Book Review: The Fishermen

in Threespeak4 years ago

❣ Book~Review ❣⁣⁣
IMG_20200730_115613_908.jpg
Photo Taken By Me

The Fishermen is a tale of four brothers, lyrically narrated by one among them Ben, who tells the story of his family and the incidents, that unfolds when his Dad was transferred to a faraway location for work and him and his brothers having an encounter with a madman who's vision shaped their lives in ways you won't imagine.⁣⁣

The theme cuts across family expectation/aspirations, parenting, brotherhood, loss, love, unity, masculinity, mental illness, western civilization, politics, christianity believe, tradition and corruption.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
I was hooked from the start of this novel. The more I dig in, the more it unfolds.⁣⁣
At some point I felt, it shouldn't have been a book up to 300 pages.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
I just couldn't help my emotions and how I felt about the lives of the characters. At some point, I had to pause because of the shock I had.⁣⁣
The catastrophes followed was heartdrenching.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
The author style of writing was okay, not all that good for me because, I had to really pay attention due to the metaphors and should I say vocabulary💆🏾.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
I couldn't stop feeling sorry for the turn out of events and for some of the characters too.⁣⁣
For Ike I wished he didn't absorbed all that was said about the vision. I felt like reaching out to him to talk him out.⁣⁣

At the end of this read, I felt it's a book I hope to see more parents and guidance read.⁣
PSX_20200709_104421.jpg
Photo Taken By Me


Rating: 4/5 🌟⁣