Education and Discipline in 3 cultures - Untangled Knots podcast # 4.1 ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ

in Cross Culture โ€ข 2 years ago

โ–ถ๏ธ Watch on 3Speak


Once again Ching Yi, @josediccus and I compare some aspects of the cultures we grew up in (Hong Kong, Nigeria and USA respectively). the first half eas fun and lighthearted but the second half got pretty heavy with some very different ideas about discipline, but we still manage to get along and enjoy hearing each ithers perspectives as usual.

This is part 1/2

both participants declined beneficiary rewards but you can show then some love:

@josediccus is on hive of course and Ching Yi has yet to join but on instagram she is @chingyion and @missyellow_inwhite


โ–ถ๏ธ 3Speak

Sort: ย 

This was a long one. I've had similar Discussion with some Pakistans. It's usually thrilling to see how things are so different in different cultures.

Funny enough, when you take a deeper look, you will still notice the similarities. I also know bits about the Koreans school style.

Thanks for watching bro, I've learnt a lot myself. The world isn't a small place like the internet will imply. There are still unique things we'd never learn even by searching the internet.

EXACTLY... One of such things for me will always be the misconception I had about Pakistans. The headlines made me believe that nothing good is happening there but when I got to have personal discussion with a whole lot of them, I discovered that these are very adorable humans.

I like what all of you are doing. I'm patiently waiting for you and @selfhelp4trolls to drag Ching Yi into Hive. Haha

I told her people are waiting for her to join ๐Ÿ˜. She's been talking about it for 3 years already but she got into NFTs and other stuff and hasn't started. I love my IRL friends but not all of them would fit Hive very well, I think she would.

Hahah... She needs to get in and also share her thoughts here. She speaks with so much respect and genuine consideration for those she is discussion with. She will do well as a writer

I think the main reason she hasnโ€™t come is that she doesnโ€™t write in English ๐Ÿ˜

Haha.. she is not alone. If she can speak that well in English, she can choose to write in her language, use translator to finish up the work and then manually read through it to detect some errors.

But, we can wait till she is ready. ALWAYS nice to watch the discussion - A healthy discussion.

Thatโ€™s awesome! I feel like this is what the internet is made for, fun conversations where we all learn. I hope it was interesting. Part 2 was hard for me because I donโ€™t like to disagree but with these two disagreeing never turns aggressive or passive aggressive. We still had fun.

Yeah. I get that aspect of the conversation. Disagreeing doesn't always look clean. It looks ugly when you are talking with people who are not exactly interested in communication.

But here, you have two fabulous individuals who are ready to discuss and also listen to another person's point of view. That's what made this whole discussion a joy to witness.

Ching Yi's A very lovable co-guest and it was a beautiful session. I think it was great to talk about life in the different cultures. It's also great to learn about so the diversity when it comes to discipline in different continents and other parts of the world. This is purely cross cultural and I feel that we can do this again and again. Life in Japan isn't so complex, but this can be really different in China, for people who are interested in learning about the uniqueness in the lives of other people in other continents, I think this is the real deal. Thanks for being an awesome host.

@tipu curate

โค๏ธ. Thanks bro, it's always nice talking with either or both of you.

Life in Japan is also really complex but the complexities are really different from other countries. It's said that japan is a country full of contradictions, even locals believe that but I think the energy is just opposite from most of the world so we canโ€™t understand it from the same perspective. Itโ€™s a very peaceful place but also very restrictive. I donโ€™t talk about it too much because it gets so much attention but maybe my perspective is unique. Eventually Iโ€™d like to find some Japanese guests but most are too humble or self deprecating be on camera or not into speaking about โ€œdeepโ€ topics and many are just too shy or not fluent at English.

In all honesty, I really enjoyed the second part of this convo, where you stop talking about school and start talking about money and changing countries and the conversation eventually becomes almost philosophic.

As a fellow velo / philosoraptor I dig this kind of talk!

Congratulations @selfhelp4trolls! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022

Congratulations @selfhelp4trolls! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022
Loading...