Guerilla release of my first novel!

in Cross Culture3 years ago

I had the brilliant idea today to release my first novel as a series of mini-books, or novella or zines, or whatever you'd like to call them. I think this format fits both me and my target audience of ADHD misfits much better than a full 180+ page novel.

I have had the first 40% of the novel finished for a while and the massive task of finishing it is a bit overwhelming. I think that splitting it up into parts will make it much more manageable to me. I also think my target audience has some things in common with me, and a 200 page book is a lot less of a pull than a series of five 30 page novella's.

So that means I can release the first part VERY soon.

I'm going to try for the end of the month. End of March the latest.

All I need to do is edit it a bit, fill it out 4 or 5 pages where some more depth could benefit the story and then add the artwork and register at draft2digital.com, and then poof, I'm a published author.

Part 2 is already almost finished but will need some heavy editing, and I'd like to finish most of part 3 before I release it, but it will be easy to finish by the end of the summer, or maybe even before the summer starts.

This story (5 parts) will likely be the first of 3 stories with a similar theme and title. The serialization will help me to manage such a massive task of writing 3 books, which is way too intimidatingly for me because I want these books to be as awesome as they can be.

I've already enlisted my buddy @vincentnijman for the artwork of the first part and probably the other 4+ parts of the first story. :-D I can't wait to collaborate with him on this.

Now I don't have to feel bad about playing video games again. The main reason why I hadn't played games for 15 years is because I wanted to make sure I didn't slack off with my novels and my music, but now I think I've figured out a way to balance the two.

I've also been studying a lot more Japanese recently and I've been thinking about a secret plan which could involve a bunch of other hivesters, and possibly bringing them to Japan but that's a long way away so I'll keep it secret for now.

Oh and you can catch a sneak peak of a few of my stories over at patreon.com/ipluseverything

pexelsfilmbros848740.jpg

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

I'm also getting much more involved with Natural Medicine, Hoping to help them connect and reward autonomous and conscious communities around the world.

Consider buying the LOTUS token at leofinance.io 's LeoDex or posting at naturalmedicine.io where you can browse posts about healthy lifestyles, spirituality, farming, yoga, psychedelics, healing techniques and more. All your posts will automatically appear at the Natural Medicine community at Hive and you can earn LOTUS and HIVE.

Help us spread the word by liking and sharing posts by Natural Medicine on Twitter and Instagram

ErqYbnvU0AMeaO_.jfif

Sort:  

Oh man - a collab between you two sounds amazing. Can't wait to read your book - can't wait til you are both proper published authors!

BTW I send you a voice message on your alt Fbook account not sure if you got it. It was kinda ages ago but still relevant.

Ahhh sorry! I was locked up for a few days focused on this book and work and then the book. I’ll check it today after class ❤️!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

The wait will be worth it :<)

Just so you know, reading chunky novels is something I am perfectly capable of doing (sometimes in one sitting) if I find the book interesting XD

although if it's particularly cerebral I may not be able to do it in one sitting

Glad you were able to figure out a balance and find a way of getting this book done as well as doing everything else you want:D

Oh no. And you are my target target target audience, so maybe they aren’t as ADHD as I thought lol

I'm the type can focus to the exclusion of all else for long and often unhealthy lengths of time on something I'm interested in and find it pretty much impossible to care about something I have no interest in XD

The last thing is what will usually bring up the classic adhd symptoms of easy distractability etc as anything and everything is infinitely more interesting than the thing we're being forced to do XD

So you don't have the same issue as me, being interested in too many things at the same time and not wanting to choose one?

I had that problem for ages. Then I developed an obsession which kind of solved it but now I have an obsession XD

We are so alike!

Sounds like a fun project.

Where have you been! Cross Culture misses you :-p


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

So cool! I didn't know, you were a writer! I'll check out your stories :-)
Are they going to be printed books or just e-books?
Another exciting journey :-)

thanks! I think some places that I will upload the e-book will offer some print-on-demand services, i will try it out and see how it looks


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Looking forward to this collab too. I really needed something exciting like this! To the moon and beyond!🚀 ⭐️

my favorite dino


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

And you're my fav gorilla guerilla

You are one of those guys that is currently living their best life while doing what they enjoy doing and that's what l'm planning for myself too. It's a pity that Nigerian government are trying to make it harder for us to operate on Crypto but, we will still do whatever we can Towards being on a path of success.

This book that you have been working on would surely be a fascinating one to read especially if you make it as informal as you always sound in your videos.

I have been conducting alot of research since over the weekend and it turns out that getting something worthwhile to do abroad is just as hard as expected. I will be hanging around to see how your secret plan will be unraveled

GoodLuck Buddy ✅

I just have a lot of things I want to do, half of which require nothing but effort so I am constantly trying to balance everything and jumping between them 😂

I really hope people in Nigeria can come together and stop the crypto ban because crypto is the one sure way to bring up the African continent and I’m really excited about the prospect of that. I think Africa and South America could possibly succeed where the rest of the world has failed if the people can lead the way.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

There's indeed great content in the Natural Medicine community; I've enjoyed some articles there.

Looking forward to that launch of your books; it looks promising the way you've described it. All the best to you and success! 💪

I forgot to say what the book is about! oh no! hahaha And yeah, NM is full of wonderful wonderful people. I can't wait to bring some more IRL friends there


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yeah I know what you mean...
Looking forward to more great content 💪

Wow, I love this, you are a unique content writer with inspiration that is amazing

Like @ryivhnn , I'm also perfectly capable to read long books/ chunky novels. I just usually read several of them at the same time ( not literally but you get the point )

Now I'm imagining you with a book in each hand and foot using your tongue to turn the pages

hahaha
that would make for some nice art!

Go Cinvent, draw :D

I will, as fast as my legs tentacles can carry me ;<)

That's more or less how I read haha


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

your book? wow! have I missed posts about what it is, and what it tells?

It's about a homeless man and a supernatural force 😃

ooh, I like this theme.Supernatural is my topic;) I'm waiting)