Back to the roots

in Abundance Tribe4 years ago

And so, after living three years with my pride being one of my main guides, Life has finally led me back to my roots. I am back here at my mother's house in the countryside, a place that is my grandparent's legacy... a place that has a thousand stories and then some.

It's nice to have healed my relationship with my mother and to be able to feel comfortable around her. Of course, there are things we don't agree on like any other human relationship out there, however, I feel there is a lot of respect and comprehension with each other right now.

IMG_20200801_202726_683.jpg

My mom and sister (not blood-related, but sister nonetheless).

Since I'm going to be staying here for a while until I have received some cash that's on it's way so I can build my own place to live, I've figured I might as well make the best of it. I've been enjoying going out to Nature and helping out with the different things that are needed here.

For example I built a little fence out of discarded willow and ñire branches so that the dogs don't keep digging where she has her roses growing (it seems a lot of moms have a weird obsession with roses 🤣).


IMG_20200727_151658_408.jpg

Obvious first step was gathering branches.

IMG_20200727_151650_182.jpg

After cutting a sharp bottom I hammered them into the soil.

IMG_20200727_151622_986.jpg


IMG_20200728_170357_097.jpg

Finally, I wove smaller branches to the structure.

IMG_20200728_170420_355.jpg

Took some adjustments but it worked out alright and fulfilled its purpose.

IMG_20200729_155646_342.jpg


I went to the heights of a hill with a friend and her brother to get some wood for the house, which is something that I'm not exactly proud of as I'm more a fan of stoves that work with small branches. My mother, however, has a big house that requires a lot of wood to keep warm and since I'm living here I might as well pull my own weight.

Despite not liking the whole chainsaw and getting resources through fossil fuels, it was a huge therapy to go out into Nature and work hard to obtain the resources we're currently using in the house. We had a nice bud and worked silently inside and outside ourselves.

My friend knows me very well and at some point, I'm sure she felt how I was relieving many of the pains that were affecting me lately, so it was funny to hear her say: "how's the therapy going? One hour of cutting wood, a thousand of psychoanalysis".

IMG20200801WA0014.jpg

IMG20200801WA0013.jpg


IMG20200801WA0012.jpg

Nice to find some winter mushrooms, a rare thing!

IMG20200801WA0009.jpg

Received some lessons on using the chainsaw. It's a weird thing to use this kind of tool as on one side I find them to symbolize our disconnection to Earth, they are invasive, fossil fueled and noisy (I'm aware computers are also damaging Earth but they are allowing us to become more conscious and informed as well. Everything has it's Ying and Yang).

I had an experience that motivated me to learn and it happened while trying to build a bench our of stumps with old-fashioned tools. After hours of work and little progress, my uncle came along with his chainsaw and did it in a few minutes. While I don't see myself using a chainsaw all the time, I do think some jobs are worth accelerating a bit to have time for other areas of Life.


IMG_20200731_141912_420.jpg

Lovely bird houses along the way.

IMG_20200731_141925_279.jpg


The following pics are near the place where I once lived for a while as a hermit in a bushcraft shelter:

IMG_20200727_153134_974.jpg

IMG_20200727_153848_447.jpg

IMG_20200801_143745_877.jpg

Walking around the place I found my old machete which I thought was a gonner! It was a very nice surprise since it was a gift from my mother and it's pretty handy as you can see.

IMG_20200801_143452_924.jpg


IMG_20200801_143553_466.jpg


Anyway, not much more to say for today. More posts on the way, but taking my time to live each day at a time. Hope you're all doing great and feeling blessed today :)

Sort:  

How lovely to spend time with your family out in nature - the best psychotherapy!!!!!! We're out chainsawing tomorrow in the reserve for the fire - wood shortage here, everyone's at home in Winter!!!! Brrr..... You look happy and look like you've been having fun. I'm loving working out on the land. It's so beautiful. I know what you mean about roses - but I'm starting to understand what an amazing MEDICINE they are and keep begging people for petals in flower season!!!!!!

So do you know how to operate the chainsaw?? I'm still having a hard time turning it on hahaha.

I've heard about the medicinal properties of roses but haven't really looked into it, so I guess I got some reading to do 🤓

I am happy, despite the pains and doubts that find their way into my heart every now and then, I keep reminding myself to keep opening up and stay grateful.

Big hug, love ya

No bloody way would I choose to use a chainsaw - I'd kill myself!!!!!

That's Jamie's jjob.

Rose is good heart medicine!

I feel the same. Happy on the whole, but still niggling doubhts and fears.

I love you too xx

It's great that you and your mom are getting along better now. I often forget that is winter on your side of the globe. :)

Nature really is an amazing therapist.

Nature really is an amazing therapist.

Absolutely!

I guess you're in summer now? Nice to hear from you :)

Yes, full on summer mode! :) It has been very hot these days.

Nice to read and see all of this, buddy. I'm happy to hear that you reconnected with your mom. I managed to do so, many years ago, after going through a phase ( mainly around puberty ) where I felt we didn't have a good connection at all. Now she and I can talk about everything.

Due to what has happened in our family ( health wise ) in the last 10 to 15 years and due to what is happening in the world these days, I am trying to enjoy every visit I pay, every encounter with a friend, even with 'strangers', just trying to be in the now as much as I can.

Attention is a way of showing love.

And the world can use more of that.

🤗

I am trying to enjoy every visit I pay, every encounter with a friend, even with 'strangers', just trying to be in the now as much as I can.

That's awesome my friend, I'm having a bit of a hard time doing that due to relationship problems but I'm trying hard to stay focused and not get lost in the pain. Thank you for the inspiring words, I'll carry them through the day :)


Congratulations @fenngen!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!