Caught myself craving the spotlight

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)

I always feels that just casually sharing my experience garners the most views and the best feedback loop of conversation in the comments.

I’m not sure why I still try to teach some kind of a lesson or prove that I have something to offer in every post...

Perhaps it’s the fact that I am still trying to build a sustainable business that requires paying customers..

Perhaps it’s because I always know that I’m one or two auto-votes away from being a @taskmaster4450 or @tarazkp at Hive, and I don’t just mean making killer rewards, I mean going trending and getting all the engagement that comes from that.

Ironically though I doubt either of them really got there by trying to prove themselves.

Perhaps it’s because if I let myself get too casual, I may get lazy with or reckless with what I share..

I've always thought I have what it takes to go trending (or go viral on old platforms) consistently. That may be arrogant on my part, but I can't help it. It isn't because I'm special or talented. It's because I pay attention to what others do not, and I can express my findings well enough.

I’m still chasing success though and I don’t think I should. It's all a process. If I want to write and create even better things in the future, I need this all the play out how it's playing out. This long grind will end up being essential for what's to come

I'm after freedom and ease, and a certain feeling which is hard to pinpoint, but which I am finally starting to understand...

image0 (2).jpg

My friends know I’m not about the spotlight. Attention for attention's sake is meaningless to me. I think I've isolated the single reason that I sometimes find myself chasing the spotlight though. There is only one.

I love the feedback loop that comes from feedback on my work.

When people react to you, you have a chance to react to them and it becomes a collaborative process of exploring different truths and perspectives in the open for others to see. Others see it and then the collaboration can grow.

Participating in this kind of collaboration is so damn exciting for me. It drives me. It's what I want to do with my life, regardless of what form it takes.

How many times have I been inspired to write a post by comments left by @ryivhnn or @kemmyb or @josediccus or @adamada, and these are just the first 4 who came to my mind.

Sometimes I see how my posts inspire someone else to explore a topic. I don’t think @vincentnijman would mind me pointing at him, we’ve had an amazing back and forth over the past few years.

It can happen anywhere, but for those of us who consciously create, it is something we are more aware of even if we don't put words to what it is.

One of the happiest moments I can remember was when a good friend who happens to be one of my favorite musicians sent me his newest album before the release date...

On the third or fourth track, I heard a time signature and just thought, "That's me!". My style had subtly rubbed off on him the same way his style had rubbed off on me. I doubt he even noticed.

He hadn’t ripped me off, it was still 100% him, but just this 3-4 seconds were obviously something that he had accidentally picked up from jamming with me.

His music has reached much further than mine. He’s actually very well know in his city and has collaborated with many brilliant artists.

I have many other examples, and these are the things I'm most proud of in my life. Most of them are hardly something that people point to as their greatest achievements, but they are mine.

It’s these feedback loops that drive me. I inspire you and you inspire me and we both inspire someone else. We converse. We build upon. We grow. We evolve, sometimes together, sometimes down two different paths.

We change and the world changes with us.

We don't always have the time or attention available to converse one on one, and sometimes we are input mood and sometimes we are in output mode.

The ones who are in the spotlight and do get a lot of positive engagement, are they doing it with the spotlight in mind? Some maybe, but eventually they will fade away, while it’s the ones who just do what they do who move us the most.

So with all that in mind, I’m going to be reminding myself more often to just have fun with it and not worry if the whales catch on.

I’ll even do my best not to care whether or not the friends who have supported me in the past will continue to do so.
They didn’t come because I tried to catch them. They came because they liked what I was sharing.

In the end it’s always about finding my own flow and flowing with it.

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join Hive Cross Culture and Join our discord

Please consider delegating to @crossculture or following our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱f

Sort:  

I’m not sure why I still try to teach some kind of a lesson or prove that I have something to offer in every post...

Habit?

I’m still chasing success though

Define success? :D

Hey wait what do you mean my insipid comments inspire you to write posts O_O; that's mildly concerning XD

Ahh that's so cool picking up your influence in your friend's track XD I love seeing things that other people have picked up from me too :) (as long as they're good things x_x I am forever telling people DON'T BE LIKE ME with my bad points though XD)

I THOUGHT I REPLIED TO THIS

I will say it again...I don't think we should all be the same, but if we were all the same, I'd choose you as the model.

I THOUGHT YOU DID TOO.

Maybe you replied to something else that was similar enough that we both thought that was the reply to this XD

We absolutely should not all be the same (especially modelled off me that's a terrible idea x_x), it would be so boring.

