Illuvium Overworld Closed Beta Review! 😍

Thumbnail Illuvium.jpg

hive dividers-05.png

Illuvium Overworld Closed Beta YouTube Video

Illuvium is an open world fantasy auto-battler in the style of Pokémon, on the IMX blockchain.

I spent about 3 hours running around one of the most gorgeous environments I've ever got to fly around in! Check out my video review of the game above!

hive dividers-05.png

Pros

The jetpack and quintuple jump are something that I don't get to experience in any other games and quite honestly make traversing the world SO much fun. It really is gorgeous, and I could play for hours enjoying the views.

Illuvdelete.jpg

The battling is also top notch, the feel of it is great. I don't normally like auto-battlers but this one feels like there's enough autonomy that is isn't too removed from skill.

Illuvdelete.jpg

hive dividers-05.png

Cons

Gathering resources is TIME CONSUMING and kinda boring. I'm a little concerned for the trend of blockchain gaming effectively saying here's the tradeoff: Either you do something menial and boring OR you buy that item as an NFT from someone else who did the menial task for you.

I don't like that tradeoff.

There was one voice acting line that irked me, as they say it nearly every time you mine some resources.

"This looks good." - said with a dead voice.

🤣

hive dividers-05.png

Final Thoughts

Overall, there's no question that Illuvium is the first truly AAA game on the blockchain. I believe there's still some real polish to be done, but honestly once I got the hang of it, it felt like it would be a truly solid game loop of getting resources and then upgrading equipment, and then battling tougher Pokémon. I mean Illuvials.

What do you guys think? You ready to dive in?

~Copper


Follow all Copper's channels and never miss out:

Sort:  

Nice review, personally I see Illuvium as just an overhyped game based on what I saw from it. I'm just not a fan of the entire visual style and purple-dominated color schemes. That being said, I hope it will do well as a game even though I won't be getting into it sticking to the 3 web3 games that I'm playing now.

** Just followed you on Youtube, keep up the great web3 gaming content!

Thank you, much appreciated!

I like to hear other opinions about color-dominated color schemes, as I am colorblind myself. I kinda liked the look of it, but I'm definitely a bad judge of color/visuals 🤣

Gathering resources is TIME CONSUMING and kinda boring. I'm a little concerned for the trend of blockchain gaming effectively saying here's the tradeoff: Either you do something menial and boring OR you buy that item as an NFT from someone else who did the menial task for you.

I take it you've never done sweat farming in Entropia 😅

lol no thanks! 😄

If you've never checked Entropia out, its an interesting example of how to tackle real economics in a game. It has the distinction of having some of the most expensive in game transactions unless they've been surpassed now by NFTs or whatever, lol.

Looks lit, I don't like IMX doh.

Curious why you don't like IMX?

IMX

image.png

It's a company powered by Venture Capital that has distributed the tokens as they see fit. Those big categories in the chart basically mean nothing. Ecosystem Development is part of the same group as Project Dev and probably Foundation Reserves as a wallet under the same management. The rest is basically a presale, I mean, it's 0/10 points for that, the worst possible way to handle token distribution.

On top of that, it's an ETH Layers 2. IMX Token is a native ERC20, meaning transactions that are communicated back to layer one create fees twice as high as required directly on ETH to run the same contract or transaction. What usually happens is that the critical transactions are run on IMX only and from time to time there's a "check back with the Mother chain" against ETH main in some pseudo way that creates literally 0 security. The reason why people have been using this way of binding themselves to ETH Main is obviously only to funnel ETH into their crypto payment systems. What I think is most interesting is that parts of your gas fees are getting locked into a staking reward pool, just to add some Ponzi mechanics onto the centralized chain staking rewards system. A lot of smart projects have been using such fees to create a DAO, but who needs a DAO in a centralized project?

All in All, this is a good project and great games on a good sidechain with terrible token distribution. But the token distribution is a dealbreaker because it represents the ownership and these tokens are literally securities.

I hope my answer doesn't feel cocky or overloaded with conflicting intentions, wasn't meant to be.

almost 1 year to finish a beta, this developers are sluggish

Triple A games do tend to take much longer than a year to finish, however, it seems like every game in the web3 space takes 5x as long. Either due to technical reasons, like implementing blockchain tech into the game, or due to something else. (Good devs are hard to find!)