Covid19, Old People & A Special Markets in Thailand

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


We have almost no pensions in Thailand, unless you have been police, military, a teacher or something similar. And so Thailand's oldies get by relying on their children for financial support, selling fruit, vending at markets, babysitting and selling their experience & skillls.

Covid 19 hit them hard, in that not only did their children (who send them money) have no income or unemployment benefits either, but the intense quarantine Phase 4 meant no people over the age of 70 were actually allowed to go out in public (and neither were children under the age of 5). How did it work? The local communities have been FABULOUS and made sure the grandmas & grandpas, old aunties and uncles have been cared for & visited. There have been food distributions daily and teams of local goverment care workers visiting homes and making sure that isolated, vulnerable people have had what they need from day to day.

Thailand is getting back on its economic feet, after 6 months of intense hardship. Almost no Covid 19, and people are doing what they can to help people who have done it hard. Part of that initiative was a special cultural market yesterday at Chiang Mai's Old Cultural Center, where all the vendors were senior citizens invited to sell their wares for the weekend, with no cost for their participation.

Thrilled to say the community came out in full force to celebrate them, and buy what they could.

It is in stark contrast to my 84 year old mother in a beige and economically comfotable retirement village in Australia, who is isolated, alone and speaks to no one most days. She said to me with some bitterness in her voice that in Australia (and much of the so-called first world) old people are ignored and dispensable. She relates the Covid stats to me every day when I call and makes a point of telling me how many people died in Aged Care facilities. That doesn't happen here - the old people were protected. The average age of Covid cases (3,466 only out of a total of 70 millon people) in Thailand is actually 37 years of age and only 58 people have died.

I chose Thailand for many reasons and no, I would not choose to live back in Australia - or the US, Canada or New Zealand - again. Cos I have seen what it is when the whole community values age, wisdom and experience, and it's a beautiful thing that you can still find in so many wonderful places in the world. Money isn't everything.

Thailand is preparing to allow limited tourism from countries which are relatively Covid free, and we look forward to that.

The vibe at the Seniors Market? Very chill, upbeat and optimistic.


HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account



Fair Trade, Sustainable, Cruelty Free. Shipping Worldwide..png

Come check out my Pure Thai Naturals online store

TwitterTiny100x100.png
Find me on Twitter: Pure Thai Naturals @BreugelMarike & @HiveLift

▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I wonder if the advent of homes for the elderly has actually served to take them out of sight and out of mind. I feel like we used to have much more concern and respect for the elderly when I was a child. I grew up in a different environment to many, but I still encountered many my own age who believed the same. We never wanted any off our family to go into homes, but my maternal grandmother insisted on it, despite my mum offering to make space for her in our house. She quickly went downhill there and we could do nothing, but watch. I don't want that for my parents. My hope is that they'll remain independent to the end, because I know that's what they'd really want, but if it comes to it, I'll do my best to mage sure they don't end up in a home.

There is definitely a culture now where younger adults have the attitude that they don't owe their elder's anything. Also something of a blame culture that we're in this mess today because of the boomers.

I'm SURE out of sight, out of mind is a huge factor. But so are expectations. I talk about the joys of gandma with kids but my now Australian mother retaliats with stories of elder abuse. She has never spent any time alone with my daughter in 16 years and doesn't seem to want to.

I think you're right too about blaming the boomers and repressed anger.

It's complex stuff for sure. What I DO knw is that the Asian way seems to work much better, and that we ALL have to learn to do almost everythign better and dfferent, cos the way the world works now is unsustainable.

Appreciating your always insightful comments so much - even when I have been snowed under and slow to respond.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Such good news of good effort there.

It was loads of fun and yes, community stepping up IS special!

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello Marike,
Thank you for sharing this... yes, true quality of life is most important!

Have a beautiful day =D

Appreciating to see you here and sorry for SLOW respnse LOL .... been pretty frantic trying to rebbuild my biz with zero cashflow as we prepare for the return of a tiny dribble of tourists.

Hope all is well with you!!

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thailand is getting back on its economic feet

Happy to be reading this

Looking forward to start my new practice in the coming week of buying $10 Hive every Monday when I power up.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.