National Garden Day - April 14th

in Abundance Tribe3 years ago (edited)

image.png

The day before taxes are due is Garden Day. A seed is planted and a seed grows. My head hurt and I took a few laps around our school. When I was finished I saw our school principal planting seeds.

I thought it was too late to plant seeds. She said there is never a bad time to plant seeds but now is the best time. She taught students for twenty more years than I have and has some wisdom about life.

We are quick to say it is not the right time or just put it off until later. Or its too late in the season to plant now or wait until Corona 19 is passed. For every seed that is planted there is some kind of harvest.

Sure some will come up deformed or sick, but there is some kind of harvest. The size and value of the fruit is determined by soil conditions, amount of water and amount of sunshine. If those are given then there is always a harvest.

image.png

My school garden is in order but my house garden is still kind of wild. I like it that way. We have a bamboo forest in our back yard and weeds all over the side yard. It's mostly rocky and very humid with not much places to plant. When I do plant then people or animals trample over it.

I'm thinking of starting some herbs on the roof. Maybe If I can convince my boys we can do it together this weekend.

After work I will stop by the store and buy some oregano and rosemary seeds and go nuts.

image.png

There is a lot we can learn from our gardens. For me I learned that although I take care of my school garden well, my home life is a little unkept. Inch by inch and day by day the garden grows, my own kids are influenced day by day by my care. And these days they need a lot more. SO this song by Pete Seeger is my prayer.

Inch by inch, row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
Gonna mulch it deep and low
Gonna make it fertile ground
Inch by inch, row by row
Please bless these seeds I sow
Please keep them safe below
'Til the rain comes tumbling down
Pullin' weeds and pickin' stones
We are made of dreams and bones
Need a place to call my own
'Cause the time is close at hand
Grain for grain, sun and rain
Find my way in nature's chain
Till my body and my brain
Tell the music of the land
Inch by inch, row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
Gonna mulch it deep and low
Gonna make it fertile ground
Plant your rows straight and long
Season with a prayer and song
Mother Earth will make you strong
If you give her loving care
Inch by inch, row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
Gonna mulch it deep and low
Gonna make it fertile ground
Slug by slug, weed by weed
Boy this garden's got me t'd
All the insects come to feed
On my tomato plants
Sunburt face, skinned up knees
The kitchen's chocked with zucchinis
I'm shopping at the A&P's
Next time I get the chance
Old crow watching from a tree
He's got his hungry eye on me
In my garden I'm as free
As that feathered thief up there
Inch by inch, row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
Gonna mulch it deep and low
Gonna make it fertile ground

For a longer and funnier version with more talking from Arlo Guthrie together with Peter Seeger check out this live performance. If you get through this song you will learn a thing or two about education.