TEACH THEM YOUNG!

in Abundance Tribe11 months ago

The real world doesn't have to be as intimidating as many make it out to be!

There have been a few times lately that we've encountered some decent-sized snapping turtles. Often, I'll catch them and pull the out to show the Little-Peppers. I grew up enjoying wildlife and both Painted Turtles and Snapping Turtles were frequently captured by a juvenile Papa-Pepper back in the day. Recently, I've been letting Monster Truck enjoy capturing some.

Yes, Snapping Turtles can be dangerous, but if you know what you're doing, they are not so dangerous. This guy just turned ten years old, so he's capable of handling some of the smaller ones with proper instruction and supervision. This is one we saw while crossing a low-water bridge. What do you think? Would you jump into the water to grab one of these? Enjoy the photos!

HE CAUGHT IT HIMSELF - PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!

Check out our Etsy shop


Bold

Sort:  

I love this post because it taught me never to underrate what little kids can do if we teach them young , thanks for sharing .
I am @wallay

I have never seen a turtle this big. The ones we found as children were mostly really tiny and coming out of the earth. I am not sure if there were any bodies of water around then that might have encouraged their presence.

It's great you are teaching your 10-year-old how to catch and handle these snapping turtles with supervision. It will help build his courage, so you are doing well.

Wow that's great I hope I had the opportunity to learn all the things I supposed learn as a child.
Meanwhile I learnt from this. Teaching them while they are still young is a key point
Thanks for sharing.

I love it! I often catch myself with an urge to say 'Be Careful!" to my littlest especially and I pull myself back from it, it's their world to explore and learn from! I actually used to work as an arts therapist for people with brain and spinal cord injuries, where many of them had freak accidents and ended up paraplegic, When I was doing that work, I wouldn't let my son climb trees, or cross the road, and I had to pull back big time, I stopped doing the work I was doing in order to balance to my response to my own family adventures. Kudos to you my friend! <3

 11 months ago  Reveal Comment