Body Cam - West Loop Singletrack @ Concord Park in East Tennessee

in Threespeak3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This is the singletrack I told you about a few weeks ago that led straight to a knee pad investment when I smacked my knee so hard I couldn't walk. Haven't felt my leg hit the frame since! Easily a top three purchase of 2021, right up there with eyeglasses.

I was unable to pre-ride the 2 mile loop so what you see in this 6n1/2 minute video, I was seeing for the first time too. That well crafted, question mark shaped bridge, for example, wasn't expecting that. When I'm grabbing a handful of brakes, it's cuz I didn't know there was a turn there.

Gorgeous location—spring's arrived. They call this part of America the mecca of mountain biking. Encompassed by Fort Loudoun Lake, the singletrack at West Loop's a narrow trail wide enough for one bicycle to weave through and around the forest at Concord Park.

80319EFA-70B6-4B9D-B5E9-6D2408812D61.jpeg

It's quite a bit more technical than the last one. West Loop has as many downhills as uphills, they're just not very lengthy and I like going fast. The track has several narrow sections lined with boulders and sharp turns.

New camera angle—helmet cams require twice the edit time and they're a little too high for viewing. They're ideal for many situations just not so much mountain biking. @nonameslefttouse suggested I check out the big shots online. I did. They're all running cameras at chest level so I got a camera mount that attaches to my backpack strap—good call dude!

I'm recording with a GoPro, editing in iMovie, riding an Australian designed Auric One.1 by Fuji and I think that about covers it. Let me know what you think. :play:

FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

When I was a kid, I used to do crazy stuff like this on my BMX. I hadn't ever really considered it as an adult, until now.

I think I saw an old bike beside the road the other day...

I don't know about side of the road bikes. Kinda probably not really at all.

It's so fun. Don't get me wrong, what you don't see are the uphills and those ain't no joke, several require breaks. I just edit those parts out and show you the really, really, really fun stuff that you should do... soon.

I'm a fix-it guy, today's side-of-the-road bike is tomorrow's rocket-powered amphibious two-wheeled hang glider. I think that was the most hyphens I've put in a single sentence.

You remind me of a music group : Suicidal Tendencies 😅 (thoses were big sharp rocks!). Cool video with the fowardings parts...Ouch for your knee!

I've seen'em! Twice! First listened to them when I was about 12. "I saw your mommy and your mommy's dead!"

Wassup Pegarissimo? How you doin? How's Canada?

Ahah, nice!! I didn't get the chance to see them live, I think I still remember a few riffs on the guitar 😄.

It's always great in Canada, Eastern side is just swell 🤪 Yeah, we have that covid stuff going around, but it ain't that bad, the only thing that really sucks are the carfew and restriction crap (be home by 8 o'clock...or 9H30 depending if there was a full moon on a Tuesday or other excuse like that). They should be lifted away soon...eventually. But take that away and you just want to live here ! 😉 People are friendly, great views...gotta say that our winters really sucks! 😁

Curfews. I've heard of so many, I got a friend in Israel, France, and England. They've each been assigned curfew's and now you too. Such a weird time.

Depending where you are in this country, the rules change on every street corner. Fortunately the state we're in now, until planes are back in the air, never missed a beat. Tennessee gives zero fucks, they've been wide open the whole time; salons, gyms, restaurants, etc, never missed a beat.

Ps—it was released in 93 so I wasn't 12. Woulda been 17.

Cool vid

So flat...ive never seen a track that flat!

Your map showed 177m of height, but then I realised that is feet...

Don't go gettin me twisted for someone that knows what meters and kilometers are. I'm from that American public schooling hypocrisy. Not only is your verbiage different than mine but don't expect me to know what ocean surrounds New Zealand or what your country flag is either!

I found a couple straight down type tracks to film before we leave this area. Just gotta wait til Pura will drive me up and down. She gets kinda pissed each time I ask her which means she's 'almost' there. Thanks for checkin this one out Frot, I appreciate you keeping an eye on me.

It's funny, I just mentioned the same thing to @riverflows about our antiquated form of measurement.
I do believe we are the only country that doesn't use the metric system.
I don't know if you read the blog by the lady mentioned above about the hike she took with her parents. Inspirational for someone of my age. If you have missed it, I recommend you stop by, @dandays.

Headed there now. Don't even get me goin about we're the only country to....

