Kimchee Thoughts

in Cross Culture4 years ago

20200730_182851.jpg

I'm on vacation on our deck. My youngest son just learned to swim and the mosquitoes are just coming out.

20200730_194937.jpg

We are planning to visit my mother-in-law in the countryside tomorrow and that's when I started to think anout kimchee.

Actually I've thinking about kimchi for a while now. It just occurred to me while I was dumping kimchi into my soup at dinner that I know a lot about kimchi.

Kimchi has been a major part of my experience in Korea. I could write a book about kimchi. That's what I'm going to do. I'm gonna write about kimchi, everything about kimchi.

I don't think I will post here about kimchi. But that's not a bad idea either.

At first I hated kimchi especially the smell. But now I can't eat anything without kimchi.

We will help my in-laws now at the farm. In November we will make kimchi. We have all the ancient recipes to make the best kimchi in the world. From time to time I will share some here.

20200730_182849.jpg

20200730_183132.jpg

This last picture is not exactly kimchi but a pickled summer beet. We got these beets from the farm foundation. Pickled beets aren't quite kimchi but they make a crispy snack.

Sort:  

I hope you write a book about kimchee one day, I will read it.

Thank you for your support. I like the subject and could fill pages. I'll start soon.

Nice! The kimchi looks good, but of course I have never tasted any!

I'm going to help you with this and share a simple recipe sometime soon.

Make a book about Kimchi and sell it on Gumroad :D

In all seriousness, I love kimchi and tried to make it but failed. I eat Bibimbap with miyeokguk almost daily when I don't eat a bento box with miso. It's strange to me how my palate went from Mediterranean to suddenly KR-JP cuisine. What I like about KR-JP food is that they are nutrient balanced; there's the carb, the protein, the fat in a medium sized portion.

Awesome. I'm glad you can enjoy a meal of miso and miyeukguk. There are many varieties of soybean curd in Korean. Some are fermented a long time. The probiotocs are amazing and there is energy in those soups.

Looking at your comment I don't know what gumroad is but I will find out.

I also love this little sugar bombs though marketed as "healthy"

image.png