LEFT HAND OR RIGHT HAND? || WHY DO WE CONDEMN THE USE OF LEFT HAND

in Cross Culture2 years ago

Hey lovelies ❤️
It's your favorite girl @debbie-ese 😍
Welcome to my blog 🤗
image.png

source
So, some years ago, when I was much younger, I use to make use of my lefthand to eat, write and use it for what most people use their right hand for but this didn't go well with my parents. They had to force me to start using the right hand. Now, I write and eat with my right hand but there are some things I still do with my left hand because it comes naturally. For instance, when I'm using knife in the kitchen while cooking I use my left hand to peel. Why do you think some parents would not encourage their children to use their left hand to do most things?

Let me share this short story with you before we talk about the beliefs surrounding using the left hand or right hand for certain things. During my university days, we were all gathered in the lecture theater writing an examination. You can imagine what an examination setting looks like - everyone will be serious with answering their questions. While I was writing my answers and trying to recall some cogent points, I noticed my lecturer, one of the invigilators was right behind me, then he touched my shoulders to give me my ID card that fell from my table.
image.png

source
I stretched my hand to collect it from him but surprisingly he withdrew his hand. I said to myself that isn't this man aware that I'm in a middle of something serious? He did the same thing the second time and I almost got angry that I wanted to continue with my examination so that I don't get distracted by the man's actions. The third time, he used his eyes to gesture that I should use my right hand to collect from him and not my left hand. It was at that point that I understand what the problem was all along. In actual fact, I was holding my pen with my right hand and my mind didn't even go to the "left hand" thing because I had a lot going on in my head at the time. I just wanted to collect the ID card and continue with my examination.

In this part of the World, the left hand is prohibited from doing certain things and this isn't fair to people who are naturally born lefthanded. I don't know if this is what people who are naturally lefthanded go through in other continents. You may share with me in the comment sections. A lot of kids, including myself went through a difficult time while growing up just for them to stop using their left hand to write, eat, receive something from someone etc.

Most parents do not know that there are connection between the brain and the hand (right or left) that a child uses but the insist on teaching the child to change from left to right the moment they observe it. There are few people that I have seen that their lifestyle got distorted because they were forced to change from being lefthanded to righthanded. I have a friend whose handwriting became really illegible because she had to change from being leftie to rightie.

I still do not understand the rationale behind prioritizing one hand over the other when they are supposed to be supporting each other. The right hand won't function well without the left and vice versa, so why are we bent on changing someone's natural biological feature for personal reasons. I believe that the right or left hand isn't superior to each other. We should encourage our kids to make use of their natural hand and not try to change them.

There are great sportsmen and women who use their left hands to perform exceptionally in their fields especially in tennis and volleyball that I'm conversant with. In fact, the service made with the left hand is very difficult for the opponent to receive. There are various reasons why we should not discriminate against the use of one hand or another.

Thank you for your time lovelies.
The post is originally written by me 💕@debbie-ese💕

20200509_195027_0000.png

Your comments, criticism and votes are highly appreciated.
Sort:  

Nice read.

I don't think there's a cogent explanation for the left-hand bias though.
The left-hand thing is just a belief that has been passed from generations to generation that it's become a culture.