Why I Love the UK - "What is something that fascinates or interests you about another culture or country?"

I've always loved the UK. With England at it's heart, I finally got the chance to walk the streets of Birmingham in 2017 when I was an exchange student in Germany. Never knowing if I'd ever get the chance again, I scheduled a 24 hour layover and stayed at a hotel near the train station. This is my entry in the question of the week :

"What is something that fascinates or interests you about another culture or country?"

Since I was a young boy, I've always had a fascination with castles, knights in shining armor and all things Britain. The British accent is the best in the world. As I left Iceland (which for some reason was packed with Brits) I stepped on the plane to Birmingham and in my excitement said out loud: "Oh my God, everyone has a British accent!" A lady looked at me and said "I certainly hope so, since we're flying to England!" Everyone had a good laugh when I told them how quaint they all sounded.

As an American, I make no distinction between the various countries. England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland (Northern and Southern! Kinda like North Korea, South Korea) we just lump into=England. We Yanks are too busy to figure out who owns what. It's easier that way. (Juuuust kidding!) :)

In Germany, my dearest friends were three English guys: Joni, Alex and Elliot. Hearing about their "British Reserve" you better believe I took every opportunity at loosening them up by saying the most outrageous things that came to mind! Knowing how much I loved their country, they made me an honorary Brit, a title which I wear with dignity! Such decent young men who no doubt will go on to become the pride of England!

The royal family is another reason to like the area. Since we have no royalty over here, having driven out the last Queen of Hawaii over 100 years ago, we can only look on at yours with envy. William the Conqueror, Oliver Cromwell, Henry, Elizabeth, Victoria ("We are not amused") all lend a certain stateliness to the long history of Britain. The Hundred Years War, the Magna Carta, The British Empire, such a long period of glory and matchless bravery. The fact that so many of you have a wanderlust, globetrotting across the planet, which I'm sure helped plant the seeds of empire early on.



And then there's Gordon Ramsay who introduced cute little words like "plonker", "tosser" and "wanker" into the American lexicon. Talk about a guy who should be running the country! Or maybe he'd just "Shut it down!" and be done with it all. :) There's so much to like and with our "Special Relationship" England will always be the wiser older brother to a young and frequently reckless United States. May it always remain so. God bless our friends the Brits!

Thank You So Much!

Please follow me on:

👍Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat
👍Earn Crypto with Brave Browser: https://brave.com/eve641
👍Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/evernoticethat/
👍Hive: https://hive.blog/@evernoticethat

photo credit: 1, 2


Please check out my recent posts:

Sort:  

Interesting insight from an American. I have to admit, The Royal Family are quite popular with tourists from around the world, maybe even more popular than with a lot of locals. You guys bagged one of them over to the States, so you go a bit of royalty though I'm not sure how much longer his royal status will last. Just joking 😂

I hope you made it down to London as well.

Let's hope she doesn't embarass us in the meantime! :) It was only a 24 hour layover with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in in my life. I'm kicking myself for not scheduling a few days as the closest I got to London was Gatwick airport on the way back. Even forgot to get fish and chips while I was there.

The currency over there was beautiful, put our dollars to shame. They do so many things right in the UK, but all I heard from them was a desire to live elsewhere. A lot was based on the weather, which surprised me as I had no idea the rain and fog was so pervasive. Which may explain why so many Brits live in Spain! :)

On the way to Gatwick from Germany, I sat next to a middle-aged Englishman. I made him roar with laughter by proposing the England restore the British Empire by invading the United States. It was good to see him laugh and I told him "Now you can tell your wife about that crazy Yank you sat next to on the plane!" I love the UK. :)

You're a true anglophile!!!