until smooth. Return to the heat, slowly add the balance of the coconut cream stirring all the while to avoid lumps. Stir until sauce thickens. Remove from the heat and stir for a minute or two to avoid lumps forming. Add half the sesame seeds.

Asparagus

Steam the asparagus over boiling water using a colander. Alternatively, you can microwave them on medium for 1 ½ minutes. Sauté for 1 minute in melted margarine if you prefer (I don’t like doing this for myself, but my family members like their asparagus sautéed)

Reheat the sauce. Dress the hot asparagus with the lemon, garlic cream and sprinkle sesame seeds and spring onions over the top.
Enjoy!

img_3927.png

Images are my own, shot with my iPad and manipulated using Art Studio
Recipe developed by me

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you @plantpoweronhive ❤️😉😘🌿🌿🌿🌿

Sautéed asparagus in lemon, garlic cream looks yummy. 😃 We don't have asparagus in my country unless we import them but because they are veggies, I know the nutritional benefits is high. Though I wonder whether the margarine doesn't lessen the benefits. Nice post.

A quick sauté of a minute or two in light vegan based margarine should be fine 🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿😊

I really love asparagus!!! I always love to get them at the start of the season and green is my favorite more than the white ones.

They are wonderful! My favourite thing ❤️❤️🌿😊🌿🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

Congratulations @itsostylish! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 75000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List