Well, this guy is impressed 😉. I know what you're saying about the trending thing, I sometimes wonder about all the new Hivers I'd get to easily meet in the comments of my post(s) by being on the trending page. Whatever you're doing on Hive, it's certainly worked for you. You may not have massive payouts, but your comments section is always full of heartfelt and thoughtful comments.

The comments keep me going man. The fact that people share themselves with me just makes this place home. That's why I stuck out the bear market. I didn't actually think the old chain or the fork would make it. Now I feel differently.

It's been a pleasure seeing your world too!

You may not have massive payouts, but your comments section is always full of heartfelt and thoughtful comments.

Now that is 'worth' a lot.

Dang, felt a pang of guilt, I see your posts and if I happen to check and scan, I just drop a vote. Sorry, plenty of stuff happening irl that makes my time to socialize on chain limited but anyone pinging me will always get the time. Votes aren't what you need but if my stake can give you the visibility boost to get more eyes why not?

I always found your stuff interesting as it has personality rather than a generic post. Personality is what you're selling and these are in the form of stories and insights from real life. I don't get bothered when there's a lack of engagement on my posts. Sometimes the content can just be taken as it is without a word. Like some visual arts where you get that ah... moment and then speak none of it but the impression, thought and feeling lingers after you saw it.

Just so you know, you may not be on the global trending page but you're always be trending on someone's feed.

Yooo there is absolutely no need for guilt, although I understand. I am constantly fighting with that guilt because there are lots of people who I appreciate so much here and I don't let them know enough, even when they sometimes let me know.

We live in an age of overwhelming variety and stimuli. We are still figuring out how to adapt to it.

No pressure to comment, or even read. Just letting you know that I've appreciated your presence here!

Getting attention is always good especially in a place like this. When those Comments come flying into our posts, we can always feel like someone that is connecting with his audience. That feeling is second to none.

What doesn't go down well is outrightly hunting for attention. I'm not going to beg someone to vote or leave a comment on my post. If I do it once, I would have to do it again and whenever I fail to do so, I will be left with NOTHING. Like you already said, if we be ourself and Interact genuinely, it will be alot easier for us to attract genuine engagement.

Somehow, we all rub off on eachother.

You've been a pleasure rubbing off on lol.

You've definetly helped me figure out who I am writing for 😉

Here, a little tip for your efforts

@tipu curate

I think you're one of the most open-minded people on hive and your contents are thoughtful. In this post however, I see a lot of innuendos, there's this underlying point you're trying to make. I'd rather not make it obvious, because I already understand where you're coming from. About three weeks back, some people picked up a quarrel behind my back about my personality and they felt that obviously I was the one not making them earn enough reward.
There are exciting things about hive, but that human factor and flaws will always be there.
I believe one way or another, no one's an island of intelligence, brilliance or knowledge. Infact some of the things we know are MOs adopted from others, inadvertently it happens, especially when we have established close relationship with people who we have come to know. It makes the world colourful. Can't count how many times you've rubbed off on me.

That's a hell of a compliment. I always put in effort but it's nice to know someone feels it.

I don't know if I intentionally put any innuendos. My brain just makes lots of connections and I often try to speak to many things at once.

I am honored by your words and I hope that drama calms down.

I’m not sure why I still try to teach some kind of a lesson or prove that I have something to offer in every post...

Perhaps it’s the fact that I am still trying to build a sustainable business that requires paying customers..

I've been thinking about this for a couple of years now. Every media site is not the same. Hive is Hive. It's a good place to think and share ideas. Some games are catching on. Maybe an app to connect with clients will come but right now it's mostly talking about your day. There are various communities that discuss their day from various points of view but when it comes down to it they are still just talking about their day.

I don't really think that Hive can't be a mechanism for attracting clients. A lot of my posts get half their views from Twitter now. I get about 10 views from hive and 10 views from twitter because I only share links to posts that are relevant to those people. I am also trying to merge my social life and my work life so I think there are many ways to do this. Also the aspect of monetization which brings a lot of possibilities that haven't been tried yet, precisely because people think of "sharing ideas" and blogging as being something separate from work.

I believe my work and my play will eventually come together, but I guess I need to stop thinking I know exactly what that will look like and just go with the flow because I am trying something new here and not basing it off any model.

