The typical boring Tokyo suburb ....seems we won’t be moving anytime soon

We went to check out a station between our two favorite neighborhoods in Tokyo. We were pretty excited about the idea of living close to both of them, as expressed in a recent post,To move or not to move - Finding the best of Tokyo. Before checking out the landlords place, I decided to walk there. It took about 35 minutes.

As I walked through the park, I realized it wasn’t all that full of greenery, more of a bunch of sports fields and playgrounds on the edge of a tiny stream with a few trees around it. “Well, whatever, a few trees are better than none” I thought.

As I got closer to the station, I started to think “this sure looks like the boonies, it must be a minor station, that’s ok, maybe more local.”

I got closer...

“Pretty hard to imagine that this is just a 30 minute walk from my neighborhood...”

FFA8AAC3B6354676B927D86E99141172.jpeg

It looked just like the deep suburbs, the places Tokyoites call “countryside”. (Everything looks like countryside to those who grew up thinking of Tokyo as “the city”. But this was Tokyo!

Eesh!

When I got to the station, I went across the tracks to see is the other side was more interesting, but it was less interesting.

To be fair, even a boring station in Japan would be fun as hell to a newcomer to Tokyo, and is beyond convenient. Everything you need is anywhere to be found and there are even a nice variety of restaurants. My standards are incredibly high, some might say. But actually I only require one thing, a sense of community and somewhere to connect with it.

I got the sense that if there was a sense of community in the neighborhood, and there probably was, it was hard to connect with and probably not nearly as open-minded as the stationed that lined the tracks to the north or south.

This here was a commuter pocket conveniently located near the center of the city. To start a business here with the sufficient resources and connections and support....may make some sense...maybe I could help draw some of the awesomeness of the nearby areas.

...but to live here....it would be a major downgrade from where I live right now. The most important thing to me is a feeling of friendliness among neighbors. It’s hard enough to find in Tokyo, but I have it. It won’t be worth the crappy park nearby or a sightless bigger room.

When I got back to my station, I immediately ran into two friends and we made plans to meet for lunch this week. Just feeling the warmth for them made me regret wanting to leave this neighborhood. Perhaps if we moved to my old neighborhood which also has many friends, but otherwise, I don’t want to give this up for something worse.

So we decided to give up on moving for the time being and deal with our tiny tiny apartment until late summer or early autumn when we will reasses.

Before we move we want to improve our work situation, get to know our roommates better, get to know our neighborhood more, and also connect with my old neighborhood to explore the possibility of opening our small business there in the future. Living in one of the coolest neighborhoods and working in the other sounds pretty good 😃. We may move to that neighborhood after all, but not under such desperate conditions where we’d have to forfeit all our fiat savings and even risk digging into crypto.

I think there is plenty were can do here, and spring is just around the corner. It’s going to be a different town and I think we will have a great few months even if we stay where we are.

I’m working on the release of my novel, more vlogging off Hive (to bring more people to my work, to 3speak and to Natural Medicine) and may even get back to my music soon.

Life is good, even in a tiny box 😂

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

I'm also getting much more involved with Natural Medicine, Hoping to help them connect and reward autonomous and conscious communities around the world.

Consider buying the LOTUS token at leofinance.io 's LeoDex or posting at naturalmedicine.io where you can browse posts about healthy lifestyles, spirituality, farming, yoga, psychedelics, healing techniques and more. All your posts will automatically appear at the Natural Medicine community at Hive and you can earn LOTUS and HIVE.

Help us spread the word by liking and sharing posts by Natural Medicine on Twitter and Instagram

ErqYbnvU0AMeaO_.jfif

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Coming in March

Sort:  

Congratulations @selfhelp4trolls! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Tour Update - Communities

I believe that the feeling of home, however you conceive it, (although for me, home is where you feel loved and comfortable), is what should prevail when we want to live in a place. A beautiful neighborhood or a bigger and more comfortable apartment is worth nothing, if we are going to be alone and disconnected, if we are going to feel like we are on another planet. It is very smart to take a walk through the new environment before making a decision as serious as a move, I want you to get that ideal place where you are totally happy. Greetings and blessings.

Creo que la sensación de hogar, sea como fuese que la concibas, (aunque para mí hogar, es en donde te sientes querido y cómodo), es lo que debe prevalecer cuando queremos vivir en un sitio. De nada vale un hermoso vecindario o un apartamento más grande y cómodo, si vamos a estar solos y desconectados, si nos vamos a sentir como en otro planeta. Es muy inteligente esto de darse un paseo por el entorno nuevo antes de tomar una decisión tan seria como lo es una mudanza, deseo que consigas ese sitio ideal en el que seas totalmente feliz. Saludos y bendiciones.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

We gave up on that neighborhood very quickly. We need some sense of connections, the nature isn’t even real nature so it’s not worth it.

We are thinking about waiting a few months to move, I’m thinking about starting my school earlier than planned, but I need to consider this pandemic situation first...


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

How sad to hear that nature is not even real nature, it must be somewhat shocking to experience a "dietary" nature so to speak. I hope you find a place that meets all of your expectations and that you can call home. On the other hand, it seems prudent and intelligent that you analyze all the factors well. The pandemic has profoundly changed all productive and relational schemes, so it is something that we must always consider before undertaking any activity or project. A big greeting, I hope everything goes well.

And this is why you should always walk places before making a moving decision XD

I guess that's slightly difficult to do sometimes if it's an overseas or interstate move x_x

You definitely want an upgrade not a sidegrade or a downgrade, no real point then.

“No sidegrades” is my motto! So many sidegrade traps out there


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io