Just in case you were wondering what is wrong with me....

I haven't woken up feeling good in over 6 years.*

How did I get this way? Mostly bad posture (including sitting, sleeping and standing), weak core muscles, and not paying attention to things like stiff necks or tightness in the lower back for too many years...

I disappear for days at a time when I get busy or when this all flails up and gets especially uncomfortable. It's not pain, it's more like physical anxiety (from pressure on the nerves), sleep apnea, and tightness that makes movement feel unnatural, as well as uncomfortable breathing and almost everything seeming to make the problems worse at times.

I feel worlds better today than I did for the the past three days, but still have a ways to go. Health is everything, without it, you become a hollow shell. Remember that next time you talk to someone with health problems. They are working 5-10x harder to laugh and smile and to wake up in the morning. They don't need pity but they do need support sometimes, especially patience and someone who tries to make them smile.

If I actually manage to fix these issues, I guess I can consider myself lucky, having experienced old age earlier than others and then able to go back to a healthy middle age. I have learned many of the lessons that old age teaches through my own health issues. If I don't recover...well that will suck, but I'm doing everything I can and I have to believe there is a purpose for it. I have gained so much from these experiences that I can share, and I believe that life has a way of getting our message or voice out if it's something that people are ready for.

I realized that stretching my neck to the left and right and then doing stretching out my shoulder blade every morning works wonders, but only if I do it right after waking up. If I wait ten minutes, the effects are much less noticeable. When I do this every day, I wake up feeling better and better each day, until one day I feel a pinch in my neck. That is caused by too much pressure in a vertebrae in my mid-back which is causing a contradiction between my neck and my mid back.

After all that is fixed, the hip problems start to rear their ugly head, but that's when focusing on stretching and massaging the QL muscle is most important. All the while, I'm using TCM massage and Wuxing theory to keep the body as flexible and comfortable as possible, though it's almost totally useless when the neck isn't straight and pressure around the neck nerve starts to intensify, which is why those morning stretches are so important.

From now *I'll also be doing some posture exercises that I've designed myself. I have tried many recommended to me and none of them work very well, but listening to my body I realize that a lot of these problems came from weak lower back muscles and incredibly tight hamstrings. Now my body cannot even stretch effectively cause the muscles have overcompensated in all kinds of ways to keep me upright. So I am essentially untangling like a knot....and as I mentioned, the neck is the first knot to unravel always.

Don't ask me if I have seen a doctor....seen many...chiropractors, everything else. Nothing wrong shows up on X-rays, good massage therapists can find the problem but it doesn't mean they can fix it quickly, and good ones are hard to find. Physical therapists haven't helped much either. In the end listening to my body, taking things that *I learned from different kinds of professionals, studying by myself and learning to understand my bodily sensations myself has been 100x more effective and less damaging. The fact is, the body is so complex that it takes a whole lot of sensitivity and collaboration to fix some problems

It is taking a lot of work, and there is so much to balance that I forget certain steps or techniques or run into new problems sometimes...but I am making progress.

Just in case you were wondering what is wrong with me.

Sort:  

I always feel someone when l hear people complain that they feel internal pain yet nothing shows up after doing X-ray. it's like pushing you towards believing in the metaphysical and depending completely on it for some sort of spiritual healing.

While that is not entirely wrong, it takes a very strong mind to be able to beat that. Massage therapy can work in your case but you can't be with them round the clock and their therapy doesn't have instant effect.

Well, the bottom line is that you've been passing through something but the good news is that you are moving in the right direction towards creating an everlasting solution to it. You seem to have a lot on your table so delegating role may also be a wise idea.

I've had to come up with creative ways to massage myself. I don't rely entirely on spiritual methods, but that can often help me find the physical cause of things or solutions I was unaware of. I experiment a lot but there are shortcuts I can find when I'm ready for them.

So much of the body relies on the state of the muscle and tissues and those are almost impossible to detect unless you have a really skilled physical therapist or sports therapist, and once they get too complicated most of them don't have answers to fix them. I do believe that the body can recover from almost anything if the person has the energy and desire and learns the skills needed.

Your body is recovering because you have a strong mindset and you are ready to learn what it takes to overcome your current physical fitness issues.

I don't know how you managed to survive with all this for so long but l can already see that you've learned alot from this.

