Modern World and Spirituality - Random Thoughts!

Pixabay

It's gotten pretty boring these days. Things are far from normal due to Covid19. Yesterday, I hung out with my friends and we were dicussing topics ranging from spirituality to who controls the world among other things.

I also watched the movie Joker yesterday. The movie shows you a clear divide between the affluent and the middle to lower class society. The elites only seem to care about increasing their own wealth.

The big pharma seems to be wanting more and more people to consume medication so that they can increase their profits. If we notice in Western countries, almost everybody seems to be on some kind of medication.

It has become a habit for people to consume anti-depression pills.

Depression is a part of human life. We are meant to experience depression and that helps us grow into a stronger person. But no, they want to mask it and be happy all the time. They don't want to learn anything from it.

It's not people's faults. They have been programmed to follow it. That's the sad reality we live in. A lot of things that are recommended by "experts" are actually detrimental to our health.

If given a chance, I would love to live a lifestyle far away from the cities, somewhere in a village growing my own food, maybe selling them to make some money for other household purchases.

I have already reduced a lot of unwanted things from my lifestyle. For example I use organic toothpaste made by a local company instead of the popular ones like colgate, pepsodent etc which contain fluoride, I have a vegetarian diet and have been trying to slowly shift to vegan, I try as much as possible to eat home cooked food.

Food made in oven is not at all helpful as microwaving removes all the essential nutrients from our food. Even cooking removes a lot of nutrients but it is better than microwaving. Raw is better.

One more thing I would like to bring your attention to is technology. Apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Movies, Netflix, and other such things are designed in a way so that we keep consuming until we die.

We can only find a handful of people these days who are mindful of their surroundings. Most have their total attention on the devices they hold in their hand. This includes me as well. Although I keep trying every now and then to be mindful.

It's like we are sleepwalking through life.

It's mostly because of this that the term 'awakening' has come into popularity these days probably.

It might sound easy, you may say that you are awake but are you actually? I know I'm not. Even though it looks like we all are but we are just sleepwalking through life.

And one day we die.

Meditation is one way we can be more aware and mindful. But it isn't as easy as it sounds. It takes a lot of effort which most of us are not willing to put.

Then there's Yoga.

All these things are what we are supposed to be doing instead of just sitting there and scrolling endlessly, but do we? We are being programmed to do what they want us to.

Talking about negative thoughts, during these times I do have them every once in a while. But I have come to realize that they are just thoughts. Not me. I have the choice to give it more of my attention or less of it.

The more attention you give it, the more it magnifies and starts to bother you. So, shift your attention to something you love about yourself and those negative thoughts wont be able to harm you.

If you have read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, the transmutation of metals into gold that he talks about in the book is indirectly telling us about transmutation of our thoughts.

Yes, we are all alchemists, we can transmute our negative thoughts into positive ones. It's just that we need to become aware of this power of ours.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for reading! :)

Sort:  

This was really interesting! I do believe that we are in control of our thoughts. I also agree that masking depression with drugs doesn't really help anything. You need to get to the root cause of it and then attempt to "fix" it. I remember when I was in my corporate job here in the US I was put in a supervisory position that I never really wanted. I was just told that I had no choice. Things went awry quickly as it was not a fit for me. I then made the mistake of going to a psychologist and psychiatrist recommended by the company's employee assistance program. The psychiatrist decided that I was depressed and anxious and gave me anti depressants and anti anxiety meds. I took maybe two doses at work and started falling asleep in my cubicle. I wasn't depressed or anxious anyway. I was pissed off about doing a job I didn't want to begin with. The psychiatrist freaked out that I just stopped taking the pills. She said I needed to be weaned off of them slowly. Rubbish! They do it to make money and keep us in their control. I would tell anyone to never trust anyone who works with their company's Employee Assistance Program. They work for the company not you.

Hey Lisa, I'm glad I could connect with you through this post. It is sad what happened but it was kinda helpful in that it opened your eyes to the truth.

I would tell anyone to never trust anyone who works with their company's Employee Assistance Program. They work for the company not you.

This is such a big takeaway from your experience.
I hope you're in a position that you love now.
Thank you for the reblog!
Cheers! :))

Thank you @wandereronwheels! That was a huge lesson and that much I appreciate! I work only for myself now so I am very happy! Have a great rest of your weekend!😀

Some Really good thoughts on the topic of spirituality.

Thanks! @punkblogs
Hope it will come in handy! :)