While we're both on, I've got a ? to ask you. Never mind I'll save the ? for another day.
😎😎

It's time to farm, talk later buddy!

Deal! I'm glad you returned cuz I didn't thank you for the reblog and I feel about this big when I do that. Have a great day sir.

'Thank you'

You're welcome and many thanks when you do the same!

very nice! a couple of those trees looked pretty close to knicking your handlebars on that track. That's always my favorite thing to do on single tracks in this area.

When the weather cooperates, I can't get enough of it. Really takes its toll though, doesn't matter how many hours you put in the gym, these rolling hills kick your ass.

Thanks for checkin this one out, I plan on doing more. Weather permitting.

Oh yeah, I know that feeling. It's a great feeling too, isn't it? The burning lungs and burning legs? I really need to get back at it regularly this spring up here.

There you go, you inspired me - congrats

My pleasure. Keep me posted.

I forget to acknowledge the trees. That's my biggest concern all the time. Not rocks or turns or even cliffs, I'm concerned about cliffs, sure. But clipping a tree at a good speed has potential to hurt real bad. Say no to trees, wait!! That's not what I meant.

Seems you had cool & fun bicycles riding on a sunny day :)) Nice :)

Only great if that counts!

Good morning TrangBaby, what's the good word? Thanks for checkin this one out, I really enjoy that stuff. Got any plans today?

Good evening from here. Riding bicycles is definitely fantastic. I love it too but been busy lately to do it again !!

Guess @dandays 😃 That little chick just came back from camping 😄

image.png

Going to pin on pineapple but not about this place :) That's my plan now :))

You're such an outdoorsy champion. I like camping I just prefer it in an RV with energy and running water. I could learn from you.

Lol you keep giving new titles 🤩.... "outdoorsy champion".
I love camping in an RV so much more convenient and comfortable.
Sleeping on the grass is suck, I get backache now 😬 ..!!

Yeah dude! And I'm inching closer to that bike shop myself.

Since you think my ideas are good, your next mission is to buy one of those drones to follow you around. Or is that pushing it?

What are you waiting for?

You got some pretty good mountain bike terrain around you? When the weather's nice, I can't get enough of it. Shoot me a shot when you get it.

And then bounce back n forth between cameras... That's a great idea actually. Now knock it off!!!

No need to bounce back and forth. Just spend thousands and thousands of dollars on a good one that tracks you and avoids obstacles all on it's own. Set it and forget it.

This is probably bad advice.

That's going overboard. But still...

Set and go? I didn't even know they did that. If it'll carry my backpack, too, or at least the waters, don't tell me!

I saw one of those things today. Had no idea they exited before you said something.

Happened to catch these three dudes on one-wheeled things that looked like possibly a Fatboy front tire but it was designed for Battlebots. Metal housing n shit all around the top of the tire. Spoke wheels even.

Talked to'em for a second. Dude held the thing like a frisbee and gave it a little toss straight up. That was it, impressive. I didn't know they did that shit. He said there's a beacon on his one-wheeled thing and the drone stays 'x' programmable distance from it at all times.

Was cool watching them take off and that thing followed like Twilight Zone shit.

Fascinating things they are indeed. I'd say probably not foolproof, yet. Our flying cars of the future will most likely follow a track laid out on the ground. Very similar to these drones. We just tell them where to go. You heard it here first.

It was pretty cool dude! It goes fast downhill! Shit, that was some uninspired comment haha.

The weather was nice! ouch, it doesn't get better, I am talking about weather now 😄

One thing I am happy about, it's the knee pads!

If I didn't know any better I'd think you're about as into mountain biking as I am UFC.

The length was nice though, ouch it doesn't get better, only thing worse woulda been a pair of dudes in underwear rolling around in a controlled environment cupcaking each other's nuts for three 5-minute rounds.

One thing I am happy about, it's the knee pads!

Ok now you're just beating mean. Knee "pad," not pads... you need two legs to wear two knee pads.

If I didn't know any better I'd think you're about as into mountain biking as I am UFC.

This made me laugh way more than expected haha.

only thing worse woulda been a pair of dudes in underwear rolling around in a controlled environment cupcaking each other's nuts for three 5-minute rounds.

Now you got me rolling on the ground (out of shame).

Ok now you're just beating mean. Knee "pad," not pads... you need two legs to wear two knee pads.

Tomatoes, TOMATO 😁

He mounted his opponent. Top position. Ground n pound.

