Bringing the Old-time Survival Skill of Gardening to the Next Generations...

in Abundance Tribe3 years ago

art picture of child kneeling working in a flower bed resized.png

@trucklife-family asked for the @Abundance.Tribe Bi-weekly Question

Given your talents, passions and values. How could you use these resources to serve, to help, to contribute, to the environment, to other living beings and /or to different causes?

Find the details here if you care to respond to this question.

Thank-you @trucklife-family for asking that question!

image.png

I've recently retired from my position as an Educational Associate in the Pre-K "Play and Exploration" program where it was my privilege to have numerous children under my care. My desire for them was to see them grow to their greatest potential. I loved opening new worlds to them and scaffolding them to new levels.

digging in the garden wth Pre-K kids.jpg

Now my focus is on opening the world of gardening to the next generations, giving that old-time survival skill of gardening and growing your own food.

There is that old Chinese proverb about teaching a man to fish - I like to look at it this way:

Give a someone some fresh produce and you feed them for a day
Teach them to garden and grow their own food and you feed them for a lifetime"

With gardening, it is a lifelong skill that can ensure you might never have to know hunger.

In these times with the rising costs of foods and disruption of our distribution systems, accessing fresh organic foods can be difficult for some so this could be a very valuable skill to have.

Not only this but it connects folks to nature and with the amount of time kids are spending in front of screens in cyberspace there is a need to have something to bring them into the natural world.

Something that is not only benefiting them both mentally and physically but it is also benefiting the earth.

By growing your own food there is less packaging, less pollution from transporting those goods, keeps the food scraps out of the landfills for they can be composted. Gardeners use that compost to build the soil creating healthier soils which in turn produces healthier plants giving more nutrients to make for healthier people!

When kids are actually producing fresh fruits and vegetables in their garden they will want to eat more of them and let's face it, food picked fresh from the garden tastes so much better! This in turn has them make healthier food choices and can lead to a healthier food culture.

packing box raised beds - consumer message.jpg

Once kids get some experience working with Mother Nature and being involved in the growing process by caring and nurturing for their plants and reaping the rewards of that, then it is easier to teach them about caring for the environment and seeing that this can have it's rewards too - Healthy Earth - Healthy People!

There are many more benefits to gardening, just do a search on "benefits of gardening" and you'll be amazed!

Got Dirt Gardening For Kids cartoon charaters kids gardening.jpg

To help bring this skill of gardening to the kids I developed a program "Got Dirt? Gardening For Kids" where I get them teaming up with Mother Nature and her superheroes, taking them step by step to create a garden, all the way from planning out their gardens to bringing in the harvest.

The 8 week course consists of 5 modules each with a comic book style lesson, video demonstrations and other resources like workbooks, journals and ebooks.

  • Module 1 Plans on Paper Now Let's Start Making It Real
  • Module 2 Calling on Mother Nature's Super Hero - Soil
  • Module 3 First Green Shoots - Caring and Nurturing For Our Babies
  • Module 4 Harvesting - Bringing in Those Garden Goodies
  • Module 5 It’s a Wrap - Reviewing So It’s OnWards and Upwards

Each week we will have a live (virtual) meet up with the Gardening Grandma (that's me - I want to be that person who, for those who may not have someone, teaches them about gardening)

And for the kids to be able to get together and talk about what's happening in their gardens, and share photos and such, "The Kids Gardening Club" has been set up for them on Discord.

We'll be starting up in April so if you want to join us or find out more
Go to www.TheGardeningGrandma.com/Gardening4Kids/

Top image was from public domain, others are mine or of my creation.

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Excellent program, very good teaching. That is the future, to grow some food, even in a little piece of land.

That's what I'd love to see, more folks taking up gardening for food security and starting the kids young to pick up that skill as it will serve them for their lifetime!

It is true that it is a very valuable and profitable learning experience for your future.

You definitely have a strong sense of purpose, you're passionate and knowledgeable, and have experience with kids - I couldn't think of a better gardening grandma to bring this to the world!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thanks Rivers! I love being "The Gardening Grandma" bringing that survival skill to the kids!

I am glad you will be able to continue to work with kids, even if it's in this way! Perhaps when the covid thing is well behind us, it can return to hands on....

That would be wonderful! I'd love to do some workshops and such.

Very good to get them started at a young age because we humans are creatures of habit. If we were in Canada I'd sign my youngest daughter up for your course.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hey Justin I'd love to have your girls join the course - they could have so much fun!
The course is virtual so you can do it any where and there will be comic book style lessons and video demonstrations so even if their English isn't that good they can still get a lot out of it.
I'm into doing bartering if you are interested DM me

We are of course always pressed for time due to so many circumstancs, but I'm keen to find out a little more. Not sure what I might be able to offer in the way of bartering.....anything in mind?


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hey @justinparke do you do anything in the way of website design?
I have a Wordpress site for my "The Gardening Grandma" site that I have been putting together, but I do struggle with it and could sure use help in that area.

I might be able to help, although I admit it's been a couple of years since I popped into my WordPress and DiviBuilder. I have a lifetime membership for Divi Builder, so I imagine I might be able use it for your site, although I am more accustomed to using it on site's I've set up the hosting. Hmmm...I'll need more details to know how to proceed, but glad to try and help.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I love this @porters, what a wonderful service you are providing, this has to be one of the most important things we can do, grow our own food and maintain a connection with nature. Thank you for this wonderful response xxx

If all schools taught children how to grow food, the world would certainly be a better place!
Thank you for already giving so much to the future generation and I love the online gardening initiative. What a beautiful gift to the world @porters.
Thank you for all you are doing,
xxx