The Gods of Camp

in Abundance Tribe3 years ago (edited)

Sun rises, wind starts. Collect firewood, break sticks. Strike match, tend flame. Cockatoos fan wings, screech, gnaw wood of a dead gum. Sun streams low, trees glow gold. Fingers warm round a mug of hot coffee.

IMG_20201001_131458_774.jpg

Breath in, breath out

Warm water, wash face, trousers, shirt, hang from rope. Wash dishes, make bed, sweep dust from the camper. Soap suds soak into the warming earth. Ants carry crumbs, birds steal crust. Flys begin the days assault on eyes, mouth, skin.

Breath in, breath out

Arms reach to sky, sweep to earth. Read. Doze. Walk through trees. Swim.

DSC02415_1.jpg

Breath in, breath out

Fried tomatoes with salt from the lake. Bread toasted on the burner, hummous, olives.

Breath in, breath out

Walk the ridgeline. Pick paper daisies. Capture on film salt encrusted river debris, a dead grasshopper, a rock, stone, branch.

𝙱𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚝𝚑 𝚒𝚗, 𝚋𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚝𝚑 𝚘𝚞𝚝.

Drink tea, write, meditate. Dream the world into better distance. Prostrate to the gods of camp - the quiet lake spirits and tree sprites you camp beside.

Breath in, breath out

Slice beans, chop potatoes, herbs, greens. Break sticks. Set match to tinder. Drizzle oil in to pan, wait for bubbles.

Breath in, breath out

DSC02496.jpg

Dusk fades, fire licks. Moon rises over whispering treeline. Fire crackles. Stars pop and fizzle.

Breath in, breath out

Breath in, breath out

Breath in, breath out




The One Who is Intimate to All Beings said,

Beloved, your questions require the answers that come

through direct living experience.

The way of experience begins with a breath

such as the breath you are breathing now.

Awakening into the luminous reality

may dawn in the momentary throb

between any two breaths.

The breath flows in and just before it turns

to flow out,

there is a flash of pure joy -

life is renewed.

Awaken into that.

As the breath is released and flows out,

there is a pulse as it turns to flow in.

In that turn, you are empty.

Enter that emptiness as the source of all life.

  • Lorin Roche, The Radiance Sutras, a translation of the Vijnana Bhairava Tantra

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Sort:  

Drink tea, write, meditate. Dream the world into better distance. Prostrate to the gods of camp - the quiet lake spirits and tree sprites you camp beside.

Breath in, breath out...

I Breath...

I'm alive and the journey is still beginning.

Thank you for this mantra.

You are welcome!! Thanks for stopping by!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You are welcome!!!! xxx

Aaaah this was the most beautiful writing to wake up to, thank you - reminds me of what this whole drama is all about: keeping our sacred relationship with Life. Thank you from my soul.

Posted using Dapplr

Oh honey you are SO welcome, and I'm so chuffed you read this upon waking. May your day be connected to all things xx

Ahhhh, a MUCH better day, I see. Loved the format, I could draw pictures in my head from each little fragment...

Oh thanks - I can see it would be an easy to digest post and I'm thrilled that you got something from this! xxx

Wonderful! This is what camping should be all about! Getting back out to life. So much beauty you captured in those few lines. The sun is just coming up over here, and I feel I've already had a glorious day, just by reading your post. :-)

What a compliment! Thanks so much!

Lovely content as always @riverflows.

Thanks - how are YOU! Haven't heard from you in AGES!

I'm good matey. Been busy. Hopefully going to have time soon to get back to blogging more. Hope you're staying healthy, wealthy, and wise. :)

For you, the cool crisp of a spring camp.
For me, the cool crisp of an autumn camp.
And our dance 'round the sun continues, one breath at a time.
I find myself always better for reading your posts, @riverflows ~ breath in and out on a Monday morning is a great start to my week.
We had friends over to camp on our land this weekend and enjoyed the comradery of a warm fire in the evening and the warm rays of the sun cutting through the chill in the air during the day while carving pumpkins.
And our dance continues...

Thanks so much honey. I'm always so grateful when you come back and post on HIVE! I'm so chuffed that you enjoyed my post - stupidly, the text went wonky so I had to redo things, and forgot to add the sutra at the end which was in the first edit. It's so beautiful - do come back and read it if you have a chance.

You just had to go and take an amazing post, and add something to make it better! I love how much pleasure I find in your writings as well as apparently, your edits!

I have been taught that the space between breaths is the physical representation of our connection to sacred space. Within the process of breathing in, or breathing out, we are engaging in life and being part of this physical realm. That space between, where no breath exists, is where we come from and where we return, and our gift of a divine moment between each act of breathing in, breathing out. As there is a balance between being part of the physical and part of the "other" (spiritual, Divine, "godly", non-physical, take your pick), we must participate in both during life on earth. To forsake either is to forsake both ~ for a human to live without reverence for something greater in life as well as sacredness, is the life of a zombie ~ yet to deny oneself all of the physical realm is too surely a death sentence from this plane of existence!

You are inspiring and I am in awe of your poetry!

Connection with God the Father,
Connection with Mother Earth,
Connection with Mother Nature.

We are all one.

Indeed we are, dear @tarot911! and I feel that oneness so deeply in nature the most!

We haven't had the opportunity to go camping for over 2 years. This post makes me miss being able to do things like this so much. I will have to settle for living through your adventures for now, awesome moonrise by the way. I can hear the calming sounds of nature through your post. I'm there!!!!

This post compels me to breathe in, breathe out. And I feel peace. Thank you 🌱