Show your beautiful smile!

in Abundance Tribe3 years ago (edited)

Scott-01-med.jpg

Here in semi-rural Round Rock, Texas (outskirts of Austin), at a large Texas chain grocery store called "HEB" it says "Masks required..." on a big sign above the doors.

90% are wearing masks in the parking lot!

I have walked into the store with no mask for over 3 months now. Before that I pretended to be putting a mask on as I was walking past the door Nazis.

In the store now, I usually see one or two people unmasked during the entire excursion. Now! I always smile and say something like, "Thank you for your smile and courage!" Half the time a great conversation ensues. I've been making many new friends this way!

Oh and now I often wear scrubs I bought off Amazon in hopes of contributing some cognitive dissonance. That said, I wonder how many assume I'm vaxxed? No fucking way will I EVER get the jab!

Regarding the rest of the shoppers, the cattle: No one says a word. Sometimes people steer clear and I smile and laugh. Depending on my mood, I feel compassion, amusement, or derision. I let it show.

A side note: at a different big grocery store I rarely go to, Central Market last weekend: an employee I asked where a product was replied, "Isle 11. Oh and please put on a mask. It's mandatory in this store. You can get one over there-" I thanked the Nazi and walked away to continue shopping.

Do not comply! Show your humanity, courage, and beautiful smile!

I celebrate all of you who choose to contribute to a "smile friendly" world! 😍