Not that pretty

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago

dry wood grass.jpg


One can't shoot only the pretty things all the time. The colorful flowers, pretty grasses dancing on the wind, butterflies, kitties and all things happy.
Sometimes one has to pay attention to something less pretty (according to some standards). There is plenty of that around. And it is equally interesting to photograph with its patterns.


dry wood 2.jpg


The unattended areas are full of fallen branches, dead trees and bushes, pieces of plants piling up and slowly decomposing.
All photographable :)

This here was a tree. I don't even know what kind and can only assume it was a pine. All the sun, rain, wind over and over again and soon there will be nothing left.


dry wood 1.jpg


A large palm leaf I shot in a different location. No palms in that area. I always liked their lines and symmetricity.


dry palm leaf 1.jpg

dry parl lf 2.jpg


Still sharp even after being dry to a crisp. Probably even worse than the still green ones.


thorns drystuff 1.jpg

thorns drystuff 2.jpg


All that in a place where it didn't rain for weeks.


cracked soil.jpg


Bonus shot:
Not something I wanted to find. Not a single one anyway :p


lost slipper.jpg


»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

Your size, at least? :p

Last one, cracked ground, wallpaper, lovely.

Nah, too big. Shame cause I like blue :p

Everything has its own beauty!
Very beautiful photos!

It's a pity that there is only one slate 😁

Yeap.. even the rotten trees.

Haha yea.. two would be handy :D

the single shoe conspiracy thickens!

Oh yes... I wonder if the direction they point matters :D


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

"Less pretty"? 🤔 I'd like to disagree here. Of course, everything is categorized based on one's standards, but how can anyone call something created by nature in a certain way "unpretty" or something else - "imperfect"?
Nature, as the greatest artist on earth, is sometimes an impressionist, another time an expressionist, and another time a downright surrealist. But always perfect.
On the other hand, I would really appreciate it if other authors would also post things other than butterflies and roses, because that is important for presenting a more realistic picture of things 😊

Agree. And it is all just another stage. Often with very interesting textures and patterns.
Check my #drystuff tag :)

All these photos might not be of a pretty flower, but they are all works of art on their own. Lovely light, colors and composition. Love these.

Thank you! I especially like all the wood and leaves textures.

These pictures and your words change my way of thinking while capturing something i always wanted to capture beauty but this is something different I'm seeing today and loved it.

You didn't wanted to find but it found you and i loved it. Gonna try it by myself now.
Happy and blessed weekend ahead!

Everything can be an interesting object to shoot. Not just the pretty, colorful things.
You should definitely try. You might be surprised with the result :)

Thanks for encouraging me. I'll try and share the results 😍

Live them all. I always put a side these kind of pictures.. But definitely you gave me an idea for my next post 😍 tnx..

Ohhh nice! Please tag me when you publish it :)

Whenever I see a single shoe, I always wonder about the story behind how it got there!

Single she... underwear...
How can you lose one and not notice? :P

I love wood! The texture is always interesting and doesnt need to be lively and green. There is still beauty in the demise of things. The bark has rough texture and the palm has a distinct look and the texture is fragile.

That shoe though... I found a single red. Need it for a full set?

Some time ago I wanted to photograph all kinds of tree bark patterns. Just to see how different they can be. Got a few and then forgot about :p

Sure! I could wear red and blue :D

Awesome. Your colorful personality was the clue! :)

I love the different textures and patterns! There is something cool about bark. The closest I get to fungi is if I go to the supermarket. Why don't we have any here?