Building a plant trellis with bamboo reeds

in Abundance Tribe4 years ago

I had the opportunity to harvest some tall bamboo sticks a few years back. One of the things we built with them is a structure for plants to grow up on.

20200724_075622.jpg

Splitting them down the middle we used the reeds for the center and horizontal sections. The bamboo on the vertical outside is whole so it can be driven into the ground.

20200724_075628.jpg

Using a brad gun we attached them with heavy duty staples using the air tool. The power had to be turned down so it did not shoot through the thin bamboo halfs.

20200724_075643.jpg

The backside it's easy to see the halved pieces. They are still real strong many years later.

20200724_075649.jpg

@ibt and I built three of them and I've already had one plant climb up them.

20200724_075656.jpg

I think I'll make some more, they have really helped my rose bush, akebia and soon to be passionflower plant.

20200725_144453.jpg

The climbing type Roses really like having a structure to grow on. Those bamboo trellis structures work great for that use.

20200725_144458.jpg

I think I should leave it in there for the Roses. Seem like the kind that wants constant support.

20200725_144529.jpg

The Akebia vine also has a support structure inside. It's hard to see from the front. But it's in there.

20200725_144537.jpg

From the back the bamboo structure can be seen. I dont think I could remove it even if I wanted to. Its twined through that structure so many times over. Cutting it out would probably kill most of its leaves and stems. It's okay it can stay. I'll just build more.

Sort:  

Bamboo is a versatile.. I should say a "Big Grass" it is used in many ways from skewers to a beautiful house or a resthouse. @solominer :D

Very nice trellis for creeping vegetables and plants. The variety that you used has a thinner body so it is just a lightweight variety.

Sure is, I love building things with it. Maybe one day I can make a structure out of it to rest in. Maybe a primitive structure out in the forest. Yeah I hope it works well for them, I think it will. Hah yeah its thin, just enough for the plants. Nothing heavy duty is needed for vines.

I am just surprised that there is a Bamboo tree/grass in your place @solominer
If you want to use it for a temporary-permanent structure like a simple rest house you have to treat the bamboo wood so that insects won't bore into it.

Yeah we have it in spots around Georgia. Once started it's hard to get rid of. So I tend to find places where its grown out of control and offer to cut some down for free. Then I have building material.

109127456_312867483248511_157341638600416393_n.jpg
Nice work, a very natural looking trellis - it must have been a building day, we built a raised vegetable area today, used a lot of spare wood and screws and came up with this, talk a bout weight x)

Haha nice, yeah making use of old wood in the garden is a good idea. Just make sure its not pressure treated. I have two raised planters and they are holding up, a few years from now they will probably break down but thats fine.

Best of luck with your raised beds, hope the kitty does not turn your raised beds into litter boxes, ive had that problem with mine.

Thank you, no worry of that this wood has been in there as long as I've been alive, and who knows how long before, mind you as you'll know hard wood is surprisingly resiliant if stored right.

Hmm that's a point, it's not Cabie that'll be the problem but the other varmint cats X)

Que bueno, la idea la voy a copiar para hacerlo en mi pequeño jardín de mi casa.

Ah nice, best of luck making your own. They work well for me.

ok, feliz dia

I love to associate with you if you don't mind. I am a farmer too.

Ah sure, glad to have others checking out my garden content. I am a farmer but do this all for fun. I spend alot of time on the computer so its one of my hobbies that get me away from all that tech stuff.

Smile. That's nice. I love to spend a lot of time farming in the garden as well as rearing of animals too. I do rear animals like turkey, chicken ( white ones which are the broilers ) I collected 20 birds but they all died few weeks ago. It was a very sad experience 😫😩. I love to travel too.

Ah nice.. I hope to raise farm animals one day. But I'll need to wait until I can live on a farm.

Hahahaha. Lol 😀. That's true though. Living and staying on the farm is the best so as to care for them well and do more of observation.

Looks good!

thanks alot, they are working well.

:-))

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

good job bro..

Screenshot_20200722-004140.jpg