Car Breaking Down in Uganda Becomes a Blessing (Trip in 2021)

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago

Our Car Broke Down in Uganda: Such a Blessing!

Earlier in the day, we were on a gorilla trek in the windy and impenetrable forest. While driving north through Uganda, our car suddenly hit a rock and our car broke down for nearly the whole day. Normally this situation would not be a pleasant one, but I met the most extraordinary people and the area was spectacular! Let me share the story with you and the great moments I was able to photograph.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Biaz Our Tour Guide

We had such a wonderful tour guide of the place. His name was Biaz. You can see him along with his family and others from their village in a video I posted on my YouTube channel that gives more insight about the village, what many do there to provide for their families and what village life in Uganda looks like.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Here's some of Biaz's family.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Here's Biaz's father breaking down the rocks.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Local Market

I wanted to support the local economy, so Biaz helped me by taking me to the local store, and I purchased cookies for all the village children to enjoy, because you can't just buy a pack or two if you're going to give out gifts; I wanted to give to everyone.

Here's Biaz handing out cookies to the village children.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Children of the Uganda Village

I enjoyed photographing the children so much. Their joy was contagious. Here are some of photographs of the children in the Uganda village. You can even see the van in the background as several men are helping fix it.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Click on the image itself for a larger view.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Click on the image itself for a larger view.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Scenes from the Village

Next let me share with you how BEAUTIFUL the surrounding area was, including the village itself.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

The views from the village were spectacular.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png


JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Here is the village smokehouse, where they were smoking pork.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

All done with the van!

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Now we could go, but I will never forget the wonderful people and this beautiful village that I never would have experienced if it wasn't for the van breaking down on us. Sometimes what seems like a negative turns into something much more positive than we ever could have imagined! What a great day!

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Want to see more photography like you've seen today in this post? Then click here for more photography from my extensive collections.

JarvieDigitalBorder.png

Professional Photographer of Jarvie Digital

You may know me as one of the co-founders of PeakD and PeakMonsters, but one of my favorite passions is photography. I've been a full-time photographer since 2008, and I've traveled to many places and captured many amazing moments on my journeys. You can visit my gallery to explore and purchase my photography located on my website at https://www.jarviedigital.com/. You'll find me in various photography communities here on PeakD where I'll post many of my travels, photoshoots and scenic photography. Thanks for stopping by and reading my posts.
Sort:  

The photos are breathtaking and tell the most wonderful story. I totally get it. The miracle coming out of a negative event. Something to think about.

Amazing photos and what a story! We just never know why some things happen and what's going to come out of this, the beauty of life :)
The faces are all so beautiful, the eyes so clear and their look so deep!
Lovely post!

Love it! Beautiful place and people.

And great pictures. Well captured. Love the colors and I'm in love with those smiles, expecially kids ones.

Tks 🙏

I love the children and their naturally beautiful smiles!
What a fantastic adventure. @jarvie!

Love these. This must have been such an amazing experience

Wow what great pictures and that video is one of my favorite of yours!

Really amazing images.
Which lens and camera did you use?

Happy day my friend 🤗

untitled.gif

What a great adventure!!! The village looked very relaxed, and seemed like a safe and happy place :) ... Did you see any gorillas on that trip?

Wonderful photo's Jarvie - Looks like you had an amazing time.