Velouté d'épinards et de pommes de terre onctueux et satiné. A la Green Soup. Haha

Satiny, smooth spinach and potato soup

Velouté d'épinards et de pommes de terre onctueux et satiné

The challenge this week is to develop a recipe for a savoury, green soup. Green is so much a vegan color, isn’t it - it equates to health, life and vitality. Nevertheless, it’s hard to make green food look good even if it tastes great. (Haha the pictures on this post attest to that).

The classic combination of spinach, potatoes and leeks came to mind as a delicious option, but the recipe needed a bit of oomph. So, I added coriander, spring onions and chilli, which really seemed to set off the flavours rather nicely. I’m pleased with the result and my family approved (they are my best critics. Haha).

Serve this soup with savoury muffins or garlic rolls.

Ingredients

_3 medium potatoes
_ 3 medium leeks
_ 1 small carrot
_ 1 onion
_ 4-5 spring onions
_ handful of fresh coriander
_ 6-8 fresh spinach leaves
_ 2-3 stalks of ribbed celery
_ 1 ½ stock cubes
_ chilli flakes (optional)
_ 3 ½ litres of water
_ oil for sautéing

Method

Roughly chop the onions, leeks and celery. Sweat in a little oil for 5-7 minutes over low heat.
Peel and roughly chop the carrot and potatoes. Rib the spinach and dice.
Add the carrot, potatoes and spinach to the pot and sweat for 5 minutes over low heat.
Add the water, stock cubes, salt and pepper to the pot and boil until the potatoes are tender.
Cool and blend until smooth. Return to the heat. Add the chilli flakes, spring onions and coriander to the pot a minute before serving. Adjust seasoning and serve with savoury muffins or rolls.

I’m asking @samsmith1971 and @mypathtofire to join in on the fun


img_3927.png

Find the challenge
https://ecency.com/hive-180569/@plantpoweronhive/the-brand-new-plant-based-9a61467f80dda

Rules

Only one post per participant will be accepted.

Post must be published in this Plant Power (Vegan) community.

No meat, dairy or ANY animal products (milk, cheese, butter, honey, egg, etc.)

Please be original - no old content and nothing plagiarized! (The post that incurs in plagiarized will be disqualified).

  • You must appear in at least two photos making the recipe.

Use the tags: #vegan #plantbased #plant in the first five places.

Reblog this post if you can & mention it within the post.

Invite a friend!

Engage with others!

img_3927.png

All images and videos are my own. Shot with my iPad and manipulated using PicCollage and Art Studio

The recipe was developed by me

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That looks a delicious and tasty soup. I love potatoes and leek in soup. This is a nice filling but light meal option for the summer!!!! Great work!

🌶🌿🌶🌿🧅🧅🍅🧄🥂

I last ate a lovely homemade beetroot soup with potato.. i didnt make it myself but it was delicious.

At any time you are encouraged to cook and share your recipe in the community.

Thank you for the kind offer. I usually do my vegan food post once per month. I joined the community earlier and I will for sure post here next time. 🙂❤️

Delish and easy! I like the toppings, they make it look fancy - and haha to the title, that certainly makes it more appealing too!

Haha, plantpoweronhive said to give the recipe a fancy name, so…
🤗❤️💕

Full elegance!

Ahhhhhhhhhh thank you

Well you totally nailed it!

Total elegance!

This looks so yum... love the addition of chilli and herbs... I need to go buy some tatties to make this one! Maybe another day...feeling super lazy...It's 31 degrees C and still feeling beach-tired after yesterday... well done!!!

WoW, that’s really hot! You need ice not soup. Haha🤗❤️💕

Hopefully it's cooler and you go out to buy the ingredients to make an original green soup.

What elegance of France! hahahahaha @itsostylish; what a good and original title. This recipe has been great, delicious, with a great pint and the step by step is well explained. The use of potatoes gives a lot of body to the preparation and those chili flakes are the touch of contrast in color and flavor that accentuates the dish.
Accompanying it with toasted bread is a very special touch. Thank you for participating in the vegan challenge. Greetings.

🤗❤️💕🥂🥂

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @mypathtofire.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It is a rich and hearty green soup. Greetings.☺️

It looks like a very stylish soup. I like it. nice one🌿 but am confused about the name even the idea of a strange name. which language is it?

It’s French. Plantpoweronhive said we had to choose a fancy name for our recipe. Haha 😂

This is a great challenge... I'll be making soup today but not green though 😅..let me think of what green soup can I make.. Until when is this,?

That will be grand!
Find the challenge
@plantpoweronhive/the-brand-new-plant-based-9a61467f80dda

very amazing soup that is soft and rich in benefits

Delicious!!! 😃

🤗❤️💕🥂🥂

Congratulations @itsostylish! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badges:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.
Post with the most upvotes of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you @hivebuzz

Wow, two badges in a row, that's awesome @itsostylish! 🎉

What a perfect soup for a cold day. 😀

Thank you Shine. 🤗❤️💕💕

That looks verrrrry healthy 😲... But I'm a meat lover and you can be sure that if I cook that, I'll ruin it with a lot of chicken 😂... Sorry. I'd like to have a taste no lie

I haven’t eaten meat for more than 17 years, and I can honestly say that I’ve never felt that I was missing out. Meatless meals can be more flavourful than anything else, you’ve just got to try it with an open mind. Haha, but I’m not preaching my lifestyle, I don’t even do that with my family - I just trick them into believing that they’re eating meat when, actually, they’re not. Haha 😂

Really? You can do that? My cousin would kill me🤣... And I do understand the appeal of vegan meals! I went Vegan for three years...I nearly died!😂 But I loved how simple everything seemed to be and how vibrant it made me... Question is...how do i continue without dying?🤣

I really like spinach and your soup looks delicious. Blessings

I could eat this for breakfast lunch and supper. Oh and midnight snack haha. Looks divine and I wish I had a bowl right now. I love that you topped with chili flakes.😋

Sprout🌱, sprout🌱, sprout🌱!

🤗❤️💕🌿🌿🌶🌶🥂🥂🧄🍅🙃