[Eng-Esp] Travel story: Temporary Hostel / Cuento de viaje: Albergue Transitorio

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)
Hello Hive Cross Culture!

This is my first post in this community, I have been following it recently and was wondering what content would be interesting to share here.

¡Hola Hive Cross Culture!
Esta es mi primera publicación en esta comunidad, la he estado siguiendo desde hace poco y me preguntaba qué contenido sería interesante compartir aquí.

Those who follow me know that my main theme at Hive is travel, so rummaging through my archives I came across a piece I wrote when I first went to Argentina and toured the city of Buenos Aires.

Los que me siguen saben que mi tema principal en Hive son los viajes, entonces hurgando un poco en mis archivos me encontré con un escrito que hice cuando fui por primera vez a Argentina y recorrí la ciudad de Buenos Aires.

We all have an anecdote with expressions from other countries that we think we understand, in this case although in my country Venezuela as in Argentina we speak Spanish, the meanings of certain words or expressions are sometimes very different in each Latin American country, not having nothing to do with what we suppose it to be, sometimes putting us in embarrassing or funny situations hahaha, this is what the story I share below is about:

Todos tenemos alguna anécdota con expresiones de otros países que creemos entender, en este caso aunque en mi país Venezuela al igual que en Argentina hablamos español, los significados de ciertas palabras o expresiones a veces suelen ser muy diferentes en cada país de Latinoamérica, no teniendo nada que ver con lo que suponemos que es, poniéndonos a veces en situaciones vergonzosas o divertidas jajaja, de esto se trata la historia que les comparto a continuación:

Temporary Hostel / Albergue Transitorio

And that ... what will it be? I had seen that sign about three times on various streets in Buenos Aires, but I still hadn't asked about its meaning. It said: "Temporary Hostel".

Y eso... ¿qué será? Había visto ese letrero como tres veces por varias calles de Buenos Aires, pero aún no preguntaba por su significado. Decía: "Albergue Transitorio".

image.png

Source / Fuente

My mind associated it with a place where they probably kept the corpses before burying them, I don't know why that occurred to me, very strange. It will be because those buildings had the face of serious business. Then I forgot.

Mi mente lo asoció a un sitio donde probablemente guardaban los cadáveres antes de enterrarlos, no sé por qué se me ocurrió eso, extrañísimo. Será porque esas edificaciones tenían cara de asuntos serios. Luego se me olvidó.

The day my mother and I left Buenos Aires with a "remis" (that's what they call the taxi service that is ordered by phone) to the Ezeiza airport to return to Caracas, I saw the sign again on another street: "Temporary Hostel", I immediately asked the taxi driver.

El día que mi mamá y yo nos fuimos de Buenos Aires con un "remis" (así le dicen al servicio de taxis que se piden por teléfono) hacia el aeropuerto de Ezeiza para regresar a Caracas, volví a ver el letrero en otra calle: "Albergue Transitorio", enseguida le pregunté al taxista.

  • Sir, what is a Temporary Hostel?
    The taxi driver, glancing at me in the rear view mirror, took a while to respond.
  • Uh ... well, you see, that's a place where people stay and pay by the hour, you know, for couples.
    My mom looked at me mischievously and embarrassedly, I almost burst out laughing.
  • Aaaaaah, that is, a motel! In Venezuela it is called like this.
  • Sure, that's it, you see?
  • Señor, ¿qué es un Albergue Transitorio?
    El taxista, mientras me echaba un vistazo por el espejo retrovisor, tardó un poco en responder.
  • Eh... bueno, verás, ese es un sitio en donde la gente se queda y paga por horas, sabés, para parejas.
    Mi mamá me miró con picardía y vergüenza, yo casi estallo en carcajadas.
  • ¡Aaaaaah, es decir, un motel! Allá en Venezuela se le dice así.
  • Claro, es eso, ¿viste?

... And it's that if one doesn't ask ... how do you learn?

...Y es que si uno no pregunta... ¿cómo aprende?



THANK YOU FOR READING! / ¡GRACIAS POR LEER!