My Great Social Media Reset

in Abundance Tribe • 3 years ago (edited)

What I love most about minimalism is the space it creates in my head, heart, and home.

More space was recently made in my online life, because of super-clarity about where I'm to be, and where I'm not to be.

Thanks to Instagram's recently updated Terms of Use, I got the final incentive I needed to begin my permanent release of that particular digital entanglement. No more fence-straddling. And bravo and kudos to you pioneers who have already done this purge.

My experience with Facebook products reminds me of a bad, long-term relationship you know you should leave, but you just don't know how to get out of. It starts GREAT. So many "memories." And special "groups" that feel cozy and like-minded. It becomes an automatic part of many life events. It gets INGRAINED and ENMESHED, and it can easily CREEP into many aspects of one's private, professional, and creative life. And then one day after several years you look up, and...

sothirsty.gif

Despite this thirst for affirmation from the pack, or thirst to know what the pack is doing, I cannot erase from my knowing that FACEBOOK RALLIED EARLY BELIEF IN THE HELLISH CHURCH OF CORONAVIRUS.

covid1984.gif

Earlier this year when people were trying to understand what was going on, Facebook and their fact-checkers GREATLY DISTORTED REALITY by constantly suppressing early, valid critique of CV-19 that came from credentialed medical professionals.

Facebook's policies helped advance mass confusion until quite a lot of the population came to zealously believe in the veracity of the virus. And those who continue to doubt its realness are increasingly put in positions of being an outlaw, a pariah, a threat to public health... and, eventually, a candidate for a not-so-summery CAMP.

Facebook did not do this alone, of course. They worked seamlessly with mainstream media to misshape people's thoughts and ideas as they were first forming. They obstructed and strangled counter-narratives, and that helped CEMENT THE IGNORANCE that now steals quality and freedom of life. It's unpardonable.

After December 20th, 2020 I will no longer be sharing the light of my mind in that foul place that helps disfigure reality as we once knew it.

One way I've always seen @kennyskitchen, is as a tech evangelist who generously promotes The Good, and cautions against The Bad. I've seen him kick Facebook to the curb a number of times over the years, (and just this week, he did the full, hard delete of his profile). His positive example has been inspiring me for quite awhile. Thank you, brother, for your shine!

Even though I never thoroughly enjoyed my experience on it (because I can sense Facebook's tentacled UI, grasping at my mind and mood), I still felt communicatively reliant/dependent upon it. But I learned that:

(1) Facebook is replaceable, because there are worthy alternatives aligned with my values; and

(2) Facebook is great practice for weaning from and resisting other unacceptable offers from Babylon/The Matrix.

Facebook is a top-tier accomplice in the most destructive scam ever pulled on humanity. Such a place doesn't deserve to hold my media, ideas, or presence. So, I will speak volumes with my absence.

Thanks for letting me express, and allocate, this anger.

I hope you've been well.

missedyou.gif


P.S. My recommended alternative is https://flote.app. I know and trust its founders, Erin and Kingsley Edwards, and their righteous use of tech. Free speech is yours, and you can even keep your stuff: http://x3g0s.mjt.lu/nl2/x3g0s/x7w0.html?

Sort:  

Hello @erikaharris! Congrats on that great achievement and welcome to the "I don't support big TECH Censorship club".
It is really important that people understand that, to be able to express one self freely in this digital mediums, there can be no "control of content by the channel" of someones opinion.
So for this censorship masked off politic correctness, to fade people have to leave the mediums that are promoting it.
This kind of self censoring that most people allow, just to keep posting some frivolous content, to vote on the biased information that is allowed there, only contributes to the propagation of censorship and loss of fundamental freedoms, in times, like the ones we are leaving, were we are faced with this gigantic propaganda machine, willfully distorting peoples perception of reality, to disconnect from and to stop supporting this big tech giants it a fundamental step in order to correct the course we now travel.
Thank you! stay strong stand in truth.

Thank you for getting it perfectly, @tracer-paulo. I didn't start out thinking about how culpable they are.

At first, I was just turned off reading about their facial recognition plans, A.I. research, and mention of 'law enforcement' in the Terms.

Then that's when I saw it slowly replay in my mind... from March onward, all the stunning videos by brave and wise doctors, letting us know how manageable it is, and the harm of masks and isolation, and the uptick in suicide, and all that grounding truth was silenced. It is unforgivable.

Thanks for your strength, and kind welcome.

HIVE!D

Great work to be done here too.

Mathew 619.png

Thanks for reposting, @frankbacon. :-) Yes, am excited for that work!