Rescued Feral Kitten - Update #3

in Abundance Tribe4 years ago

After working with the little girl for about two weeks, I felt she was ready to be labeled 'adoptable' and put into the care of an animal Rescue Organization that will find her a suitable home.

It wasn't easy on me emotionally because I have become so attached to the cute little thing.

Over the course of two weeks, she learned to use the litter box, let me bath her with a face cloth and found her favorite spot to sleep in my house.

The kitten went from being skittish, to allowing me to pick her up in my arms and give her kisses on the head. I wormed her fat little belly and administered flea medication between her shoulder blades.

She'll be in good, experienced hands though from here on out. They are going to provide all the necessary Vet exams, shots, etc. for which I already gave them a donation towards.

I've told them that if she needs additional medical care, that I would help pay the costs. The rescue group is a no kill organization, and I was invited to check on her at any time by phone or in person.

They're also good at vetting prospective adopters, so that she'll stand a better chance of finding a safe, loving and permanent home. My other options would have been Craigslist or Social Media groups (Not the best choices)

Well...she's gone now... What more can I say? I'd have kept her with me, but there are reasons I couldn't. Her stray cat surrogate dad is still hanging around my yard and back porch though (Stripes) I might need to get the rescue organization to help him too. In the meanwhile, he'll be safe and well fed here, with me.

Tough guys are not supposed to cry over silly little things like this, but my eyes tear up a bit thinking about the kitten and how she'll fare in the future...I guess I'm not that tough anymore...??? 'Old' must have softened me.

See ya again sometime, my friends. Stay well.

Ciao

Be Kind to Homeless Animals


@AngryMan

Founder- Free Speech Community

(https://peakd.com/c/hive-168088/created)


Images: Mine
Sort:  

Glad you made great progress with her and she will have a new loving owner soon.

Thank you. I'm hoping for a quick medical clearance by the Vet and adoption.

You are an angel. You have done your bit for the little one.
Parting is never easy. But, if you can't keep her, then it is the right thing to do. Maybe she will find a good household to call home. It is up to the cat's karma now. :-)

Thank you for the kind words @quotes-haven they are very much appreciated.

You are welcome. Have a great Sunday! :-)

Enjoy your day too...

Big Strong Men Cry - and that's what makes them so HOT - my partner is ex-military hard core biker and when he cries, my heart melts--- it's great what you are doing!!!

Strong Men Cry - and that's what makes them so HOT

Hmmmmmmnnnnnnnn…!!! I think I'll cry more often, in that case @in2itiveart 😪

I caught the part about the surrogate male is around but maybe I missed something previously. 🤔 Why didn't you just keep it, keep her bowl full and let'er be on permanent rodent control?

The surrogate father hangs out here, plus I have three other strays who visit, that I feed on a regular basis and have one of three pet cats still alive that rescued years ago.

My plans are to move along from here in the near future with perhaps international travel, so I don't want to take on the responsibility of another pet right now. Besides...I'll be dead probably before that little one, leaving her as an orphan again.