Social Experiment: Making strangers smile online

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)

I re-joined twitter last year with the sole purpose of promoting Hive. I had absolutely no interest in getting involved there. I was just trying to take part in POSH and whatever else I could do to promote Hive.

I found that my stuff didn't reach anyone new though, and my feed was filling up with lots of crypto stuff that I didn't need. I read informative articles at Leofinance and have my 2-3 youtube dudes I check. I don't really need to spend time scrolling through twitter to read the same kind of stuff, especially with all the arguments there.

After some thought, realized it might be an opportunity for me. I refuse to believe that there isn't SOMETHING worth doing there. Make no mistake, I am all in on Hive and Hive projects and want to bring everyone I meet here, but I also won't pass up something good just because it's at a less preferable platform. I see how good my NFT friends did on twitter and it got me thinking that maybe it would be a good way to reach out to more people, get my writing and my music out there to more people, and so for that reason I didn't quit.

6CC2E4AA-CC89-439A-9B0D-F601AD85E352.jpeg

I spent a while experimenting with ways to find new friends there, or get more readers, find clients, promote Hive....anything that felt worth doing. Nothing seemed to work. The algorithms seemed to hate me, and half of what I saw was toxic.

Then yestersayvI had this idea:

What if I just try and cheer up random people on Twitter for 15 minutes a day.

I know what you are thinking? Why waste my precious time on strangers that I'll never meet, and on TWITTER of all places?

The main reason is that Hive is still a closed ecosystem (simply due to the amount of people who use it) and both for my own sake and for Hives sake, I’d like to also stay active in an open ecosystem. I like meeting new people for my own pleasure and I need to meet new people for my work. It’s both selfish and selfless. No strings attached. No expectations, but possibilities.

The first day I ended up with 3 new connections, all decent enough. I did not pester anyone to become my friend and I don’t plan on trying to mention hive or my art or work directly to them but I hope that if I bring a smile to 10 faces, 2 or 3 decide to add me. Then if I find 10 new followers 2 or 3 check out the links in my profile. ”I may actually be able to find an audience for my work like this” I thought...but I ran into a new problem rather quickly...

I ran out of hashtags!

The initial goal was to cheer up sad people. At first I tried some tags like #advice and #relationships...and later found a few others like #askingforafriend and #askingformyself. I found a few people that I thought I could bring some brightness to...but they are all into such different things. I don’t mind because I like people with good characters and a variety of interests but I don’t think many of them are the kind of people to appreciate that.

I tried #mentalhealth but I realized my perspective on mental health is far outside the norm and Twitter is an emotional powder keg for a lot of people so I backed off that fast..

I tried #lawofattraction and a few other new agey tags but it’s all people trying to find clients and followers through being Twitter gurus. Ok.

I tried typing a few other phrases and it just turned into so much work to find an interesting tweet or a tweet where someone needed (and could accept) some kindness. Lots of garbage.

My second day after 15 minutes I only found one single person I thought I could actually say anything of importance to. “What a waste of time...”** I thought.**

As it turns out, most English hash tags and search terms have been spammed to the end of time with self promotions and BTS fans.

Wait a second, I speak Japanese. Hive doesn’t have much of a Japanese community any more...

And then my mind got moving...what if I could use Twitter to bring my work, my social life and my hive life together. As I said, that was the goal I had when I changed my name here.

And so I came up with a new goal on twitter. I will leave the details of it for another time, but I think this is going to make my life a whole lot easier in the end. I have essentially come up with a way to find the perfect clients and readers and new hive users at the same time, and none of it will involve spamming, I’ll just be chatting and making people smile every day, but hopefully the people I find will slowly turn into the ones I had hoped to find all along.

I tried one more time at night with a different strategy and I ended up with 10 new followers who I think will be good ones that lead to friendship and/or business and I don’t have to solicit anything from them at all. It’s just the people who were looking for someone like me all along.

I can’t say anymore just yet, but I’m really thrilled to be able to stop thinking about how to market myself and just make making people smile my marketing campaign.

I love life, even if it is a pain sometimes!

I haven’t given up on making strangers smile, if you have any good idea for hashtags or search terms to try out .

I hope the main takeaway is this: you don’t have to solicit things from people or do everything for your own benefit. Everything comes into place when you find a way to do what you do best in the presence of people who are seeking such a person. If you enjoy what you do just do it in front of the right people in a way they can understand. You don’t need to expect anything in return, things will eventually fall into place. Easier said than done, I know...that’s why we need to use every tool at our disposal sometimes. And Twitter feels like much less of a drag when you already have a community like Hive to come home to.

