My Favorite Orthodox Book: The Triads by St. Gregory Palamas

in Threespeak2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


In this video I discuss my favorite Orthodox book, "The Triads," by Saint Gregory Palamas. It is the best defense of true Christian Mysticism that I have ever read. St. Gregory brings up many topics in the course of this book and the topics are extremely relevant to current theological discussions. Topics include, natural law/theology, grace, the essence/energy distinction, the Light of Transfiguration, creation, an Orthodox epistemology and how we can experience God. There are a few translations in English, but in this video I discuss the full translation by Fr. Peter Chamberas.

By it here:
https://newfoundpublishing.com/book/the-triads-in-defense-of-those-who-practice-sacred-quietude/


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

So I looked into the quote that I mentioned on pg. 271. "Is this not precisely the doctrine of the Latins, for which they were ejected from within our Church, namely, that it is not the grace but the very Holy Spirit himself who is both sent from the Son and poured out through the Son?" This quote was left out of the Classics of Western Spirituality abridged version printed by Paulist Press. I highly suggest getting the full translation since important quotes and doctrines like these are left out.