Studying Language more effectively - Study blog (30 days of Indonesian - Day 25)

in Cross Culture4 years ago

After 25 days of this language study experiment to see how much I could learn with one hour a day, I’ve come to realize that while gamification is a really nice part of studying and can keep me motivated and give me some useful things to study plus good practice, it is hardly what I should be spending most of my study time on.

aerialphotographyofcity2126396.jpg

pexels

Rather than spending 15-30 minutes on it, I’m thinking of spending 10-20 minutes on it and then spending some more time taking notes and memorizing phrases. I will use duolingo to find things I want to practice and take notes while I use it. Then the next day I’ll review the same topic and the notes I took.

From there I’ll write a blog and go talk to Indonesian friends to practice.

I spent too much time trying to learn as many verbs and adjectives as possible and found that I didn’t learn so much that I could use immediately.

I also reviewed way too many things at once and tried too hard to pile on new words and vocab so that I couldn’t really use anything. This would have been a really good pace if I had studied 2-4 hours a day and right now I’d be speaking really well already but I only have an hour a day t study on average so I need to adjust and slow down a bit

I’ve also found a new app that I think I like. It’s called Mondly and you may have heard of it.

It’s organized a bit more like a phrase book And focuses a bit less in grammar which is not ideal, but since I’m taking notes on grammar anyway and just using these apps to find phrases, it may be better for my study method.

In any case, it’s nice to use two apps, one for initial study and one for review, because with one app I just move too quickly.

I've got to milk these apps for everything their worth and rushing through them is not the way to do that.


Here are my notes for the day...

Grammar

This is my ......

Ini adalahsaudara laki lakisaya
saudara perempuan
anak lakilakikalian
orange tuakamu
adikdia
dia adalahkepomakansaya
Vocab

0 - nol
100 - ratu
1000 - ribu
1,000,000 - juta
Sunday - Minggu
Monday - Senin
Tuesday - Selasa
Wednesday - Rabu
Thursday - Kamis
Friday - Jumat
Saturday - Sabtu

Expressions

baik baik saja - Very well
Tolong - Please
Kabar kamu gimana - and you?
Bagus sekal - very nice

Tomorrow's review pattern

Mereka ke bank di hari kamis (They go to the bank on thursday)

Bank tidak buku di hari sabtu (The bank is not open on Saturday)

Sort:  

I love it ♥
Go native!!

Ahhh it's so hard to balance though, I'm also doing vlogs and podcasts and music and working on my health. And work and work and work

But thanks for using the community. I'm gonna switch languages soon and hopefully bring in some more people like you

한국어로 하면 재미있을 거예요. If you do it in Korean it will be fun.

Mukimuki manmansu makes me want to learn Korean, so far that’s it. I have had good Korean friends but The k pop and old fashioned stuff kind of turns me off

Music and culture are important when learning a language. Is this what you mean by Mukimuki manmansu? I don't think you can learn much Korean from them, just vocabulary. They don't use many full sentences but I love them.

I don't see much like this, but its here. A lot of Koreans don't like kpop. It used to be around that time (2013) that I would play a popular video in class and everyone would scream in delight. Today I will get half the kids saying, "turn it off". They would prefer "real stuff" like independent stuff like Mukimuki than BTS.

I think you wanted buka? :)

I work between two apps as well, but my other one is Memrise and I don't pick up grammar the flashcard way. Hoping I've got enough grammar to just need words now x_x

I am still trying to perfect this method. I wanna find a way to become effectively conversation in 30 hours of study. I think it's possible

Good luck with your language learning, it will surely open more doors.

Curated and reblogged by @ASEAN.Hive on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community.
⋆ ᴀ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ғᴏᴏᴅ, ᴛʀᴀᴠᴇʟ, ᴘʜᴏᴛᴏɢʀᴀᴘʜʏ, ᴘᴏʟɪᴛɪᴄs, ᴀʀᴛ, ᴍᴏᴠɪᴇ ʀᴇᴠɪᴇᴡs & ᴍᴏʀᴇ
⋆ sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ʜᴇʀᴇ
⋆ ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴏᴜʀ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