You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update, Let's Talk

in Threespeak4 years ago

I would like to add an observation based on my friends recent activities on fb/insta, but I am pretty sure that we all have seen people like this. I am talking about certain kind of tourists on vacation in Africa or Asia, taking photos for the local poor people, considering it a "must to see, do & have" during their trip and not paying any attention for those issues during the whole year of their regular life. Women gathering algae in Zanzibar or skinny, half-starved children in Kongo aren't museum exhibits, ffs! I see it as some kind of white supremacy, mentally masturbating around global and social inequalities. Now those people are actively showing their support (which is obviously important!), but I will probably go nuts, if after lockdown, all of those "photos from last holidays" will thoughtlessly avalanche my social media again. Black Live Matters all the time, not only during the protest.