I just planted 32 trees. It's a great feeling!

Hello Hivers!

IMG_0457.jpg

For me there is nothing as fulfilling as planting trees. I have just planted 32 tree seeds that before long will be a living growing thriving jungle all through my garden area. These false pepper trees grow fast and create a wonderful habitat for the birds and other wildlife.

Vegetable wise - I managed to get extra organic bean and pea seeds online at a reasonable price. I have to say that a lot of seed prices have risen greatly so I was lucky to find them at a “normal” price I think.

Of course as much as possible I collect my own seeds from my garden every year but there are always things I want and don’t have to add to the stores I do have.

I am pleased to be on top of my carrot growing this year and am happy tp say I have three crops on the go right now at different stages of growth. I eat so many and do not want to run out. I can remember when they were once a cheap item to buy in the store but that is no longer the case. Organic home grown taste SO much better of course I have made a concerted effort to grow enough and I shall continue sowing more carrot seeds on a monthly basis.

IMG_0492.jpg

Along with the trees , I have also been busy planting various bean seeds. Some will be grown to eat as fresh green beans and others more for the large flat beans within their pods that will be dried as a food source for over winter beans. They are one of my favourite winter foods and am hoping for a bumper crop this year.

IMG_0491.jpg

My Bay Laurel tree is bursting with this seasons new growth of leaves. They are a favourite of mine for both food and medicine. I love the depth of flavour they give to sauces and gravies and could not imagine life without them! My tree is so abundant in leaves every year I always pick bagfuls to send to friends and family as well. So much bigger and better than the small leaves that one buys in the shops.

IMG_0496.jpg

The lemon trees are packed with baby fruits again this season. I have a variety that gives more than one crop a year which I find amazing! I wish all my citrus did that! I would love to have year round oranges and mandarins as well! LOL

IMG_0499.jpg

This years new growth on the grape vines are really bursting with vitality and fresh life!I always love to see these come back to life after their dormant period.
If the crop of grapes is big enough this year I really want to try drying some - homemade raisins and sultanas if such an exciting prospect. Have you ever dried grapes before? If you have and can give me any helpful tips I would love to hear from you.

IMG_0500.jpg

I am determined to store lots of mint for this coming winter as it is such a favourite herb of mine. I LOVE drinking mint tea and add the leaves to salads on a daily basis. It grows so fast now the growing season for it has started again and I can trim off
the tops every other day it seems and find the same regrowth in just a few days.
So I intend to keep trimming every few days and preserve in various ways. Mint jelly is a delicious way to keep it along with an apple vinegar based mint sauce. I don’t so much like storing the plain dried leaves as I don’t feel it is the best way to preserve its fresh flavour.

IMG_0501.jpg

Spinach is a firm favourite of mine. I love how the different varieties give me a year round supply. Round leaves, pointed leaves, gigantic leaves ....all delicious!
I use it daily raw in salads as well as cooking up into a heap of different recipes. It is so versatile!

IMG_0168.jpg

After a slow start, probably because I was trying to jump the gun as they say and not patient enough for the right time to sow , my Jalapeño peppers are now taking off growing their second leaves.

IMG_0448 2.jpg

The strawberries have started growing really fast again. I don’t have one big bed of them but have various pot fulls spread around the garden. The fruits swell to a great size really quickly! They are a favourite ingredient in my breakfast muesli.

IMG_0319.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my garden photos. I hope your garden is healthy and happy.

If you are not yet growing your own food I would urge you to make a start if only small this year. You will be amazed at how rewarding it is to pick a fresh tomato from a plant you personally grew with love and care.And the taste will BLOW YOUR MIND!!!!

Stay Wild xxx

Sort:  

Your spinach looks very fresh! Especially with organic growth that much better ❤️

Thanks yes that spinach is delicious!

Way to GROW SallyBeth, you are bringing #GrowFoodNotLawns to a whole new level!!

Awwww bless you sweetpea! You are way too kind xxxx

Wow! Really impressive! You have so many carrots and herbs!! Your lemon trees are impressive too! The soil there must be really rich. W have rather hard soil with a bit too much acidity. So we grow fruit trees more.

Thank you, no the soil is terrible. I make all my own, organically and grow in raised beds.