It's not easy at all but here you are, acquiring and applying necessary skills to give yourself the life you deserve. You've really tasted old age but you will soon feel what it's like you be young again. Lol


Posted via proofofbrain.io

For me the morning time is so important. If my posture is messed up in the morning the whole day is messed up. Now this typhoon is not helping with the muscles and bones.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

So they have deep tissue massages in Korea or is it like japan where they are afraid you’ll break with any real force?

Everything is here. An easy place to start is the bath house but there are all kinds of massage places and they are not afraid to get right in. It is also a lot easier to communicate in English than it has been in the past.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I quite agree with something you've said here. The truth is, people with health issues are evening putting in extra energy to smile, go to work, go to class and live life generally it's often painful that it's only pity that's that people see as the first emotion when the come across people with issue as this. I've had health issues, I'm still coping with some but sometimes I realise I'm stronger than I can ever be as a result of how I've accomplished the many things I can. I'm happy you're dealing with yours quite well.

I learned to appreciate myself from the way I've been able to work through all this discomfort without falling apart emotionally. Actually I didn't have much of a choice. I'm quite sure I wouldn't be here if I had fallen into despair.

I hope that in the future kids all learn how important their muscles system is and learn how to take care of it but also to become more sensitive to their bodies.

Thanks man

Health is everything, without it, you become a hollow shell.

Hear, hear.

Remember that next time you talk to someone with health problems. They are working 5-10x harder to laugh and smile and to wake up in the morning. They don't need pity but they do need support sometimes, especially patience and someone who tries to make them smile.

And I second this part too.

Keep it up my friend and let me know when you feel like chatting. I will make time for you.

P.S. I am about to play some serious soccer again, this afternoon, and will walk to the field ( which takes about half an hour ) to warm up. Just the thought of this energizes me way before the actual game.

Vincent soccer! Like megaman soccer. I’m sure we will have a nice Dino story about it coming 🦘🦘🦘🦘 enjoy!

Health is everything, without it, you become a hollow shell.

This is a quotable quote!

I'm sorry about your health condition but immensely glad you are making progress. A day at a time.

I hope you keep getting better and better! 🙂

Thank you! Glad you are still here :-D

Honestly, I was wondering because I always look forward to your posts and to know about your progress with your plans you've talked about.

Now I know what have been wrong and I can only pray and hope you get better. But I wonder why there wasn't anything on the Xray 🤔

Well, I just want you to keep learning about your body and very soon, you will be totally fine.

And I would want to hear the good news also 😊 stay healthy sir.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks!

Actually X-rays are best for detecting bone issues or serious misalignments. They don't usually pick up problems with tendons or muscles, especially things like tight muscles from pressure on the nerves. You could have something like that that may not look strange on an xray because it's so slight that it's within the realm of normal. Also, they usually take xrays of the area that hurts and the cause of the problem is often not in that area. The body changes quite easily too, it is possible for your bones to move during the course of the day or only when in certain postures.

It is so important to listen to our body and to catch the signs of discomfort and disease early, but it also really difficult as well. I hope that you find a way that helps you and that you begin to heal. Sending lots of healing energy your way, my friend xxxx
Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Check it out here. Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here! divider.fw.png

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail! We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

I think I'm finally starting to figure it out. It's been a massive challenge but if I can get another decade or 4 of decent health it'll all be worth it. <3 Thank you @trucklife-family

Least you don't disappear for months at a time :)

Untangling people (whether it's yourself or someone else) can be a pretty major undertaking. It's always nice to get updates on how you're going with all of that, as long as you're happy to update us and aren't feeling too obligated :D

It's simply a matter of being available. When I'm available (mentally as well), I will always spend time here or in discord. I never feel obligated. I am extremely self indulgent, as much as I care about other people ;-)

It's amazing how much a young body can tolerate in our mistreatment of ourselves. Then we reach middle age and start to feel the consequences and realise years of bad habits are also going to take years to unravel.

Something that might give you the determination to keep on your healing journey is the fact that my mum (65) started her own journey a couple of years ago and I'm often impressed at how far she's come. She's not perfect and still had some pain, but it's much improved (she may also be contending with some arthritis) and her posture difference is obvious. She used to always be complaining about some pain, but rarely does now. Never to late to improve your quality of life.

I am starting to realize just how awfully I treated myself and I hardly noticed because it was always within the realm of normal. The backside of my legs have always been tight as could be and sugar made up half my diet for 20 years.....that shouldn't even be possible lol

Thanks for telling me about your mum, she sounds awesome!

We can be idiots to ourselves, especially when we're younger and think we're invulnerable.

My mum has her moments and a bit of a stubborn streak, which works out when applied well. 😉