Questions for Photography DAC Orginization

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]4 years ago (edited)

Presently @peakd and mostly myself are in charge of helping the Photography DAC community to get started. The goal is to one have the community be un-owned self-operated, self-sustaining and a self-governance system. But until that tech exists I'm kind of taking care of it so I'm writing a post to get some feedback from the community.

Note that there's still a lot to be done on PeakD and Hive to get a community like this to reach it's full potential and it's meant to still be a pretty low key community not heavily moderated. But we have some new things we can do that I want to talk about.


SOME TOPICS

But now I have A FEW QUESTIONS ... which may be me sharing some of my ideas.

  1. Who wants to help moderate?
    (There hasn't been much to do but now there may be some stuff... like labels)

  2. What LABELS do we want to use? - I'll give some of my ideas below.
    (This is a new feature coming up in PeakD.com ... presently we SHOW labels and next iteration (available on beta) allows adding labels.)

  3. Where do we stand on Cross-Posts? Do we want to continue to allow cross-posts?
    (I love the idea of cross-posts but I think in a photography community they don't make sense on Picture posts... maybe only educational posts or posts that generally help photographers or people who like photography?

  4. I turned on Promotion ability for the community (Which means someone could pay on peakd.com to advertise in our community and the profits would be held by the community account... It's a new PeakD.com feature but it hasn't really been used yet but the idea is if we're a large community of active photographers (or people interested in photography that companies that deal with photographers would be dumb not to advertise in the community and those profits would go directly to the community) ... but that would probably mean like 10k+ active users to get real attentions from companies. We're a long way from that but in the meantime I've turned on that option perhaps mostly to help PeakD.com test.

  5. We need a better Community Profile Image and maybe cover image. Share one and if selected we'll give you props... and it will help our community.

LABELS I PROPOSE

"PRO" - Would be nice to point out the users who are professional photographers. That may attract more high quality content and help other photographers to know where to look for advice, feedback or who to pay attention to if they want to also follow in those footsteps.
"REGULAR" - Those that post the most to our community. But what's the cutoff for that?
"EDUCATOR" - A tag for those that share posts that often educate about photography

Some day we could have many more labels like even to describe the type of cameras they use etc... but right now the tech on Hive/PeakD doesn't make that super easy and would take too much upkeep ... because we have very few moderators willing to help with that. Perhaps allowing users to select an option from different label choices and then let moderators approve them would be cool some day.

STARTING WITH THOSE LABELS... I'll just put a few of them on. If there are a lot of requests for a helpful or good gamified label and a good strategy to stay on top of giving the labels then let me know.

LOTS TO COME

Community interface like on PeakD still has a long way to go with cool organizational tools etc.

Sort:  

I obviously need to take a look again at the beta test site, (Been awhile).
The label Idea is a great idea in my opinion.I would love to see a NPTP label (Non-Pro Travel Photographer), just because I am a consumer and I love looking at the post of non professional travel photographers. I get to see what the area really looks like.

For cross posting that should be by a moderator only of course, and the types I would like to see are the Here is how I got that effect, (educational), or this is some equipment I have used over the years and still use, (equipment/tools). The cross posting of just normal photography post from other communities I don't think is really needed. There are a lot of photography communities, I try to support a few of them when the photo sort of fits

The promotion trials is a very good Idea also. It's available so a good solid testing phase would be good that way when outside sources want to give it a shot there will be a track record so to speak.

I would love to help, but I really do not have the correct constitution to mute, ban, judge is a post worthy. I do critique post and photos I have no problem with that, I know what I like and don't. When it comes to making the hard calls does it fit, I prefer to not be the one doing that. I can however cheer-lead from the side lines.

Cover image, you are in or visit the area a lot to get a great cover image. Arches National Monument I think would make a great cover.

 4 years ago  

There has been very little muting on this community. I've done the perma-mute on spam accounts mostly because of their comments that have nothing to do with the post or the community.

I'd be interested in becoming involved in the community. I could even make the banner and profile photo. Do you have specific colors in mind? I don't mean for this to come off as harsh, but I hate the label idea when it comes to comparing regular to pro. What is the difference between the two? Is it skill level or the ability to make money from photography that defines one as "pro"? There are plenty of professional photographers who are terrible at photography, but great at marketing. There are also people like myself who are self-taught and know how to work a camera, but have no interest in becoming pro. I do like the labels for the equipment we use. Imagine a contest where Team Canon, Team Nikon, and Team Sony compete in the weekly contest?

 4 years ago  

Sorry when you put it that way regular doesn't make sense... i meant regular as a term to indicate how often they post. That person is a regular in the community. We should probably use another term because people may think it's a comparative to the term Pro.

As for equipment it would be awesome but it's not really doable at the moment. It would take way too much work from moderators. But perhaps PeakD can create a system where people choose options and the moderators simply approve.

the rules are pretty wide and we really did not do a lot to push the community, so i kinda did not moderate anything :D

after the change you did to cross posts i think they are fine, nothing against it. not sure how much is cross posting used (i don't see them that much, maybe i just ignore them)

labels are interesting option. nice gaming system and also a good info for new people. not sure who and how will add them to community members.
Regular could maybe be automated.

why have separate community if your just just going to cross post it to all communities, that is my issue and it ends up being spammy

 4 years ago  

I think maybe what he's saying is that there haven't been a lot of usage of Cross-Posts in this community and it's true i don't see them very often. However i still personally like the idea of Cross-posts only for educational or news related posts.

Sounds like an interesting endeavor! I'm curious about it myself.

I'd be down for being involved however i can! I'm still on the fence on how i feel about cross posting as a whole..

Hit me up on discord and we can talk!

Where do we stand on Cross-Posts?

This is tricky; I would say no cross posts. I hate it when people just cross post to every community out there; its makes them all generic and defeats the purpose of community separation.

The issue with the Photography DAC is it does not have the traction of some of the other photography communities so to get it started is a little chicken and egg. A bit of PeakD promotion when its ready would help solve that. I was using it for a while (I think I was a moderator) but moved mostly to other communities that had more engagement. I can give it another look if we are tying to make something off it.

 4 years ago  

Well it will be the playground for upcoming PeakD features so there's something to say about that. And also it's not designed as an owned community we're building something that will belong to photographers in general.

But it's true there are others with more traction at the moment. I'm not even promoting it right now... i'm just asking questions about the direction of our small little community.


Share any examples you see of someone who "cross post to every community out there" because people say that but then i never see it.

I have seen it in the past; I think it has stopped to some extent now which is a good thing.

Nice one 🙂

 4 years ago  

Nice what?

Nice legs.