I exactly agree and share the some objective:

I believe my work and my play will eventually come together, but I guess I need to stop thinking I know exactly what that will look like and just go with the flow because I am trying something new here and not basing it off any model.

I great you keep an open mind. A lot of your success will come from self discovery. I still have a long way to go but I'm happy being me.

:-D I think we are both making progress. Watched your video,You kids must love your vibe!

I played it in class today. I never asked the kids to stand up but a few kids started dancing by themselves and one class asked to play it again. Kids love music and I'm not going to worry about too many technicalities. I'm still on the ten year plan. I want to be self sufficient from my job in ten years.

I think you'll be self sufficient even sooner than that! :-D

I can just live off !PIZZA

!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@selfhelp4trolls, you've been given LUV from @mineopoly.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/10)

Wow where did all these came from? I'm inspired really 😊 truth is, I always look forward to having good feedbacks and upvotes on my posts even though I try to do it for fun... Funny right? But that's just the truth.

We sometimes unconsciously crave for the spotlight but in real sense, we should just flow with doing it for ourselves and be happy with whatever outcome we get.

I can relate with that aspect of you getting more things to write on after reading comments from those persons, that's the beauty of meaningful comments.

Well done sir on you big little achievements 😊

We can hold two minds about things and it exposes some things that are less than ideal, but that's fine. We will never "get there", we just get closer and closer, and so we can be content without being fully content. I try to prioritize having fun and exploring myself, that way nothing is wasted energy. Then whatever else comes is a huge bones. You have also been a pleasure to run into here!

That's just the truth, we are contented but may never be contented but it's fine. Thanks so much for this write up, it's my first read this morning 😊

untitled.gif

I was attracted to this comment because,

  1. It seems meaningless
  2. "Big little achievement?" This is confusing.

There's a style to how you write - you express yourself genuinely and in most cases, it touches on important areas of a person's life. This was what drew me to your posts and consequently, an avid fan! 😄

I pay attention to what others do not, and I can express my findings well enough.

I believe this is one of the best way to reach people. In paying attention, you rub off on people (like you rightly noted) and people rub off on you. This is what I appreciate about blogging on hive - the genuine engagements. This is how we influence and change the world around us.

I remember engaging with a brilliant photographer on hive in the comment section and he told me, "...its all about finding your own audience." I think he's right.

It's okay to pursue success alongside but doing your own thing at your own pace will bring you into the spotlight, whether or not you want it!

I appreciate the mention. Thank you. 😊

“Finding your audience”. You would have inspired my next post with this one but I was already planning on writing about this. Do you know Seth Godin? I’ve mentioned him before but he’s definitely been an influence on the way I think about business and marketing. I still don’t like this word marketing but his definition of marketing, I like. He says….well I’ll share that tomorrow!

We are on the same wavelength 😉. Thank you so much for all your support,

Hehe, we are certainly on the same wavelength! I love Seth Godin...I read some of his text shared by ShadowsPub in her email to me and I wrote on it.

Since then, I subscribed to his emails and YouTube videos. The man is full or wisdom and an inspiration!

I remember reading that but I think I forgot it was you!
I didn't know he had a youtube channel. I know he writes a blog, I will check it out.
I do disagree with him on authenticity though 😆 sometimes.

It's is your enthusiasm for culture and how you love connecting with new people and new cultures that keeps me coming back. The way you rub off on others and the influence you have regardless of the degree is worth being proud of.

I think we all want the spotlight, some more than other but somehow it's there in us. You may not get the spotlight on the trending page yet but you get it in my feed and some others too.

I spent so long running from the spotlight even though part of me wanted it. Now that I realize why I wanted it (the positive feedback loop with others) it’s a lot less scary to me.

Thank you! I feel a much more immediate sense of fulfillment from connecting on e culture stuff.

Actually There are 6 years of my life (some of the most important parts) that I still don’t know how to talk about openly but I’m working on it. At least I’ll explain why it’s difficult to talk about sometime soon.

You seem to know yourself prety well. I still like to believe that when we let go of things ( of all the pushing to get somewhere ), they tend to happen. The door will open when all resistance is gone. That doesn't mean that we don't need to do some pushing first ;^)

It's a strange kind of push and pull. We need both and in some kind of natural rhythm that isn't desperate or conditional. Tricky balance but it seems I'm getting better at it! We are getting better at it ;-)

Congratulations @selfhelp4trolls! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @selfhelp4trolls! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mineopoly(2/10) tipped @selfhelp4trolls (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.