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

I'm also getting much more involved with Natural Medicine, Hoping to help them connect and reward autonomous and conscious communities around the world.

Consider buying the LOTUS token at leofinance.io 's LeoDex or posting at naturalmedicine.io where you can browse posts about healthy lifestyles, spirituality, farming, yoga, psychedelics, healing techniques and more. All your posts will automatically appear at the Natural Medicine community at Hive and you can earn LOTUS and HIVE.

Help us spread the word by liking and sharing posts by Natural Medicine on Twitter and Instagram

ErqYbnvU0AMeaO_.jfif

Sort:  

I just found this post following a hashtag here on Hive. I don't know if you're still doing this or not but this entire post made me incredibly happy.

What if I just try and cheer up random people on Twitter for 15 minutes a day.

My passion and purpose is to bring people happiness. I love to help people any way I can. Sometimes it's sharing @ryzeonline's view or teachings. Sometimes it's just saying kind things and sharing my own views. Sometimes it's showing love to people who don't get much love on their posts.

This post made my day because it brings me so much joy seeing other people wanting to do the same, wanting to make people happy, and wanting to find happiness too.

So are you still doing this? I want to help you do it if you are. I have some ideas if you're open to them. If not, all good. I'm so happy that you had the intention to bring joy.

Much love,
Cyn

Feel free to find me on discord. whatamIdoing#4716

I am not thinking about this so much but it’s become a kind of a habit now. I don’t actively look out for people who are not doing so well but I keep an eye out on my feed and spend about 5-10 minutes sharing positive vibes with whoever I come across 😊

Yay! I sent you a friend request on Discord.

I love that you're still sharing those positive vibes too. Good for you!

Much love ❤️❤️❤️

@cynshineonline Feel free to find me on discord. whatamIdoing#4716

I am not thinking about this so much but it’s become a kind of a habit now. I don’t actively look out for people who are not doing so well but I keep an eye out on my feed and spend about 5-10 minutes sharing positive vibes with whoever I come across 😊

This is beyond awesome , I fell totally in love with your persistence .
The best way to get to the hearts of people is through a smile . In that way , you are also putting a smile on your face . You get their attention and you can easily make friends . 😉
You're awesome !
Well done

Thanks for the kind words!

Everybody wins right? With technology win-win situations can become the standard. Many people still don't understand this so the world still has many problems. 🤷‍♂️ Everyone will figure it out eventually.

That's a great initiative. I was inactive in twitter for like almost 1 year but then i came up with uploading my posts in twitter so to make others know about hive. I dont have much followers tho. But its a good time to start and will by and things will start falling in its place slowly. The key is just to be consistent

I am only getting involved there because I'm a freelancer and want to remain a freelancer. For just being social I prefer hive any day!

What an interesting experiment and looking forward how it pans out. Reading how you ultimately chose to go about it, made me recognize one part of networking, but then in the virtual space: "Giving without expecting something in return." And I figure, that being sincere also plays a huge part in this huh?

All the best! 😊

I used to hate "networking" because it felt so self serving...then I realized you can just give freely and that's almost sufficient to help you with whatever you are trying to accomplish, as long as you are consistent with it and do it in a way that others can understand.

I still don't call it "networking" though cause I don't think most networking is done so honestly. Maybe I that will change when I meet enough people doing it that way.

I know what you mean though, that networking has gotten a bad reputation, because not everyone who's using it is as sincere. Just have to remember in the back of your mind that "everybody's" got an agenda.

Wow like seriously, how do you come up with such amazing ideas? This is a really nice initiative and I can already see it working for you with the kind of motive you have.

Twitter has always been a place to meet a whole lot of people so posting our articles from Hive there will help spread the word about Hive.

I wish you success in your plan, I hope you meet the people who have always wished to meet someone like you.

Awesome write up by the way.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Stubbornness and countless failures 😆 that is the only way I come up with most of my ideas. I refuse to believe that I'll have a better life by seeking employment so the only choice is to find a way to be successfully self employed.

That and I like making people feel fulfilled, it's actually fun for me.

Thank you!

😂 Stubbornness and countless failures you say? That's the spirit, what else could make you keep pushing? 🤷‍♀️

Well, I agree with you. It's best to find ways to be successful as self employed and I wish you well on that.

You're welcome 🙂


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You obviously had no idea what I was thinking ;D

or maybe you did and just ignored me because apparently I'm an outlier? XD

Does Twitter have a "random" button? When I was active on dA I used the random deviant/deviation link a lot and then went fav hopping.

also we seem to have different ideas of open and closed systems but I tend to think in terms of biology and code in that order x_x