The Best (And Easiest) Garden Curry Ever

Adobe_Post_20211025_1803280.6904119870653809.png

I don't know if this is a gardening post, a plant based cooking post, a herbal post, or all three. Dilemmas, am I right? Ah, the life of a HIVER. But I haven't used the groovy #plantpower #vegan post for a while, so I thought I'd do a #meatlessmonday (also been a while).

20211025_162454.jpg

I love my garden at this time of the year, picking nibbles from the haphazard beds and nooks that make up my backyard. The swedes are done, but the beetroot's still growing and the leaves make awesome spanakopita. The coriander's loving the wetter soil and is going great guns in the greenhouse. The broccoli heads are forming, and once plucked, give off side shoots for weeks. The leaves I dry to make into a green powder for smoothies. There's snow peas too, and silverbeet. The garlic scapes are also ready to be picked and eaten. Has anyone ever made fermented scapes? Hm, worth a try?

20211025_162815.jpg

I love making a quick and easy coconut curry with what I have in the garden. I can't grow turmeric or ginger, sadly - though I'm trying - and though you don't need turmeric knobs (you can use it dried if you like) I'd say the fresh ginger and coriander is something you don't want to skimp on. Everything else is always to hand, for me - and what I really, really love about this recipe is that it's a one pot wonder with little fuss and mess.

20211025_162748.jpg

One simply throws all the sauce ingredients in a blender and voila - the base for the vegetable to cook. You'll need to simmer it for about fifteen minutes to half an hour, depending on taste and what other ingredients you put in it - carrot and potato would take longer of course.

Snowpeas and broccoli don't take long, and are just steamed on top. Ladled on top of brown rice, this dinner is a staple in our household and I promise you'll love it.

20211025_180215.jpg

Garden Coconut Curry (For Two Greedy Humans)

3 - 5 cm cube of fresh ginger
1 - 2 knobs of tumeric or a tablespoon of dried turmeric (or both)
1 tsp of cummin
1 large bunch of coriander, roots and all
1/2 lime (juice)
1 400 g tin of coconut milk
1 - 2 cloves of garlic or equivalent garlic in any form (I used a scape)
1 spring onion
1 large tomato or 1/2 can of tomatoes
optional 1/2 red capsicum, fresh chilli to your taste
A tsp of stock
1 tbsp vegan fish sauce (optional)

Place all the above ingredients in a blender and whiz until smooth.

Add the sauce to the pan with two cubed potatoes and a good handful or two of chopped tofu. Simmer until the potatoes are nearly cooked. If you are using carrots, you might want to put them in a bit earlier. Then, add your vegetables that don't take long to cook - broccoli and snow peas are good additions here, as are mushrooms. Once just tender (crisp vegetables are better than soggy) your curry is done.

Spoon onto brown rice and top with sprouts, fried onions, extra chilli, snow pea shoots - whatever tickles your fancy.

This is honestly the best asian style coconut curry ever and so good for you as well - the turmeric and ginger are great for the immune system and are anti-inflammatory, and garlic has a whole host of amazingness - let alone the coriander! Add good home grown vegetables and you have yourself an amazing nutritious meal.

What's your favourite garden curry?

With Love,

image.png

image.png
Plant Power Vegan Community


The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

Looks really tasty! We are still repairing our home from last flood damages and the garden is recovering slowly. Hopefully it will be filled with yummy stuffs soon enough

Oh no - bloody weather!!! I'm sure, with good weather, it'll recover fast. It's been quite humid down here so things are growing great guns!

With the good rain a couple of weeks ago, most plants have been boosted. I made some compost tea and added a top coat of worm compost for them and they were very happy, especially the chilli plants

Yeah i really notice both chilli and broccoli appreciate the feed! I need to get some of that worm compost on some of my plants... my worm farm should be good to go now..

Oh my was it bad? Having your home floodes must be awful, I hope you will manage to stay above the situation. Is there any point in trying to make an insurance for the future in case you get flooded again?

We've already claimed it on insurance and get work done to divert water away. Had to rip off the backyard to rebuild. Also ripped off the flooring in the basement which is now empty and awaiting more work...

I wish you good luck and I hope that you will manage with all of the work involved, renovations are not easy for sure

I love curry!!😍

Me too... any kind!!!

Looks tasty 🤤 and so healthy. You always make me feel salivating on your food preparations.❤❤❤

Thanks @luckylaica - it really is a good dish and easy too.. I am not a fan of complicated food!

That broccoli is pretty beautiful looking! I don't know if I could do the no meat thing in this,but it sure does look tasty! I'd have to add some chicken to mine or something like that. My garden was kind of a bust this year. We only pulled a couple zucchini out and maybe twenty tomatoes at the most. I have some thinking to do about whether I am even going to bother with one next year!

Oh no why was that? Dont give up!!! Even a small garden is better than none. Of course you can sub meat in. You could give it a try one day with no meat and see what you think?

Perhaps. I eat some meals without meat these days and I eat barely any red meat anymore. That wasn't the case when I was younger.

Looks appetizing! It's good that all this abundance comes from your own garden!

So blessed!

Envy!!!! Green with envy over fresh garden items. We have two coffee mugs that say, I'd rather be in the garden. We live in a studio downtown so it's a fantasy. You're living the dream. Your bowl of goodness should be in front of me and a spoon in my hand right now!!!!😋

Thats kind of you given your own culinary amazingness!!! Ha those mugs...I definitely want one for work! Except I'm quitting... more time in garden!!!

It looks tasty and delicious! I love all kind of curry!

It's so easy, thanks for stopping by! I bet it's not as good as your amazing curries!

Yummy! Like you I love coriander. In pretty much anything....I wonder what a coriander cake would taste like?? But coconut and coriander together is a winner. Definitely going to try this recipe. My family love curry. Some of it really hot and some not so much. I am one of the not so much chilli lovers.

Hahah a coriander cake sounds awful!!! Oh yes you'd love it - it's very forgiving so use your intuition and taste buds on less/more. I love lots of turmeric, ginger and coriander so I probably add a little more of everything! It can be nice with roast capsicum/chilli in in too...

If I have learned anything about you in this amazing Hive journey, is that (a) your are astoundingly constant, (b) you take gorgeous photos and (c) your food posts never cease to make me hungry!

Looks amazing. Sending love from Thailand, as always.

Aw, thanks darling - nice to see you here, I've been missing your content! I bet you've been busy. Thanks sooo much. Love back at you. Hope you and Ploi are smiling.

To be honest these photos remind me I have to sand back and revarnish that bloody wooden benchtop.. .if only I could afford granite..

The quality of the produce in this recipe is amazing, and of course the recipe is the bee's knees too. Snap peas, broccoli, take my money, haven' even seen either one of those in at least 2 years. Nice plating and photography too, or should I say "good on ya' this avo." That's about as OZ as I can get.

Hahah 'good on ya mate' is pretty Oz! Oh yeah, won't be long before you're having all kinds of vegetables, your taste buds will be dancing away! I'm loving snowpea season!