Vegan Upside-down Pineapple Cake

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

Vegan Upside-down Pineapple Cake

I missed the deadline for this competition from @plantpoweronhive, but I had already bought the ingredients and experimented with the recipe, so I’ve posted it anyway. Haha, hope that’s okay?

As a cake, the pineapple upside-down cake is an easy choice, because it lends itself very well to vegan-conversion. I’ve adapted a household favorite by replacing the eggs with ground flax seeds mixed with water, the butter with margarine and milk with pineapple juice.

This cake is really flop-proof, so it’s great for anyone who is not a regular baker and wants to learn to make a vegan cake. Also, it’s soooo easy and it doesn’t require icing because it’s already decorated, to an extent at least as it comes out of the oven.

The cake works very well with the vegan adaptions and I was very pleased with the results. I decorated it with fresh fruit and whipped coconut cream. The coconut cream must be chilled overnight before whipping otherwise it won’t work, so remember to pop the tin in the fridge the night before.

I served the cake at breakfast with coffee, without saying a word about it being vegan - it was demolished pronto, so that just goes to show that nobody knew the difference. Win, win...

Ingredients

Cake

_ 1 ¼ cups of brown sugar
_ ½ cup margarine plus 2 extra tablespoons
_ 440g tin of pineapple rings
_ 2 tablespoons of ground flax seed plus 7 tablespoons of water
_ 2 cups of flour
_ 2 ½ teaspoons baking powder
_ pinch of salt

Decoration

_ 1 tin coconut cream (chilled overnight in refrigerator )
_ ½ teaspoon vanilla essence
_ 1 tablespoon sugar
_ fruit for decoration (eg: strawberries, fresh pineapple)

Method

Add ¾ of a cup of sugar to a mixing bowl 🥣 along with 2 tablespoons of margarine. Use a hand blender or food processor to blend until creamy. Press this mixture into the base (and a little up the sides) of a ring mold (no need to grease the mold).

Place pineapple rings and bits of pineapple over the margarine mixture to cover the base of the mold completely.

Add ½ a cup of sugar and ½ cup of margarine to a mixing 🥣 bowl and blend with a hand blender until creamy.

Add 2 cups of flour, a pinch of salt and 2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder to this mixture. Fold the dry ingredients into the margarine mixture using a fork. The mixture should look like loose breadcrumbs. Add ¾ of a cup of pineapple juice from the tin to this mixture to form a loose batter.

Spread this batter over the pineapple rings.

Bake at 180% Celsius for 30 to 35 minutes (or until a skewer comes out clean)

Turn out onto a serving plate and allow to cool.

Whip the chilled coconut cream with sugar and vanilla essence until soft peaks form. Decorate the cake with fruit and pipe the coconut cream creatively on top.

Make coffee and enjoy a slice.

Happy Birthday Plantpoweronhive 🎉 🎂 🥳

img_3927.png

All images are my own, shot with my iPad and manipulated using Art Studio

Non-vegan recipe from The South African Cookbook

The vegan version of this recipe was developed by me.

Sort:  

Hi @itsostylish. This pineapple upside down cake is delicious! I would have loved to see the look on your family's face when you told them it was 100% vegan, hahahahahaha, that's always fun.

While you participated late, and were left out of the challenge, it was great that you posted the recipe. Thank you so much for this delicious treat.

Best regards.

Note: I hope you are encouraged to participate in the second challenge in September.

Yes, I will try to do the competition. Much love @plantpoweronhive


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Gorgeous presentation! The strawberries are so fun 🤩 I can taste coconut cream and tart pineapple mixing together just looking at it hehe... maybe I ought to make breakfast too 😂

My son has a cow's milk protein allergy, so while I was nursing him, I had to go dairy free. I already lean towards vegetarian meals, after all isn't all flavor really gifted by plants? So, I had a mostly vegan diet for nearly a year. I NEVER would've thought to use pineapple juice as a milk sub! I get that it's really situational, but my mind goes right to muffins- that would make for a wicked good muffin!

Thanks for sharing 😁❤️🤗

Muffins should work just great! 🤗❤️💕❤️❤️🤗

Hi! My husband loves pineapple cake, it's one of his favorites, but I've never been very good at making it. However, after reading this

This cake is really flop-proof

I'll have to give this vegan option a try. And I love how you've decorated the cake, it looks so appealing.

Actually, this really works. Haha! Enjoy, and your husband will adore you even more than he already does. Hugs 🤗🤗❤️💕🌱🌿🌿🌱🌱🌱🌱

Hehe, okay! So I will definitely try this recipe 🤗

Fantastic work. I love pineapple too.

🤗❤️💕🌱🌿🌱🌿🌱🌿

This cake is yummy!!!!

🌱🌿🌱🌿🤗❤️❤️ Thank you

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

image.png
Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you @plantpoweronhive 🤩🥰🤗❤️❤️💕💕🌿🌿🌿🌿🌱🥬

This is so lovely and I know it's delicious. I've never made this and I've never had this. This is beautiful. A must try for me.😊

I hope you try it ❤️🤗🌿🌿🌿🥰🥰🥰🌱🌱🌱🌿🥰🥰🥰🥰💕💕💕💕

This fruit cake is an absolutely unique and healthy vegan recipe.Really so delicious recipe.thanks for sharing. You make perfectly.

💕🥰🥰💕🌿🌿🌱🌿🥬🥬🥬

The pineapple cake is one of my favorites, it looks delicious. Blessings