How My Hometown has changed my lifestyle since I was Young

in Cross Culture3 years ago

I grew up in the North central part of Nigeria, In a small town called Gwazunu in Niger state. The town is known as a ghetto with rough road paths sparsely scattered in-between houses, people who grew up there uses the road paths to escape easily meandering their way to their desired location. Their major occupation was farming usually for consumption purposes and the people living in that town were know with drinking and other dubious character, these made my grandma strict on who we go out with at all time.

img_0.3593829321579181.jpg

Photo credit
I had grew up with my grandma there since I was a child. She was known to be strict because she was careful for us not to mingle with the lifestyle of people residing in the town. She allow us stay out only until 9:00pm, once that time is exceeded, she either lock us out or beat us. Aside this, she never wanted to see us hanging around girls nor to hear that we had a girlfriend. This continued until I was age 17.

This restrictions placed on us made me prefer been indoor to going out and timid around ladies. As much as I wanted to change after some level of freedom was given us, I couldn't, I only found comfort with staying locked up in my room with my phone or sleeping to wear out boredom. This had become part of me and somehow I prefer this indoor, except for this social life that am trying to adjust to and seem not to be working out. It had made me shy around social events and people guess this to be my personality but this was not so when I was still a child.

Now I stay in a city but that life I was trained up with has become a part of me.

Sort:  

Do most tribes have strict parents in Nigeria or does it depend?

My partner also grew up with strict rules and now she prefers to stay at home because she wasn't really allowed to be social when she was young. She is getting better and better at it.

I enjoy reading these kinds of stories! I follow a lot of people so it's hard to catch everything but I will try to catch more of your posts. Especially the ones in Cross Culture.

Not all tribes are that strict, though at age 1-15, every parent place restrictions on their children but for the females it could be extended. After that period , the children conform to their early childhood programming or go with their peer who had enjoyed some level of freedom .

Thank You for the tip, I'm truly grateful