Memento Mori Genesis Breyer P-Orridge

in Threespeak4 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Douglas Rushkoff Remembers Genesis Breyer P-Orridge (1950-2020)

"I met Genesis in the early ’90s in the Bay Area. He needed a lift to Timothy Leary’s house in Beverly Hills, and I needed an interview for a book I was writing about viral media. We spent about six hours in the car together, trying to impress one another with our strangest thoughts while Gen’s two daughters fought in the back seat.

I had known of Gen through his music and reputation alone, and was frankly a little afraid to meet him. If the “coyote” boys I knew in the Temple of Psychick Youth were modeling themselves after him, I could only imagine how fierce Gen might be. But when I pulled into the parking garage where we supposed to meet, and saw the diminutive Genesis P-Orridge standing there with his two gorgeous young daughters and all their suitcases, my perception of him changed entirely.

And over the next eight hours, so did my perception of world.

...

Gen may have been the greatest enactor of anomaly in our lifetime. But no matter how much Genesis Breyer P-Orridge mutated over the decades, Gen’s kind, sweet, and vulnerable essence remained a constant living reminder that staying soft and playful no matter what, is the greatest possible threat to the status quo.

I love you, GenGen... "

This is an audio clip Douglas Rushkoff on his Team Human Podcast talking about his friend Genesis Breyer P-Orridge


▶️ 3Speak

gengen.png

Sort:  

omg! hahahah the beginning is crazy. So you mashup videos and voice and music?

DNA is an Alien Virus! yea I did the audio and video editing, sampling old psychic tv videos and I have this friend who did the artwork, thats the tv head I use.

👋 Hi @satorid, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community