WILDLIFE WEDNESDAY....IS THAT A THING???

Well, I'm gonna make it a thing, if only for today.


20200711-ILCE-7RM3-314.jpg


I spotted this little bear off the highway right on the edge of the trees. He/she (anyone know how to tell which?) looked like a dark rock or stump when I spotted him and @Jarvie flipped a U turn so quick I didn't even know what hit me. When we had pulled off the road the bear stepped out of the shadows and into the warm morning sun, just in time for me snag a few shots of him. Then he disappeared into the woods, and then...


20200711-ILCE-7RM3-324.jpg


...momma bear came out of the trees to check us out, and see what her cub had found. She sniffed the log, looked at us, then turned and went into the woods. This all happened in about a 2 minute time frame, so I think we were pretty lucky to be in the right place at the right time. And in National Park fashion, there were several cars that had stopped when they saw us out of cars with our long lenses, but they all missed it.


Sony A7RIII + Sony 70-200 ƒ/4, cropped a ton

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Wow that bear was a long way away and that turned out great

Of course the baby bear had a mother to accompany it!

Thank you for the follow here on Hive! (Here's a #HighFive! 🙌)

Followed back!

My husband wants to see a bear so badly. We were on the road below Talimena Drive and there walking along the railroad track was a huge black bear. Scott couldn't see it. We pulled into a "road" and there was a man with a shotgun watching the bear. His whole yard was trashed due to the bear.