Garden Gnome Green 'Gazpacho'

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

SOUP COVER.jpg

It feels so good to be back doing a food blog, something that was my passion for the first couple of years on the blockchain. However, taking care of Mom Lily took its toll; food blogging is time-consuming - cooking, taking photos of each step, and the final presentation. Then it's time to edit the photos before one can even start writing the blog. Lighting plays a vital role when it comes to taking photos, as you will see in my images, some are taken outdoors in natural light, and others indoors. Of course, it's often a race against time, like it was today, therefore the different shades of green!

When I was still actively doing food blogs, hubby used to patiently wait for the final photo session, but if I fiddled and faffed too much, he knew he dare not touch any of the food and would ask...

Are you done yet, can we eat now?


When Mom became frail, I had to diversify as time was precious, so I started the Silver Bloggers, something I could do in between caring duties, and although it was time-consuming, it was not as frantic as food blogging.
This is a space for more seasoned folk, most of who should be twiddling our thumbs according to societal expectations, but we're still very active with new ventures, a fun group who share our life experiences!
I hope you don't mind me 'pimping' Silver Bloggers, but it is part of my story why I disappeared from the Hive foodie community!

Chef line break.png

Back to food blogging - I met some wonderful chefs, bakers, cooks, and sandwich makers in the many food challenges over the years, and bumped into a couple of kindred spirits along the way.

A big thank you to one of them, my friend @carolynstahl for inviting me to participate in The Brand New PLANT BASED challenge: Make Mine Green and a big thank you to @plantpoweronhive for the contest!

I'm not vegan, but love anything that comes from the soil, so will often have a meatless meal.

GREEN SOUP was the ask so my first port of call was the garden, which is very sparse at the moment as we're still in winter.

I decided on a refreshing Green 'Gazpacho' - my garden Gnomes are not into tomatoes AND the soup had to be green;)
I picked some herbs from the garden.

  • Mint
  • Sweet Basil
  • Coriander
  • Parsley

20220818_143945.jpg

A quick trip to the greengrocer, and I came back with

  • Cucumber
  • Zucchinis (or Baby Marrow as I call it)
  • Spring Onions,
  • Broccoli
  • Garlic
  • Frozen Peas - I could not find any fresh peas!
  • Garlic & Herb Vegetable Stock cubes
  • Coconut Cream
  • Wasabi Vegan Mayonnaise
  • Pumpkin seeds which I toasted, for garnishing

20220818_171255.jpg

This was the easiest and quickest soup I could think of - some chopping and dicing and into the blender on high speed, and it was all done, or so I thought!

20220818_172203.jpg

20220818_172535.jpg

The veggies and coconut cream all blended beautifully and turned into a creamy bright green soup, but when I turned my back, the coconut cream started curdling from over-blending!
It was delicious even though it did not look appetizing, but hubby was not going to wait for me to faff and enjoyed his curdled Gaspacho with my homemade almost sourdough bread.

20220818_173519.jpg

I heated the rest in the microwave to melt the coconut cream, and we were back in business. I however had to leave it in the refrigerator to get cold again!
Never too old to learn, not so;)
The colour changed ever so slightly, but it was getting dark so the photos of the final dish were taken indoors. The real thing was way more green.
Thick and creamy but super refreshing!

20220818_200358 (1).jpg

20220818_200922 (1).jpg

I will certainly make this again, and if it's a cold night, I will serve it hot!

...and now it's time to stop, go to bed, or I'll be in the soup again at daybreak :)

PS almost forgot - it's a tad too late to invite any of my friends, but I'd like to tell my friends @fionasfavourites and @artywink to take a peek at the Plant Power (Vegan) Community.


SBC Banner hive.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


Come and join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1560435600338984960 twitter metadata:eXVtbXl2ZWdhbmFzaWFufHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL3l1bW15dmVnYW5hc2lhbi9zdGF0dXMvMTU2MDQzNTYwMDMzODk4NDk2MHw= ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lizelle, @anggreklestari, @plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What are you talking about, time! ... the most precious and scarce thing in my life. However the "gazpacho" word call my attention so I took some time to write a bit. I'm a gazpacho lover of all its versions so I was curious on this one of yours.

I must say it's rather original and looks a bit odd to me because of the ingredients you've used to build it... I must try (one day) to find them and give your recipe a try so that seems really yummy!

