A WEEKEND AT CHRISTMAS MEADOWS

Way back in June I met up with @jarvie and Wade for a little weekend excursion in the Uinta mountains of Utah.
Jarvie was able to get there early in the day to secure a perfect little campsite right along the creek. We spent some time photographing the stars, hiking, and kayaking the creek. It rained off and on for most of the weekend so we didn't get the best stars, so I'll be back again.


Here's a view from the campsite that @jarvie scored
20220617-A7RIII-114.jpg


After a dud of sunset we waited for the clouds to clear so we could photograph the milky way. I scoped out different bends in the creek to photograph the perfect reflection. As I walked further away from Jarvie and Wade, my mind started to play tricks on me (we were in bear and moose country). Just as I was setting my tripod up along the creek I heard a loud SLAP! on the water, I screamed out "HEEEYYYY!!!" to assert my dominance, but quickly ran back to where the others were. It was quite dark and the ground was very uneven so it was a bit slow going. Fortunately it was probably just a beaver tried to scare me off.
20220617-A7RIII-137.jpg

20220618-A6400-054.jpg
The stars made a short appearance


The next morning I woke up early to check out the sunrise. It was cold and everything was wet from the rain we'd gotten overnight, but we had a few clouds lingering around to add a touch of interest in the skies.

20220618-A7RIII-329.jpg

20220618-A7RIII-379.jpg


After breakfast we decided to go for a short hike and a long kayak, but that'll come in another post. Here's a photo of some type of wildflower, but without the flower. There were meadows covered in these. I think we were about a month too early for the peak wildflower season.

20220618-A6400-215.jpg




Thanks for reading my post! Upvote, leave a comment, and follow me. Let's connect!
20201018-A7RIII-391-Edit.jpg

Social Links

Sort:  

That looks like a wonderful place to camp. Nice shots!

These shots turned out super cool. The stars with the clouds looked awesome. I need to get away from all the light pollution and learn how to take good photos of the stars.

Beautiful scenery, mountains, and lake water look very clean...The atmosphere in the sky is also very charming and beautiful.

Hi Casey! I remember @jarvie's photos and videos of this area and it is on my list of places to go, you are right he scored a sweet spot! So beautiful!

wow😍😍, the atmosphere of the river and the mountain is so beautiful, it makes me want to visit

Wow, what a great trip and your captures are amazing.
What a place to be. And the stars ✨ stunning.
Thanks for sharing @caseygrimley 👋🏻😊

Thank you Jackie! I'm fortunate to live just about 2 hours from this place.

You are welcome Casey 👋🏻😊 that is indeed fortunate when you are living that close by.
I haven’t visited that area yet, one day…
Soon I move up quite a bit… a few countries further. I hope I can see the stars like that, maybe even the northern lights 😉
Have a good evening and a lovely week further.

 last year  

Fond memories... I guess we didn't have too many kayaking pictures did we?

I've got a handful of photos and video from my gopro that I'll share in another post. I mostly took video so I'll have to put something together from that.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

looks like a beautiful place for a camp Casey! Making me miss summer already

Wow what fabulous photos Casey!