Outback Roadtrip

A couple of shots from out outback road trip a couple of years ago. We spent 4 months crossing 14,000km of varied terrain. Still have a heap of work I need to edit up from that trip. I need to do a post on our camping rig and the pro's and cons of different setups when I get the time.

Moon Plain.jpg

We did the whole trip with our 3 kids (my daughter Juniper was only 10 weeks old when we set out). So it made for some interesting travelling. From tropical rainforests to the gulf savanna country to camping in desert sandstorms. They joys of being an adventure photographer with a family ;-)

Outback Sandstorm.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

One word: endless
Curious to know about the trip and how to survive in such an environment. I would certainly not cross that on a bicycle.

Yep I need to do a post about it; you need to be prepared a little like when you go offshore sailing (especially brining all your own water)

I bet! And carry essentials in case the engine boils, as I imagine is freaking hot. Your out of the boat?

We are back in Australia. Have the boat in storage in Aruba. Pandemic became just too hard with border closures.

As I'd imagined. Not easy in Australia either, at least from what I hear on the news (unreliable). Can't wait for this nonsense to end.

No but at least we can work here while we wait it out.

I don't know if it's from growing up on the side of an extinct volcano but the large swathes of flatness in Australia still spins me out XD

and I've been here for a while now

Is the car still on the road in the second photo? It looks like it would be really easy to get lost x_x

This sounds like a very fun adventure.

It was mate

Absolutely nuts.
You're nuts.
By land and sea you seem to have no limits to what you're capable of.

lol; as my previous post said was titled "in a mad world, only the mad are sane"

It was a great experience :). its a cool picture you have mate.