My family's wildlife rescue and home, lost to a fire. 25 of our baby's perished.

in Animals4 years ago

Around 5 years ago my mum and stepdad moved to the country and started a wildlife rescue. Over the years they have slowly built up the property and enclosures. Hundreds of animals come through the doors every year, while many cant be saved a lot are. Beechworth Wildlife Stays was home to over 50 animals, some pets, some rescues, and others still wildlife to be returned to the wild once rehabilitated.

2 months ago late at night a fire tore through the property, likely started from the fireplace in the lounge. It moved quickly and it was devestating. Thankfully my mum and stepdad managed to get out as their bedroom has doors that open to the back deck. They ran to the reptile room and the front of the house to try and get to the animals bu unfortunately of all the animals that lived inside the house, only 1 survived.

burnt house.jpg

I remember the phone call to my stepdad, I woke up to a message on my phone from a family friend asking me to ring him. I'll never forget his voice after I asked "is everything alright" a quiet reply, "the house burnt down last night, we lost everything including Iluka and Bella"
Iluka is our family labrador, Bella is my pet cat who had been living there for a few months.
I couldnt believe it, me and Lydia raced over to see them.
Worst fears confirmed, over 25 animals had died. The only ones spared where the wallabies who live outdoors and the barn animals, and one snake. Black Betty. My stepdad managed to grab her from her case before the fire took over the room.

These are the babies who lost their lives, in no particular order.

Iluka.jpg

Iluka 8 year old labrador. was meant to be a guide dog but failed her medical and stayed with us. She was the sweetest most gentle dog in the world, wouldnt hurt a butterfly. You were such a good dog Iluka and you lived a spoilt life just how you deserved. We will never forget you.

Bellatrix.jpg

Bellatrix 6 year old cat. We found her living in a park, skinny and pregnant she had been dumped by someone, left to fend for herself. She came to live with me and gave me memories I'll never forget. I loved snuggling in bed with you and the way you used to get crazy. You were there for me when I was all alone and had no one else, Im so sorry I couldn't protect you.

iluka and bella.jpg

Cuddle together in heaven now sweethearts.

3 baby crocodiles.png

The 3 baby freshwater crocodiles that had just come to start their life with us. You were so cute and I'm sorry your time was cut so short.

Mr prickles.jpg

Mr. Prickles was a Bearded dragon that had lived with us as long as I can remember, probably about 8 years or so. He was a bit of a bully and had to be housed alone but he was always a hit with the kids and never aggressive to people.

bluey.jpg

Bluey, Blue tongue lizard, we had 2 of them, always a cool animal and will miss seeing you guys around.

froggy.jpg

2 Green tree frogs, it's not like you really get super close to a frog but we had you around for a long time and you are awesome creatures. Im sorry you went the way you did.

Rocket.jpg

Rocket. Sulphur Crested Cockatoo, not a wild boy but a sweet pet. You hadn't been around for long but you were a funny boy with your dancing and singing. I'll remember your silly antics. One of the few animals whos body was recovered and able to be buried. R.I.P Rocket, clever boy.

Sheldon.jpg

Sheldon. Eastern long neck turtle. Sheldon had only recently been brought inside along with the other 2 turtles we had as winter is too cold for them outside. If only it happened a few weeks earlier you could of been spared big boy. Rest easy.

Stumpy boy.jpg

Stumpy. Shingleback lizard. I'll miss you a lot stumpy boy. You've been with us for years and you were so placid. It was nice to get you out and you lived a pretty long happy life.

Along with the pictured animals the others who lost their lives include.

Banjo. Carpet python, a sweet gentle fairly young snake. good with kids and good to handle.

Sarge. Stinsons Python, also a sweet and very attractive little snake, only just recovered from a bad respiratory infection you were doing well buddy, im sorry.

Kylo. Black headed monitor. A very shy but equally beautiful creature I always felt bad he had lived in captivity. He was terrified of people but would of died if released. I wish you were born wild buddy.

Bill and George. 2 eastern long neck turtles who were a lot smaller than sheldon and had their own tank. cute creatures ill miss.

Penelope. Bearded Dragon. a rescue I got from Melbourne and brought up. She had a deformity on her jaw that gave her a cute underbite and she was a very sweet lizard. Happy to sit on your shirt and just chill out with you. R.I.P

Stick insects. a family of Spiny leaf insects wunfortunately perished too :(

Tarantulas. a pair of tarantulas were also lost, I never liked spiders but nothing deserves to go that way.

I'll feel terrible if I forgot to mention anyone but it has been a rough few months, me and my partner also lost our pet dog due to a completely unforseen medical condition, he was only 3 and it was very sudden and unfair. I plan on doing a post just for him one day but it has been hard enough to write this I dont know If I can.

Slowly they are rebuilding and we still take rescue animals but often move them on quickly. Sometimes they come to me in Wangaratta for a short time until they can go back. It has been hard and so unfair to my mum and stepdad who have worked incredibly hard over the years, but they will get it up and going again, continue to help our native animals and home unwanted pets.

Thank you for reading and hug your own animals extra tight tonight. You never know when they might be taken away...

Sort:  

F**k. That was a hard blow. Hang in there mate!

Feels weird adding a "heart" to this when I don't love it at all DX I read this early this morning when working on hauling myself out of bed and it still feels like a gut punch and I'm not even directly involved, I feel so bad for all of you I can't even figure out the words.

it sucked pretty bad :( things are going better now and their bungalow survived so they have a roof over their heads at least but only thing mum really cared about was her animals so been hard.

Congratulations @bigdizzle91! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update

Congratulations @bigdizzle91! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!