Simple vegan feta cheese recipe 🧀🤤

My main issue with vegan lifestyle is cheese - I LOVE cheese and vegan cheese is just the worst thing ever for me 😔 I tried many different kinds and everytime I feel so disappointed. My digestion also does not tolerate some kind of ingredient from vegan cheese as after eating it I get stomach ache and feel sick ☹️

So I continue to try out homemade vegan cheese recipes and although I didn't find the perfect recipe for regular cheese that I would love, I found a recipe for vegan feta cheese which was just amazing 😍

The best part is that it is super easy to make and you don't need any extraordinary ingredients and most of them are probably already in your kitchen!

I ate some of this cheese simply by itself as it was very tasty but also, I put it on salads, sandwiches and I even added some to my zucchini patties and it fit perfectly as a substitute for sauce 🤩

You can store this feta cheese in the fridge for a few days but it is really good so it might be difficult to keep it untouched for too long 😁

You will need:

  • 180 g. plain tofu
  • 0.5 tablespoon of nutritional yeast
  • 0.5 tablespoon of soy sauce
  • 70 ml. coconut oil (in the recipe I used refined coconut oil - so there was no coconut smell/taste in the cheese)
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice
  • 0.5 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
  • 0.5 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of onion powder

Preparation

  1. Take the tofu out of the package and dry it by pressing it with a towel or paper towels.
  2. Break tofu into few chunks and put in a bowl where you will blend it.

    Add all other ingredients to the same bowl on the tofu - coconut oil, nutritional yeast, soy sauce, salt, onion powder, lemon juice and apple cider vinegar.
  3. Blend all the ingredients until smooth with a hand blender or food processor.
  4. Place the blended mixture in a selected container. I would also advise to line the container with baking paper to make it easier to remove the cheese afterwards. I used a plastic box of these dimensions: 15cm length; 10 cm width; 3 cm depth.

    Make the surface even/flat with a spoon.
  5. Keep the cheese in the container in the refrigerator for at least a few hours or preferably and best - overnight.
  6. It can be eaten alone, with salads, snacks, pasta, used as a sauce and much more!
Sort:  

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail


~~~ embed:1595164279497711616 twitter metadata:MTg5MTY5MDQwfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzE4OTE2OTA0MC9zdGF0dXMvMTU5NTE2NDI3OTQ5NzcxMTYxNnw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @plantpoweronhive, @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I just bought some tofu so it was great to find this recipe (most of the tofu will end up in a taco recipe). I really like cheese, too, and I've been wondering how I can reduce it so I'm eating less dairy products.

I'm still on a mission to find a proper cheese recipe to actually enjoy vegan cheese so I hope I will be able to share something in the future! 😁 but this feta cheese was a great discovery and I will continue making it again and again. I hope you will enjoy it and enjoy your tacos!! 🌮🌮

Let me follow you so that I find out at the earliest possible moment! 😍

You are most welcome to do that! 😁❤️

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Well, you don't need help with photos, that cover image is good enough to eat.

Welcome to your second year on the blockchain. Joint wasn't the same without you.

Haha, thank you so much! Time passes so quickly, I didn't even realize that it's been a year already that I am here 🙈😁

As usual, a top post!... In the best foods recipe articles in #Hive today... Thanks for sharing!

!discovery 35

Thank you very much!!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Nice recipe! Yeah, cheese is one of the most difficult things to replace, and eggs are very hard for me to leave out of my diet. I love finding new substitutes. Store-bought vegan cheese I think is first made for people who want to profit from vegan buyers and not really trying to provide good options for them, while making one on our own we can balance the ingredients until we find our perfect flavor. Thanks for sharing!

Yeah, it certainly at least tastes like made only for profit not for vegans to enjoy as I couldn't find ANY that would taste good for me and I wouldn't feel sick afterwards 😅 I still have my fingers crossed that I will find one someday! Thanks for your comment!

Looks very tasty. Yum! 😋 Your photos are really lovely.

Thanks a lot!

This cheese looks delicious although it is difficult to find the ideal one.🤗🤗🤗✨✨🤪✨💯💯☺️😗👏👏🌹🌹🌹🤩👏😗😜😘😝🙃🫂😃❤️💎😃😝😘🤗🤪👏🤩🤩🌹💎😍❤️😃🫂✨🤪💯😗

Thank you!

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator desro & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote ;) Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Thank you very much!

You're welcome. Keep showing us your recipes. ☺️