A potato speaks 3 languages. Which language do you want to learn?

in Cross Culture2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I finally show off my language skills and talk a little about how to learn a language.

My spanish practice went like this:

A menudo estoy ocupado. Siempre estoy trabajando pero quiero estudiar español. ¿Qué estás haciendo ahora? Estoy hablando español. estudiemos inglés y español juntos.

This month I've been focusing on gerunds (-ing verbs) and frequency adverbs (sometimes, often never) since their easy enough and something I can work on while I increase the amount of verbs I can use.

How are my languages? Are you jealous? Don't be, you can get to where I'm at and further if you put in the effort.

If you are interested in studying a language or meeting people from all over the world, come hang out with us at Cross Culture Collective discord

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My work:

📕 Confessions of the Damaged psychedelic spiritual fiction

🎸I + Everything - ambient folky music

🎬Self Help For Trolls - vlog

Confessions of the Damaged 1.1 - Out now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join Hive Cross Culture and Join our discord

Please consider delegating to @crossculture or following our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

A37D91C0-40FB-466C-8F84-9FC9751F2CCB.jpeg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

My mother language is portuguese.

I studied english for almost 10 years.
Feedbacks that i talk very good.

Very lille Spanish. Almost a "portunhol" (portuguese mixed with Spanish)

Learning Italian now...
I think similar languages is more difficult due similarities and words with totally different meaning.

Is better don't know the word and try to explain in different way than say the word and be totally misunderstood 😂

Join community. Tks for sharing

I will absolutely be learning Portuguese after I feel comfortable with Spanish. I want to visit both Portugal and Brazil. I'm only learning Spanish first because I know soooo many Spanish speakers.

Feel free to join us! :-) I'd love to have more Portuguese or Portunhol speakers at Cross Culture!

And just to let you know, Brazil and Portugal Portuguese are different as well.

Like Spain Spanish and latam.

But sure you will be able to communicate.

My mother tongue is Spanish and you did amazing 🥰 I can't recall if you mentioned it but how long have you been learning it? AND YOUR JAPANESE? WOW! I know nothing about Japanese so I couldn't say if you made any mistake but it sounded just the TV shows 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I do think there are people who have more like a language brain the same as there are people who naturally understand maths or music really well, but I could say that, as you mentioned, the beat method in my experience has been learning the things I usually am interested and talk about in my daily life as well as learning the verbs to be, to have, to do, and its conjugations, and that kind of everyday verbs that form the 80% of our conversations! And I watch TV Shows and listen to music like crazy 😅

I've been learning French for the past 8 years but I haven't been really disciplined in it :( I would say I might be in a 40% and I have DEFINITELY noticed I cannot study different language at the same time. I need to focus in only one and since I would like to speak like 7 languages more 😅 that makes me go slower.

I learned Spanish for 6 years in high school...the only thing I learned was the accent (Mexican?) and maybe 200 words of vocabulary + Yo estoy, tu eres etc.

My Japanese took about 5 years of inefficient study. I used to read novels but after I stopped speaking for another 5 years now long text is difficult.

I am going to go really deep with this book, deep enough to the point where it isn't about language anymore, it's about personality and spiritual health :-) I can't wait to share it, and I'll be sharing a lot of bits from it at hive too whether video or text.

Yeah, you need either discipline or genuine interest. The interest needs to be in the language itself, not the idea of being able to speak one day. Play!

I think potato is basically "potato" in all four.

A potato says, "Spud?"

!LOL

What kind of whale plays music?
An Orcastra

@selfhelp4trolls, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (3/4)

Poteto....patata….tudo!

I’m a potato of many patatas

Wonderful potato !PIZZA

I think you do have a good ear, to be able to imitate phonetics, I can hear that you even have your mouth pouting when speaking Mandarin, your japanese is also on point.

What language I want to learn? All of them! Haha I want to learn a specific dialect called Sotho.

I'll try your 10 to 15 minutes a day, but I am sooo full, 3 kids, already 1 hour gym everyday, 1 hour music, 1 hour vocal, and the rest is tight tight tight. No excuse, I love your method though, as you say, you're hacking yourself, I do that a lot too.

Oh and I also forget everything like you, it's all about repetition.

