Uh-Oh...Another Cat Shows Up at my Door - (A Kitten This Time)

in Abundance Tribe4 years ago

Okay...I know the photo is not a very good one, but I had to sneak it through the glass and it was also getting dark outside. You should have seen the shot before I improved it a bit with the photo editor... (Maybe not)

That's a kitten laying next to my stray cat friend Stripes on the back porch. I'll try to get some better pics of the little one after it becomes less skittish.

He...or...she, has been out there all day. After I opened the back door this morning, I spotted the poor thing laying on a cushion. It looked up at me with BIG wide eyes, but didn't run until I began to pour some dry cat food into a bowl. I guess it never heard that sound before.

Fortunately, it didn't run too far and came back to investigate after I went back into the house and closed the door.

That thing was HUNGRY...it didn't stop eating until the food was all gone; and there was enough food down for an adult size cat. I was a bit worried the poor thing would explode...!!!

Stripes usually is waiting nearby in the morning for me to put out food, yet he wasn't there as usual, till a bit later.

It was funny...he didn't notice the kitten on the cushion when he first came up the steps. When I stepped out to place another bowl of food down, the kitten ran off the porch and so did Stripes😲startled...

As Stripes came back to eat, so did the little kitten and I was surprised to see Stripes let the little guy stick his head in the bowl and eat alongside him.

I wish I had the camera at the ready to take some shots, but I didn't.

After they ate, the kitten was rubbing up against Stripes, over and over again. Stripes didn't seem to mind the attention at first, but eventually had enough head bumping and gave the kitten a swat.

Poor thing backed off a short distance and sat there pouting.

When I next checked...they were laying next to each other and I grabbed the camera.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I suspect that Stripes might be the little ones father and think I know where that kitten came from.

Not long ago, a stray had given birth to a litter across the way from me under the porch of a neighboring house. I didn't know until a new tenant next to the place told me and showed me a short video clip of three kittens scurrying around at play with the mother close at hand.

Within a few days, the house they were living under became suddenly occupied by a non-cat liking tenant and the feline family soon vanished.

When I spotted them again, the family of four was down to being a family of three. A little white baby was missing, leaving two grey striped ones.

I've not see them for awhile, then last night as I was coming home, I spotted the mother prancing along with ONE baby following behind.

They both looked so skinny. I felt badly that another sibling may not have made it, and the one which was left, along with mom, were not getting enough to eat.

I put food out on the front porch, hoping they'd come back and find it. There's so many strays around here though, that I don't know who ate the food.

This morning...??? There was the kitten on my back porch, all alone...

Something may have happened to the mother, or she abandoned her last baby.

The mother was a grey striped cat, just like the kitten and Stripes (The father?) I did see Stripes hanging out by that house they were born at in the past.

This might be the mother below A pic I took about a year ago???

100_2678.JPG

It's almost one o'clock in the morning and the kitten is sleeping on the cushion out back. I'll let it rest and give it some more food tomorrow...I already fed it a third time today😺and left a big bowl of water.

I'm keeping my cat inside for now, because I don't know if she'll accept the stranger or not. She probably will, because it's a baby, but if the mother shows up...there will be a problem.

She's been up on the windowsill more than usual peering out. Maybe I'll let her in the yard tomorrow after the kitten and Stripes have eaten.

Have a happy, my friends... See ya soon.

Ciao


@AngryMan

Founder- Free Speech Community

(https://peakd.com/c/hive-168088/created)


Images: Mine
Sort:  

@angryman cat's chronicles.

Yeah, I guess I'm a cat-magnet like another reader said?

I hope the little kitten and stripes make it. Life is hard enough on humans yet we have it easy it seems compared to once loved pets becoming feral and having to fend for themselves.

Thank you @bashadow... Yes, cats seem to adapt better than dogs, but in a City there are more dangers to cope with and learn to overcome.