Submission

STOP IT hahahah

I actually love mountain biking, I used to do ski tracks in summer, and I can promise we will mountain bike together one day @dandays

Forgive my American geography schooling but what mountain ranges are in France? Swiss Alps don't connect do they? Yeah whatever I could've asked google but I want anyone tuned in to realize this is the product of American public schooling, 1.5 years college and 5 years University.

Mountain biking in particular, are you aware of trails similar to these near you? How close?

Can't threaten me with a good time.

That is what I see from my farm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pyrenees

it's like the Lord of The Rings, but better because there's no orcs.

Oh dude. Gorgeous!

Eh, I assume that's where the Great Pyrenees dogs were originally bred, yay? Nay?

that's it dude

I made it and I'm still alive. I was leaning and ducking the chole time, shit I almost fell off my chair.
Spring may be in full bloom, my question is, do you think you'll still be alive come summer?

Some cool shadows of you riding and of the trees. From a distance, many of the tree shadows look like trees that have fallen across the singletrack, until get right upon them.
You should definitely have one of those beepers you wear that sound an alarm to let someone know, I'VE FALLEN OFF OF A CLIFF AND I CAN'T GET UP.

You got a little air at the 4:15 mark, you may not want to let the wife see that, sounds like a good place to do a little editing.

At the 6:34 mark, I see that you got a little tired of pedaling and kicked the electric motor on the bike into super drive.

Great day for a nice mellow bike ride in the woods.

STAY SAFE MY FRIEND, and the next time you go out you may want to suit up in football gear.

I'm glad you liked it! About jumping.. I swear I never mean to do that! If there's a way around them, I'm going around and when I actually catch air, totally unintentional! Means I didn't know the thing was there and there wasn't a go-around option.

My biggest concern, though, always: Trees. Just barely clipping one of those trees at that speed is gonna hurt more than I'm willing to anticipate.

Oh man! Dudes at the bike shop were talking about "Sharps Ridge" and how I gotta go there. Pura and I scoped it out last week and the things is Straight Down. So straight down I need a driver to pick me up at the bottom.

This is me patiently waiting for Pura to sacrifice half a day for my selfish pleasures

I'm glad you enjoy these videos sir cuz I really enjoy putting them together and there's plenty more where this came from. 👍🏿 Thank you Bob!

Nice going mate...Good to see that handsome mug of yours didn't get rearranged on a tree.

I'm glad you liked it. Thank you.

That's always my first concern, clipping my handlebars on a tree. People will say it's not an 'if' it's a 'when' so I just try to stay prepared. Could you imagine the slightest handlebar rub against that stationery object at that speed? Worse than ouch for sure.

Yeah, I think it'd be a little more than an ouchy moment.

Hey dude, are Fuji's quite a bit less there than here?

Fuji's?

The bike I'm riding is a Fuji, designed and manufactured in Australia. I assumed they'd be abundant and affordable where you're at. Guess not.

Hmm, never heard of them actually but I'm not a pushbike guy so that's not too surprising.

Nice :)

I'm glad you liked it. Is that dog deaf?

Whoa there @dandays, you had me bobbing weaving the whole ride. Not too much room for error on that trail. I swear I was waiting for you hit a rock and go flying into one of those near, very nearby trees.
Must be exhilarating though.
Glad you wore your helmet.😁

Helmet, gloves, knee pads, check!

Thanks for checking this out farm-mom I'm glad you liked it. I can't get enough of the stuff. What I edit out are the uphills cuz as much of a Cadillac that bike is downhill, it's equally a tank uphill!

Watch's guys up to today? Anything exciting? What do you think of that Serpent series?

!LUV
!WINE
!BEER
for you

You're the best eii!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 48000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 49000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Sorry, you're out of LUV tokens to be sent today. Try tomorrow. (Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet allows you to freely give 3 per day.)


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Great job! Discover our new community Bikeworld. We would love to have you there, posting your bike related content and grow the biking community on Hive. Also cross posts are welcome. See you there.

Deal. If you don't mind a minor suggestion, drop us a link when you promote a community. You know how we are about having to find the joint ourselves and then we get sidetracked and forget what we were sayin... 👍🏿

Thanks for the tip. Is certainly better so that everyone can also come to the page right away.
https://ecency.com/created/hive-189901
!BEER

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 24 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to hive-engine.com