Vacay, where would I go first?

in Cross Culture4 years ago

Ahhhhhh, wat a great inspirational challenge from @whatamidoing about getting the travel vibes back up a little bit. The question for this week is one that often here we are talking about, because one day, who knows how long or short this may take, but one day we will be allowed to travel again, and so we will....so the question is


When we are allowed to travel again, where would you go?




And the funny thing to me is, because that is where amigo @whatamidoing has been residing for a while, is that this would totally be Japan to me! Here is why!





One of the first reasons for me to visit Japan would be because of the stunning fierce nature. Not only Mount Fiji would be a go to place but yes it would surely be on the list because mountains and water together just never get old.

Hokkaido which is the Northern island would also be high on this list because of its notorious snowfall of endless fluffy snow stacked y the meters high. Backcountry skiing here I come!





I was inspired about going to Japan a while back because of the series 'Reizen Waes on Dutch television. In these series the host of the show Tom Waes was travelling through Japan cross country by car in three weeks, seeing all kinds of cool things, and this was his last trip before Covid started to close up all countries. Apart from that Tom Waes is a really cool show host, he is also an actor and it is a joy to watch the man working. But all that aside. Back to travel!





The Food!!!


sushi
ramen
kobe beef

Okay I must admit it, I would be willing to go to a place just for the food. Now the examples that I have taken here are just the obvious of Japanse food, and are the equivalent of when people are talking about Dutch food, that they mention mashed potatoes, pancakes and mayonaise. And that is exactly why I would be wanting to visit Japan. Because I just know there is so much more to explore foodwise and I would just love to do this.

The whole culture around food and having so much respect to it, in combination with the extensive amount of garlic, ginger, cilantro and spring onion is totally in the street of my taste and exploring is just a delight!





Culture




The cherry blossom season would be something ofcourse to see and especially all the festivities around this, and people who are coming outside to celebrate the season would be cool, but the combo of visiting the snow in Hokkaido would be challenging. You can't have it all right ;)





Experiencing Japanese nightlife would totally be something I would love to do because it seems so different to European nightlife. My biased brain with only assumptions is that Japanese outgoing life can get quite extreme, and that would just be cool to be part of for once. Busy streets, neon, people who really go to the max because they are working so hard. It is just how I would expect it without any experience as yet.





And the respect for culture and nature. Japanese people seem calm and seem to have a tremendous amount of respect for their surroundings, for nature, and for the earth. It would be something that I would really like to see and would like to learn from. There is a reason why Japan has so many people who getting 100 years+ old. Lifestyle adds to this!





All and all, enough reasons for me to visit Japan once travel is back up and running. This might take a while, and the trip going from Europe to here is expensive and has pitfalls with all these current local outbreaks in the world qith quarantines, so I do not see this happening any time soon. But one day, just one day...I will see Japan






Source pic 1
Source pic 2
Source pic 3
Source pic 4
Source pic 5
Source pic 6
Source pic 6
Source pic 7
Source pic 8

Sort:  

I would totally like to visit Japan too in the not too distant future. I hope your work and life enable you to travel again soon, Karin.

Knuffel uit Portugal!

Yeah all of this only when stuff is normal. No cramping in planes for me dude hahah.
This will take a while!

Tsjuuuuuuus

Well the food is awesome. My favorite thing about food here is how hard it is to find something BAD. You can go to just about any restaurant and it’ll only be unpleasant maybe 1 out of 20 times or even less frequently.

As for the night life, most people go to izakaya and it isn’t extremely social, just closed groups, but I live near the punk and hippie capital of Tokyo so there are a ton of tiny dj pubs and punk rock or reggae bars, and the square in front of the station is always full of drunk people playing music and being social. Anything goes here!

I’d love to show you around!

Wow, why don't you show some pics and videos here too...for those who can't travel to Japan...

I would love to see more beauty from your perspective.

Hell yeah the punk and food tour of Tokyo. Where do i sign up!!

Aw it's sweet to still see my page dividers used ^_^

The Japanese night life looks most mysterious and cyberpunky :D It's the winner for me

Hahahah YES !!! Upvote times 10.000000 on this for still using the balls avatar hahaha. Yeah! It is still standard ready to use!

And still thaaaaaaank you after all this time!

@^▽^@ Thank you <3

Wow, I knew that Japan was a beautiful country, but never knew that it was such a beautiful one.

Don't know why @whatamidoing doesn't post more about it.

If I was living at such a place, I would be sharing the beauty daily.

4F480629F9C949BFAB0F00836E3C5BC2.jpeg

Meet your expectations?

lol...I guess it looks same as my neighbourhood!

Right? Hahhaa. That’s my daily life

also, so narrow streets, people don't drive cars over there?

They drive but residential streets barely have cars. Some people just keep a car for an occasional trip. Most renters don't drive

Ahh, okay...it's a little bit different over there I guess. There is a person I follow and he praise Japanese culture quite a lot.

Here is his profile...
https://twitter.com/orangebook_

You should give it a look!

Boring! ;<)

P.S. This is my 6 and a half year old Dutch/ Portuguese nephew's favorite word these days when he doesn't get what he wants or things are going to slow. He actually says: saai! usually ( pronounce the last three letters as aye ), Dutch for boring.

Right? Haha.
I'll show you the good shit in private 🤣

Just don't show me your privates.

I guess I can't take you to the sauna parties then

Hahaha!
Nope not really my thing.

duuuuuuude. Entirely empty streets. Eiree sight!

Well it was 3 am hahah
I am so on a different rhythm then everyone. It's hard haha

Parasite movie vibe? xD

Wrong country!

I'm aware haha, can't deny the vibes tho ;)

There are a lot of places in europe that can be confused with other european countries. It usually depends if it's the same architect or same movement

hehehe all is more normal when living there I guess haha

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!


Hey @karinxxl, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @karinxxl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!