Having a good ear is one of the things I try and train students to do. It is definetly not easy because most people with bad ears tend to be stubborn and don’t want to try my crazy solutions or they don’t pay attention to detail at all and that’s a hard habit to change.

You have kids! 3! You look like you could be my kid! Hahaha well no not that young but I would have guessed 27 and traveling. 🤣

Omg haha I'm 36 since this year. I promised myself I would be millionaire by 33, It's taking a bit longer 🤗💰 Notice I didn't say "I failed" . I'm sure you're younger than me, kido

I'm very stubborn, and also deaf from one ear, just the perfect student 👍😁

Same age! 😱😱😱😱

I have a couple of times watched how tourists learn a foreign language easily. I kept wondering how possible that is.

I think it's a skill. So to me, you definitely have the skill too.
Or do these languages have a strategy? Just as you stated about the Japanese vowels?

But I see that one has to dedicate a couple of minutes daily to actually learn them. Maybe that's the only strategy. I'm in. I would love to learn Spanish maybe hehe.

Your colorful build and laughter tho haha.

Edit:

Watching cultural movies with translations would help too

All languages can use the same strategies for the most part, though some strategies are more beneficial to some languages. I will be making some more videos on this in the future, as the book gets closer and closer to release. To start, I'd just find something you want to say, search the internet how to say it, and keep repeating it.

I find output much more useful than input for study, you just gotta check online or with a native sometimes to make sure your output is correct.

Feel free to use the chat for language practice! If it's spanish we will be working together ;-)

Yes I’d prefer Spanish. But wouldn’t it be loads of work for you ? Because there would be other who wants to learn other languages.

And in my previous comment, I meant colourful bulb 💡 not build 😂

yeah, I have a colorful build too, my chest is purple and my stomach is orange ;-)

I won't be studying every language lol but I will try to connect people who are studying the same language

Awesome initiative. I will be looking forward to others response.

Been trying to learn Korean, why? I don't know, probably because I love how it sounds but I haven't been successful because I get tired and fall off.

I would need that book to be honest.

I am not into a lot of the pop stuff from Korea but I think the underground art and music and traditional stuff is pretty cool. Leenalchi is awesome!
I might learn Korean if I hadn't spent so much time on Asia. I need to finally learn Spanish, and maybe a bit of Igbo and Yoruba to play around with friends ....do you speak one of those? Sorry it's hard to remember who speaks what

I have always been fascinated with Korea so learning the language might be cool, just haven't pushed myself to.

Igbo is the east and yoruba is the west, so which do you want to?

Whichever everyone here speaks! I think it’s 80% these two, right?

Yeah, it is mostly those two but then you know Nigeria has a hell load of languages.

Just tell me which to learn and I’ll learn it! Hahaha slowwwwwly

I would advise you to learn Yoruba because if you ever come to Nigeria, you would most likely go to Lagos as a central city or Abuja

I could actually read that O_O guess even the absolute bare minimum I've been kind of doing lately (languages has fallen by the wayside again, basically I'm doing just enough to keep the streak going) is better than nothing XD

did you lose you 1000 year streak on duolingo!?

LoL! Not yet XD I'm on 300something x_x but after October I couldn't keep up the xp required to get the monthly badges.

Amazing, I don't know how you do it. I said I was gonna start again 3 days ago and lost it by the 3rd day.....

Same way I do everything else. Sheer bloody minded stubbornness XD

As a staunch anime viewer, I know that you shouldn't compare the Japanese of anime with the Japanese they naturally speak in their daily lives. But I must admit that I find your pronunciation and command of the language amazing, it's really incredible. My sister has been studying Japanese for many years and she was fascinated with your command of the language.

My mother tongue is Spanish and I really liked your pronunciation, mainly because it is very similar to the Spanish accent. But you certainly speak it very well.

I really admire your ability to learn several languages. I'm still struggling with English and I want to learn German 😂😂 but well, it's all a matter of perseverance.

thank you 😀😀😀 I just put a whole lot of years and energy into it. When I was 19 I was tired of having no skills and so I just spent hours every day on Japanese. All you need is a little time every day or every other day where you focus on it and have output, not just input.

Wondering what anime you like? 😆

Good skill boss and keep it up!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mineopoly(1/9) tipped @selfhelp4trolls (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Loading...