Just because you don't see it, doesn't mean it is not there.

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]4 years ago

Lily bee crab spider 3.jpg

One of those lovely days at my mum's garden when I could jut shoot and shoot. The day was warm, light was good, flowers were blooming all around me and I had this Biotar lens to try out. Just couldn't get any better :)

After all the blue and red blooms I turned to those few yellow lilies. With all the lush green foliage around they really popped! As a bonus I got a little bee inside one of the flowers.

Lily bee crab spider 2.jpg

So I took few shots, then turned to another flowers and when I looked back the bee was still there... Not normal for those busy little fells.

I got closer and..
Can you see it?

Lily bee crab spider 1.jpg

Let me zoom for ya :)

The poor thing was not there to eat. She was there to be eaten!

And a quite a fantastic yellow crab spider was just waiting for the right time. Those spiders blend so well with the flowers they hunt on they become completely invisible. Most often I notice them only when they are already busy with the insect they got. My second favourite spiders after the cute jumping ones. Though those do scare me a bit.

Lily bee crab spider 4.jpg

»«
Shot with Sony a7R + Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 1.4 50mm lens
(1/1600, ISO100)
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Excellent photographs, I can see even the wings of the bee, very good job, I congratulate you ,you deserve that beer I see here :)

Thank you very much :)

Ah, it took me time to notice the spider!