I know one made with green asparagus and eggs that is amazing, maybe one day I will publish the recipe that I learned from my ex wife although I've developed a kind of egg's intolerance...

Thanks for taking the time to share it with us. Best wishes to you @lizelle 🤗

Pd: I think that my first post on the Hive (Steem by the time) blockchain was a of tomato soup recipe or what we just call it, gazpacho.

Hi @drakernoise, you're right it's odd with no tomato but it's a fun take on gazpacho hence the green garden gnome version, I will edit or the foodies will think I've lost all my marbles😉
Thank you for your nice comments 🤗

Sorry to stop by so late to visit your great post @lizelle, but the power and internet outages (two days, more than 12 hours each), have not allowed me to flow with my work on the blockchain, so here I am, Better late than never.

I really liked that you talk about your Silver Bloggers community, it's great to know that this community exists to share our stories, our experiences, in a pleasant and fluid way, I'm sure I'll visit them.

I remember that with some regularity, I saw your wonderful food posts, which seemed to me to be of great quality, as is the one you present today.

Regarding your soup, I really liked the name you gave it, and all the ingredients you used. I feel happy when people grow part of their food, just like you do with the herbs you use in the preparation, that's great, because it gives a lot of energy to the food.

With regard to the coconut cream being cut, it is something that usually happens, but that does not make the preparation any less delicious.

I really liked your participation, great recipe.

Thank you for participating in this vegan challenge. Greetings.

Thank you so much for your very kind comments @sirenahippie, you're right, the soup actually was very good with the little bits of coconut cream showing up, but I wanted it to be very green 😉 Would coconut milk do the same I wonder?
I know all about the frustration with power outages which of course affects the internet as well, but we have shorter periods of outages. Our power utility has been grossly mismanaged with neglecting maintenance etc, I feel for the people of your country!
I hope to see you in the Silver Bloggers some time💖

I will be there soon. Greetings and have a great weekend.

Gosh @lizelle I'm over the moon that you came up with this soup. I love chilled soups so much and forgot how I haven't had any this year. You used some delicious ingredients and the colour is heavenly along with the silkiness after you fixed it. Makes me want a few bowls. 😋

Thank you for the invite Carolyn, we had the leftovers today, hubby had his cold, I warmed mine as it suddenly is winter again after 2 really hot days. It was really good!

Hmmm...green gazpacho. There's an idea. I make both the Andalusian (tomato) version and a beetroot one. Both are delicious. I also make a cold, minted pea soup. Also delicious and all of them vegan. Another green soup, actually, I am making it today, is a low carb version of a vichyssoise with leek and cauliflower, and can be eaten hot or cold.

Going to pop over and check out the plant power community. Thank you for the invitation!

PS So glad you are getting back into things!

We had the leftovers today but I heated mine as the cold winds from the Cape is here. It's really chilly here and this soup was delicious warmed up! I'll definitely be experimenting with different flavours for cold soups in summer.
I hope it warms up a little for your market tomorrow Fiona!

I'm sure it will be delicious. The wind's blowing. Hopefully it'll drop overnight when it rains. And stops. lol

This looks fantastic! I have never thought of this. My mind is always tomato-based gazpacho. It shows you can never be too old to learn new things.

Okay, but it is solid winter here in the Western Cape, it is so cold. So I am going to steal this recipe and make it into a normal soup, hot with some freshly baked sourdough bread. Thank you for the idea! My mind is already working on the idea of coconut and broccoli!

It was really delicious @fermentedphil, the soup had to be green and I needed a catchy name so it became green Gazpacho. All these green veggies & herbs with the coconut cream was a marriage made in food heaven😉
We had the leftovers today & as the really cold Cape winds reached us today, I warmed mine. It was delicious with my mock sourdough bread, something I will get right one of these days😊

a marriage made in food heaven

I know! Coconut is just such a nice flavor to pair veggies with. I have a leek, fennel, and coconut soup that I make. It is just awesome! Same principle or base recipe as yours. It is foolproof and always a winner.

We had the leftovers today

Sometimes soup is best the next day! How was this one? I know broccoli is sometimes not that nice the next day. But I had a broccoli soup once that was spectacular the next day.

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you @foodiesunite and @sirenahippie, really appreciate your support🤗

Quedé fascinada con este gazpacho se ve delicioso
🤗❤️🌹❤️🤗👏😚😘😗🤗❤️🌹👏😘😗

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more