🌎🌎🌎 Cross Culture Question: What is something you love about the country you grew up in? 🌎🌎🌎

in Abundance Tribe β€’ 4 years ago
Authored by @whatamidoing

Cross Culture Questions is a chance to get to know more about each other’s culture and dive into the deep topic that is culture, whether it be the culture of a country, a minority, a sub-culture or any collection of people. Hive across Culture is a community for discussing any aspect of any culture, cultural analysis, culture shock, comparison, or any aspects of a culture or country or language. All bilingual posts are welcome too.

We have now partnered up with abundance tribe for Cross Culture Questions. This allows our posts to reach a larger audience and receive larger upvotes and prizes and connect with one of my favorite groups on Hive. I plan on giving away 60-70% of payout to the best answers as tips!

This weeks question:

What is something you love about your country?

Some of us love the country we were born in, others are full of criticisms. Either way it shouldn’t be hard to find one or two things that we really love about the place we were born.
Feel free to give a list of things or to focus on one particular thing that you love about your home country. It can be related to people, customs, behavior, relationships, the deeper the better. If nothing else just share your favorite food, music or clothing, but help us understand as deeply as you can :-D

This should be especially fun for me. I’ve never been anywhere near patriotic, I barely even identify with my passport at all, and spent many years complaining about my home country. But I can think of a few things that I really love about it too. It’ll be nice to finally throw some positivity into how I feel about the place I was born.

  • Please post your submissions in the Hive Cross Culture! community.
  • A few nice answers will receive 10-20 Hive tip!
  • Best answers will be curated in the next Culture Question post!
  • Share your honest opinion but try to be respectful of others too!
  • Deadline: 9/4

And feel free to join us in the Hive Cross Culture Discord

pexelsporapakapichodilok346696.jpg
pexels

Sort: Β 

Do I leave a link to my response?

https://peakd.com/hive-181017/@minismallholding/reminiscing-british-history

Oddly enough, I enjoyed having a chance to think of the things I love about where I grew up. Thank you for this.

Fantastic!

hello people. I brought my article for you to read and see it! https://peakd.com/hive-181017/@lafeedekalarka/the-wild-eng-esp

Here's my entry and I enjoy writing this one. I also read some amazing entries too!

https://peakd.com/hive-181017/@macchiata/multiculturalism

Putting few words about my country does excites me....I tried to share few glimpses that simply allow India to be a different country.

https://peakd.com/hive-181017/@steemflow/it-s-not-a-place-to-visit-its-a-place-to-experince-life-my-india

The idea of having 'my country"? It's a strange one for those of us who took the red pill long ago.

Hope to see you share this on twitter @whatamIdoing - so I can help to get some eyes on it and some engagement flowing for you. Feel free to tag @BreugelMarike and @HiveLift in your tweet so I see it.

i know exactly what you mean, but these are still entities with a lot of weight and all of us have been impacted by them to some degree. I see the whole concept of countries changing very soon, is Hive not a country? But there is still so much to discuss around the cultures of nation states. Eventually i want to ask questions that are more about our communities etc, but I'd like to get everyone familiar with each other first!

Good idea!

I like this question, even though I don't think I would live in Ireland again. there is a lot I love about the country xxx

I'd love to hear about it. And I think we feel the same πŸ˜†

Southern barbecue cooking. I've never been anywhere in the world that makes baby back ribs as well. I miss it every time ive ever traveled.

Wish I had a chance to enjoy it. Regional pride always makes more sense to me than national pride. I don't really prefer to be around people from my home state but when I meet them overseas we can talk about each town and we have a shared understanding, I don't always even like them, but it's nostalgic.

I totally feel what you're saying. When i travel thoughn i actually find i get along better with foreigners. Maybe its both our hearts trying to extend to each other and find common ground.

As for food. Been around the world and nobody does bbq like i find in the south of the usa. But part of the joy of travel is enjoying other cultures culinary arts. Like i found i adore aussie home cooking.

Yes, I see some triggers going on and I appreciate this question, @whatamidoing
I was born in Romania and though I physically left the country 17 years ago, I have no other passport or nationality. I appreciate the questions because I struggle a lot with love for my country. The moment I left, I was so grateful to start living more freely, in my mind, and also thanks to the various languages and cultures I adopted and have incorporated. Yet in every place I went to, and every person I met, I could find a spot inside of me that was born in the place I am from. And those subtle streams connect me to the vast world and the numerous people I have been meeting.
I think Romanians are collectively dealing with a lot of trauma, yet somewhere inside of me, and therefore somewhere inside of others as well, there is a hope that we can shift this and be part of something more beautiful.
So I think what I am saying is that what I like about my country is the hope it has planted in my heart and that is what has been a trusted guide throughout my life.

Oh we will definitely have a chance to go into some of the trauma of our home countries with some future question if you wish to go into it. Talking about this kind of heavy thing in a way that heals and connects is one thing I hope to do in this community.

It's great that you've been able to overcome it though.

The longer I live overseas the more I feel like where we were born and to whom we were born is a kind of karma that allows us to thread together something unique to us as individuals.

The longer I'm away from the country I was born, the more I realize I can be a bridge πŸ˜€

I really hope to hear more from you!

I'm not a contest kind of guy but I think I'm gonna give this one a try. I won't promise to not make it into a Hypersensitivosaurus story though ;>)

We have now partnered up with abundance tribe for Cross Culture Questions. This allows our posts to reach a larger audience and receive larger upvotes and prizes and connect with one of my favorite groups on Hive. I plan on giving away 60-70% of payout to the best answers as tips!

Hurray on that!✨

A HyperZen (is that how we abbreviate?) story sounds great! hope it answers the question!

Awesome and yes, it sure does!

I grew up in the US and one thing I love about the US is the religious freedom, and the (historical) welcoming of all people into USA (America), the cornerstone of the country, which we are fighting to protect in this election.

I hope America is once again open and loving, as it should be!

Also, I love the diversity.

On the other end, We have huge cultural brainwashing towards consumerism, and repression of human sexuality for generations that has lead to a sickness, but I think this will pass like all things!!

I always wish we embraced the diversity a bit more. I love how my friends from high school were from India and Russia and Korea but what I regret is how shy they were to share their customs with me. I felt like most of them led double lives. The Russians were a little more open because there were 3 of them in our group.

But at least I was introduced to the world through my classmates at a public school.

It took me a while, but I just submitted my story Eggheads- the story of a hangry dinosaur to the community. Enjoy!✨